Help on boost

GTIEVO3

Hi there to all the sifus out there. Frankly speaking im very new in all these turbo stuffs and would appreciate that you guys would help me on this. Ive just converted to an Evo III engine and one thing that i realise is that my boost at 4th gear is 1.4 bar? As for other gears from 1-3 is running at 1.0 bar. I was told that the engine maximum boost is only 1.0 bar for all gears. Is there anything wrong with my engine and how could i rectify it? For your information the engine is stock apart. Exterior parts that ive changed are stainless steel piping, blitz air filter and hks sqv. Thanks in advance

check ur actuator valve...leaking (hoses) or ur BOV (the setting)

yup...check the setting of ur actuator valve......

and u better reduce ur boost, if not ur engine sure will in trouble. Evo 3 standard boost is 0.9 bar. with standard internal part can push to 1 bar, if got metal gasket and enough fuel then can up to 1.2 or 1.3. As we all know, the internal part of evo 3 is weakest.

i got a set of original evo 3 piston and conrod, if intersted then pm me lah...hehehehehe..........:P

it is quite normal for higher gears to record higher boost because you load the engine more. ask the skyline gtr guys, for the same settings, they get higher boost in 4th and 5th than in 1st. but i don't know if as much as 1.4bar up from the normal 1bar is normal.

sounds abit like boost creep , creeping to 1.4 bar it should hit the boost cut right , since his runing on the standard comp box ?.

cud be a case of actuator accidentally bent during installation...therefore giving higher boost...

but as Master Foo said....usually on 4th n 5th u'd get higher boost readings...then it'd drop back to norm levels...