Help!! my car's engine rpm can't idle...

san_j

Jun 21, 2005
hello sifus...

I got this problem with my car dat really gave me a headache...
my car's engine rpm can't idle...if press the clutch or in neutral the engine rev cannot idle & will die..This is quite irritating during a traffic jam or at a junction where u have stop, press the clutch..I have to manually press the fuel throttle to make engine won't die..But the car drives perfectly on road n on highway..I'm driving without the aircon on...

What seems to cause the problem? Issit the throttle body? or FICD?
The rubber thingy below the TB is ok - not melt yet..
btw I'm driving a wira 1.6 sohc...

Hope all sifus can help me..:adore:

Thank you..

gagek7

Apr 25, 2005
seremban/tambun
inside the TB.got some gears thingy.made of plastic.change that thing.cost about rm60 - rm80 (labour charges included).

heterodyne

Jul 2, 2007
what my friend did was take out the dash screen and bought some plasticin.

when he's stuck in traffic jam or traffic lights or anyplace that requires the car to come to a complete hault, he takes out the plasticin takes a good aim and stick the needle to its rpm with the plasticin.

voila, no more annoying hunting needle and problem momentarilly solved.

-storm-

Aug 26, 2006
my car also had that problem, i change the small gears in the TB and no problem already.

strangex2

Mar 22, 2007
Just take your car to a trustworthy mechanic ask him to help tune the idling speed and then go around for a few days. If that works, then nothing is broken (hopefully), if the problem still persists then go back to the workshop and check out the throttle body.

blitzs360

Jan 18, 2007
same as perdana the non-v6 one, uses the plastic gear thingy for idling timing. while other manufacturer uses electronics.

togefumi

Mar 22, 2005
Also happen to my mivec last time.
Some says trottlebody kong, injector sumbat, power unit problemlar.
At last only intake manifold gasket bocor.
Better check any vakum leak first before change the TB.

looking for ppl who makes stickers.

would maybe order 50-100 pieces in 2 diff size. depending on price.

don't wanna go to the shop cuz kena potong just now, they quoted me RM550 for like.. not more than 20 pieces of stickers...

what i want is:
1. small sticker, maybe abt 3cm tall x 20cm wide
2. bigger, 5cm tall x 50cm wide

would want some reflective material also.

do PM me if u do, or u know any jalan... helping my foremen. thanks.