Idle problem

azir

sifus...
My Satria got this prob for a few days, my idle going crazy..
everytime i start the engine, the rpm meter will going below 1 near to 0 rpm and the engine off...so i need to give some fuel by push the trottle to make the rpm above than 2k rpm..after it going ok back....suddenly when i switch on the aircond and the prob occured again, this time the engine off, also when change gear the idle going below and need to push the trottle... i have to switch off the aircond and drive as usual...wah so peluh one la!
.helppp really blur about engine.....

Try service ur throttle body..Maybe gear in it got dirty.If gear broke,it must replace it since it made from plastic..My pomen call it ic servo.. :)

eakamal said:
Try service ur throttle body..Maybe gear in it got dirty.If gear broke,it must replace it since it made from plastic..My pomen call it ic servo.. :)

Which part is the throttle body? the one with the butterfly valve?

Could it be that one of your vacuum hoses came off or cracked due hardening or prolonged heating? Had that problem with my car last time.

I just got my idle problem fixed up, for now. My battery went dead in the morning. Changed it and it totally killed my idle control, somehow. As long as free gear, the rpm goes to zero. Yeah, 0.
Here's some pictures of what happened in the workshop when they took out my entire throttle body to repair.
throttle_body1.jpg

=====
throttle_body2.jpg

===========
throttle_body3.jpg

============

throttle_body4.jpg

===========
throttle_body5.jpg

===========
throttle_body6.jpg

==========
throttle_body7.jpg

=========

throttle_body8.jpg

=========
Costed me about RM180 to repair the control kit.

satria95, in your last picture with the screwdriver idle adjustment, how does it work? Is it about increasing the ignition timing or just increase/decrease the idle rpm. If increase too much, what will happen?

ya la.. i oso wanna know 4 wats that.. n in the pics... pomen tested the tb rite?? which pin 2 positif n negatif s theres 6 pin in a row...

Whoa dudes, sorry for the late reply. Didn't notice this thread.

Prozac,
The screw is just to adjust the idle timing. If you screw it in tighter, it will reduce the idle timing (eg. from 1200 to 1000). If you loosen it, it'll increase the idle timing (eg. from 800 to 1000).

e819,
Dude, I didn't manage to take photo of where he plug the cable to on the throttle body la. Missed that bit. Sorry, dude.

Anyway, here's another update which I'd like to share pertaining to idle problems. Someone mentioned somewhere that the idle was going up and down very persistently. I had the same problem today. Idle was going to 1600, then 1200, then 1600, then 1200, and the interval was very short. This happened after I took out my DynoJet and reconnected the vacuum outlet hose into the inlet manifold vacuum inlet (refer picture).
After driving for a while, the idle up and down problem came. My mech replaced the hose with a water hose and tightened it. The problem was fixed. The old vacuum hose has hardened and cracked, causing the vacuum to somehow leak which caused the idle up-down problem. Hope that'll help those who have the same problem.
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y212/Phototakeraptereosaurus/dynojet02.jpg

i also faced this idling problem before with my proton. changed the throttle body, no effect.
what i noticed was, when open the bonnet, i can hear and see the air con fan stop-start, so its an electrical problem.
i bring to wireman, he open the fuse box and insert a wire inside, some kind of bypass.
now the problem solved