Mad About Mods

jimmyae101

MALAYSIANS love cars. Depending on our age, we drool over Ferraris and Porsches, or lust after Skylines and Evos, or daydream of Type Rs and SiRs. These dream cars have three things in common – they're fast, they look fast, and 99.99% of the population can't afford them.

So, for many people, the next best thing is to modify their humble real world rides to make them go faster or, at least, look like they can go faster.

Apart from some inconvenience to the owners (who have difficulty negotiating speed bumps and potholes) and everyone else (who has to put up with the loud exhausts), it's all a harmless pursuit, right?

Wrong, says the Road Transport Department (Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalanraya or JPJ), which has just fired a shot across the bow of the thriving local car modification and accessories industry.

The JPJ's warning last week about “illegal modifications” hints at crackdowns over the horizon.

If the situation is that serious, then drivers of illegally modified vehicles have no choice but to “un-modify” their rides back to the original manufacturer’s specifications.

But is the situation really that serious? This article examines the basis for the authorities' concern over illegal vehicle modifications.

Why so itchy

Aftermarket modifications are carried out for two main reasons – aesthetics and improvement in performance.

The key word here, as far as the JPJ is concerned, is “aftermarket” because accessories such as alloy wheels, sports suspension systems and the high performance engines offered as options by the vehicle manufacturer are of no concern to the authorities since these would have had prior approval for sale.

Again, these accessories are expected to be fitted to a brand new vehicle that is inspected by the authorities and approved for licensing before being allowed on public roads.

Why worry

The authorities are duty bound to ensure that vehicles that are used on public roads do not endanger the life of the driver, his passengers and other road users.

The performance and handling characteristics of a modified vehicle may become unpredictable under extreme conditions such as heavy or emergency braking, or under hard acceleration.

In addition, modifications that involve the fitting of larger capacity engines (without reporting to the authorities) mean that the government loses millions of Ringgit in licensing revenue, making it unfair for other owners of larger vehicles who pay their fair dues.

Last but not least, the owner of a modified vehicle is taking a huge risk and committing a serious offence by not declaring (or denying) on his insurance proposal form, any modifications to his vehicle. The insurer can deny coverage in the event of an accident.

Staying legit

First of all, you have to ensure that you are able to obtain insurance coverage for your modified vehicle.

Some insurance companies are happy to accommodate minor modifications without asking for additional premiums. Some frown upon any modifications whatsoever and may refuse coverage while others may simply ask you to state in writing, a detailed description of the modification(s) and then ask for an additional premium.

Whatever the case, stay legal and make sure your insurance company knows about any alterations to your vehicle.

The authorities class vehicle modifications into three distinct categories – those that do not require any prior approval (provided they meet certain criteria), those that require JPJ approval and those that are absolutely forbidden. Make sure you know which category your modifications fall under.

Okay or cannot

As far as the authorities are concerned, most bodywork modifications do not need approval, provided the guidelines provided are adhered to.

For instance, the fitting of a rear spoiler or an additional pair of fog-lights do not need any form of approval since they do not affect the performance of the vehicle, but the original lights should remain unmodified and unobstructed.

Similarly, wider or larger wheels may be fitted, provided speedometer accuracy is maintained either by selecting tyres of similar rolling diameters to the original, or by re-calibration of the speedometer.

Modifications that require prior approval include the fitting an engine of different capacity, a change in fuel type (e.g. from petrol to natural gas), modification to wheelbase dimensions and modifications to the braking and steering system.

The above is not an exhaustive list and a complete list may be obtained from the nearest JPJ branch.

Modifications that are absolutely forbidden include the fitting of blinking lights on either the front or the rear of the vehicle, the fitting of blue, purple or green lights (blinking or steady) and modifications to the engine mountings e.g. when fitting a larger engine.

Again this is not an exhaustive list and a complete list can be obtained from the JPJ. Any modifications that fall into this category are classified “illegal”.

Who can

A standard car is designed to meet legal safety standards and a compromise between performance, economy and cost.

In theory, at least, any automotive engineer or competent mechanic with a healthy budget can modify a car to give it better performance.

In the real world, it is difficult to define competence, and many enthusiasts on a shoestring budget have unrealistic expectations. The result may be shortcuts or shoddy work that can end in disaster.

Modifications do not work in isolation because the vehicle works as a complete system.

For example, if a more powerful engine is fitted, the braking system must be upgraded simultaneously to ensure that the vehicle can stop safely.

Don't be like the young chap who planned to “fit bigger engine first, upgrade brake later when got money” and then smashed up the car before Phase Two came around.

The suspension must also be upgraded in order to accommodate the heavier engine.

Only an engineer or experienced mechanic would be able to advise on the scope of work required.

Illegal so what

For a start, you may be endangering your own life as well as that of other road users.

The authorities frown heavily on duty evasion (not paying road tax on a larger engine fitted), and the lack of insurance coverage (as explained above) both attract possible heavy fines and/or prison sentences.

Insurance companies will not cover any modifications that are not approved by the JPJ, and vice versa.

You have been warned.

Good read. This basically indicates that JPJ is not that strict after all. The blinking lights, some may argue. However, those blinking lights at night may cause people to think that it's an emergency vehicle or somethind and move aside. When those people find out it's just those blinky lights, they get irritated cos it's like they've been cheated. After getting "cheated" one too many times, they may just ignore those blinky lights. And when the real emergency blinky lights come along, they also don't move aside, thinking it's foul play. Well, that's one possible reason. hahahaha

Other than aesthetics, can anybody tell me what's the use of those blinky lights?

hmm..this kinda post again..bporing ah..

i mod cars so i can have a better ride..not making it striking ~

if those blinking light means those strobe light, they are the purpose being there, but ppl just misuse the function as asthetic purpose.. just yesterday back from lowyat, saw an idiot red kenari switch on the strobe light all the while, even its time to turn on their headlight, and police car is just few car front to him...its like so irritating, when driving den got 1 blinking light on rear view mirror.

the function i could think is, my housing area here a lot of freaking mat rempit. And the mat rempit alwiz "enjoy" coming out from junction without look right and left, just straight turn to the direction they wan, and alwiz go over to other side of road due to the road not too wide just enuff for 2 car, there's once i following my mom car back, the mat rempit do wat i mention above, just scaring shit of out my mom, my mom swerve her car to avoid it. Imagine coincidently got another thing to avoid, and the driver swerve to another side of road, which is where mat rempit direction..sure hantam d...so i alwiz highlight when go over the area, thinking to purchase that thing to turn on when going on that area, save my time to highlight and not creating those unnescessary accident to my car.