HID Switch on problem!!

get it to a wireman to check it

there is one wireman in PJ state, next to 7-11

my car is 23 years old and no problem with HID as well.

It happened before with my Philips HID on my 2000 Civic.
Not sure if it's the same cause but when that happened, it was a sign of time for new bulbs! Seriously after a while, that side that couldn't turn on properly KO.

Maybe the old bulb is going to kong already. Try putting in another bulb (perhaps can borrow from other fren's car?) and see if the light still flicks around lo. My fren's car was previously facing this kinda problem, with D2S bulbs. Currently I'm looking for him a new bulb to try out, hope it solves the prob. :shades_smile:

nd4ever said:
Aaron, i dun think that HID lighting consume that much voltage from both of our car's alternator & battery as all HID bulbs (both D2S & D2R) uses only 35W! :shades_smile:

HID draws a lot of power during the starting stage.

Plus, a Kancil has less electronics than other cars... some has ABS, sensors, this n that.

After using aftermarket HIDs for a year or so... i ripped them away ...
found them to be totally unreliable ( ballast ) and a major fire hazard ( wire harness ) esp those from Korea/China/Taiwan

Most of all ... An embarrasing situation when driving around like Cyclop:embaressed_smile:

Only possible saviour to aftermarket HIDs are those by Philips (whole set) which apparently are more reliable.

ive been using my aftermarket HID sets for months now with no problems whatsoever.

i do suggest that for your problem, you upgrade your car's batt to a higher capacity. i had the same problem as you if i were to switch on the HID right after i started the engine. i overcame this problem by adding a volt stabilizer and grounding cables all over.

NS40 in a teg with Phillip HID. No prolem. Been using for 3 years. Suspect it could be wiring issue.

help!! i have this kind of problem as well. SPoon3838, have you got the answer??

ACBC 's reply sounds logical to me, as old car with some extensive electrical gadget, could be quite some load, hence lead to unstable power supply. Esp when starting car where initially elect load will be heavier.

Hence change to bigger capacity batt eg from NS60 to NS70 (+changing of alternator, if necessary) could help.

Also, adding VS+GK helps alot to stabilize the power supply.

My HID also problem like that... cheebet... must off on only both side got... sometimes after awhile driving 1 side off itself.. and I have to off - on again... malu only ppl see.. light so expensive but cacat... I claim warranty a change set like 4 times!

I don't think its battery... my friend Kelisa also no problem....
Who's got the answer? Appreciate it...

tulan......... :emoticon_U:

jaydee, maybe you can publish the name of HID at here, so that other consumer will be aware and not repeating your foot step?

Brand BJUNION are prone to have this problem. I been using it for the past 3 years and it still giving me the same old problem which you can't by any mean rectify it. My advise it change it to other chow kia brand.

try getting a voltage stabiliser and grounding cables... at least that works for me. Now no more such problem.

does the hid sytem get it supply from stock lamp harness or it has its own cable direct to battery for its supply?

if its got supply from stock harness maybe the voltage drop when reaching ballast unit.
try using headlamp harness that comes with relay. this harness got direct supply from battery so voltage drop will be low. can be bought from acc or car shop.

if u know how car/electronic wiring can diy own direct supply for the ballast. but this one is for experiance and know what to do.

It just work like normal headlight, why bother to reroute another wiring for HID itself? Especially direct tap from battery, makes ur battery flat even faster.

coz the voltage across stock wiring drop too low for the ballast to ignite the hid bulbs.
iirc, the ballast will provide high voltage during startup for the bulb to create the "arc" b4 stable at low voltage.
tapping from battery will provide more stable and constant voltage supply.
it wont drains battery, unless u on the light for long time without running ur engine.

try to disconet n reconnet the wiring...
last time also happend to my car...