Illegal to fix bright headlights without RTD approval

wait a minute... are u guys sure puspakom will do the approval thingy? anyone called JPJ to confirm this?

blind? mahai.....they got eyes problem dun drive at night la.....

jibai kan nin nia jpj

2zzge, u sound very angry... i think ur car install HID, rite?... haha...

maybe u're right, whoever eyes got problems dun drive at nite... i think i must not drive at nite also... haha... sometime the car, especially the 4WD car with HID pass by, it's really affect the viewing... hehe... maybe wear 'moon glasses' at nite?... haha...

maybe now all the HID supplier/seller can change business to sell the moon glasses... haha...

Slipknot Fanatic said:
The RTD is just trying make more money for themselves. To install xenon lights we have to get a fucking approval letter from RTD. Wat the fuck is wrong with RTD? Last time they said tinted windows were illegal and now xenon lights must get approval letter. I wouldn't be surprised if to get an approval letter you must pay the RTD some bribe money. In my opinion the only thing RTD should worry about when people install xenon lights onto their cars is calibration. Its only a matter about the height of the head-lights calibration.
So, pray tell me how do you go about ensuring HIDs are properly calibrated without some sort of inspection?

Wonder how those rich politicians with BMWs n Benz will get along.

Like this means that even the BMW and Benz that belong to the govt have to change their lights...? Or get "approval letter" from JPJ...?

DaRk_AnG3L said:
Wonder how those rich politicians with BMWs n Benz will get along.

Like this means that even the BMW and Benz that belong to the govt have to change their lights...? Or get "approval letter" from JPJ...?
rich politician bugger's car wont need inspection lar... they jz need to send their letter to the department and demand approval...

even if police see them also scared to saman... what else wanna inspect their car...

i bet in near future any approval letter will able to be 'purchased' from poospakom. Those runners will much glad to do it, and HID owners will much glad to pay for it.

sarcastics said:
i bet in near future any approval letter will able to be 'purchased' from poospakom. Those runners will much glad to do it, and HID owners will much glad to pay for it.
yeah, i think its possible too... money rulez everything rite...

Stupid RTD. cut down roadtax for cars then make another nonsense excuse to cover the loses....CBKNN.

TitanRev said:
Stupid RTD. cut down roadtax for cars then make another nonsense excuse to cover the loses....CBKNN.

how does cutting down on a revenue can cover a loss ?

so those cars fitted with HID technology when we purchased still eligible to go for JPJ inspection??

dumb... we should see then there must be an option for HID equipped on new cars

sarcastics said:
that's right. every single car that fitted HID

hmm... all cars got for inspection at puspakom, even small matter also need to pay fees ga??.. means jpj untung alot lar... CBKNN...

What to do This is Malaysia, RTD have higher Tech then Bosch,Hella Valeo and bla bla on lighting mah .... Malaysia Boleh ........

Bad news for me :
Just lost my job can't sell HID.

Good News :
I become HidCertSeller ..... wooo earn more, don't worry abt bulb base and no worry abt warranty .... anything ASK RTD .........

Another excerpt from The Star.
==================
Illegal to fix bright headlights without JPJ approval BY ROYCE CHEAH

KUALA LUMPUR:
Fitting bluish-white headlights to their vehicles may be the latest fad among motorists but the blinding lights have caused not only discomfort to road users but also some confusion.

Thousands of motorists may have to get them changed to the normal yellow lights as the Road Transport Department (JPJ) says it is illegal to install the xenon high-intensity discharge (HID) lights without approval from the department.

And importers of luxury cars, which come with the lights pre-installed, must also get written permission from the RTD.

This has prompted motorists to ask: Why allow such blinding lights in the first place?

According to a website, HID lights are two times brighter than the conventional halogen bulbs used by most vehicles on the road. Among other things they:

- ARE more efficient in terms of energy consumption, have a longer lifespan and can improve visibility for the driver compared to halogen lamps; and

- WILL not cause unwanted glare or discomfort to other road users if they are properly aligned. Federation of Malaysian Consumers Association (Fomca) adviser Datuk Adnan Hamdan said motorists had complained that the lights posed a danger as they were left temporarily blinded by cars with these lights.

“Why allow them in the first place? Although it is not a major problem, it may become one soon as many motorists are converting to HID lights,” he said, adding that Fomca had received letters on the matter.

He said the RTD rules on the matter were also not clear and need to be reviewed.

RTD technical department director Zahamail Omar said only certain car manufacturers who had met international specifications and had approval from the RTD were allowed to use these lights.

“Anyone wanting to modify their headlights must apply to the technical department for the product to be evaluated to find out if it fulfils the specifications for road transport.

“Any modifications made by the car owner that can cause accidents, interference or danger to other road users can be penalised under the Motor Vehicle Rules (Construction and Use) 1959,” he told The Star yesterday.

Zahamail declined to comment on the penalties for using HID lights.

Dean of the Engineering Faculty at Universiti Putra Malaysia Prof Radin Umar Radin Sohadi said it would not become an issue as long as the lights were fitted according to proper procedures.

“The problem arises when the people who fix it may not be setting the height of the beam correctly. This could blur or blind people travelling in the opposite direction.

“As it is, our headlights when not on high beam are already set to a certain angle that does not endanger oncoming traffic,” said Prof Radin, who is UPM's road safety research centre director.

Those against the use of the lights said it was very blinding and dangerous.

Public relations executive B. Sree Sudheesh, 23, said the RTD should enforce the rules with regards to the illegal use of the lights. He added that cars with such lights should not even be on the road.

For Mohd Asnawi Arshad, 36, the extremely bright lights have often left him “in the dark”.

“The moment the car passes by, my vision become blinded or blurred. It is very dangerous.”

Checks with car accessories centres revealed that some of them know that HID lights are illegal.

According to a mechanic who only wanted to be identified as Ricky, HID headlight kits did not last very long, with an average lifespan of about six months.

“They cost anywhere between RM900 and RM1,400 and there is no way to make it dimmer,” he said, adding that he did not encourage his customers to install the lights.

Those using HID lights felt it made a difference to them, especially when driving at night on highways.

“The light is extremely bright compared with the conventional yellow lights, and that is very good. Whether or not it distracts other people is a different issue, what is important is that it helps the driver,” said managing director Cheah Eng Kong.

I don't know about some of y'all, but I've seen a large number of cars with HID/white bulbs/blue bulbs/whatever of that kind, that's been installed at an irritating level. Drive far in front of the car with HID is glaring. When the car approach nearer, even more glaring. Not wanting to take side on anybody at all but the large amount of improper HID/white bulbs/blue bulbs/whatever-of-that-kind installation was probably the reason that made JPJ/whoever come up with this approval thing.
However, I would have to say that there are also an increasing number of dumb fucks who drive with their stock HIGH beam on all the way and also improper calibrated stock head lamps. Should I just slow down in front of them till we both come to a dead stop, and I come out and smash his head lamps? And then smash the bloody fucking driver?

Write your reply...