Evo Ix

s9, B18C-R, I have been told by another mech. that the ARC intake box is not as good as say Kansai or Blitz. The Kansai and Blitz has a box/heatshield to avoid the heat from getting in. The ARC is open faced and WILL take in heat. Now I am confused! I am very tempted to cancel the ARC and change to the Kansai or Blitz. Any suggestions?

Guys, was told the the Apexi RSM system will not be able to remove the speed limiter for an EVOIX. He said that many of the electrician mechanics from Apexi has resigned and Apexi has not been active in electronic development in recent years. Now that is a piece of news! True??? I can't vouch, its just his words. I will check with him what is the recommended speed cut device.

Other information - the HKS BOV for the Evo IX has not been released yet. The one I installed is for the EvoVIII - DAMN!!! I have decided to fire my previous mechanic!! Nevertheless, the difference is not great, its just the position of the piping. Also, boost controllers for the IX is not out yet. So, no point thinking abt it for now.

Golfer,

Yalor, same problem face here ler... Tht's y am waiting until now oso dunno what n which brand of after mkt parts to put on de IX... Nowadays, even Evo oso like euro car... to many electronic thingy to worry abt when u wanna to install a simplest thing onto de baby... :mad: Especially as u might recall, i been through de 'lost of my main key' thingy... which made me very takut liao... So de best thing now i can do is save as much $$$ as i could, n wait for those big brand to launch new products for de IX... hahaha... Then 1 shot mod it 'kao kao'!!! LOLz... :biggrin:

As for de air intake system hor... as long as de air intake r able to suck in cooler air... then its fine... no need to care abt what brand lor.... Or mayb can additional install de Carbing heat sheilding box lor... Actually am planning for tht too...

S9 - your plan sounds good, but sometimes, too darn tempting when I am at the accessories/parts shop! Wanna change header, exhaust, suspension, brakes, intake etc etc etc.. too darn tempting!!!

Changed my engine oil to Project Mu 10W/50. The engine is soo much smoother now! Wonder what they ori engine oil they use!! The car does not jerk too much now when I change gears. The power delivery is also smoothern.

Golfer,
Ur interior almost similiar as mine too. 4 defi amber meter.hahahha. U should get the visor for the meter, looks cool. I din know RSM cannot cut off the speed cut too..maybe we should wait for those big companies to release especially make for evoix.

Storm,
Yo bro, hows everything?hehe..I just installed my exhaust. Will post the pics later when i shoot it. Doesn't sound very loud even with my cat taken off. boost response had been clearly jumping faster. Nice exhaust sound too. :)

EE9 - What is your max boost after your exhaust installation? Did you install the Apexi N1? How does the exhaust sound during idle?

Golfer + EE9,

Hey fren... U guys make me drooling ler... So damn nice de Defi meters... Defi meters de best for me amongs all brands for me... Sigh! Now very tempetd to install all tht liao... But on de other side, I got a close fren E6 TME kena pecah masuk (driver side) n stolen off his meters (Defis + Apexi) recently... What should I do... WHAT SHOULD I DO???? WHAT SHOUUUUULD I DOOOOOOO..... :albertein

Hahhaa.... :biggrin: Really man.. no joke... Car crimes become worst in KL area lately... Then I met a fren who is driving an E8 MR white color with Varis body kit + CF hood + CF GT wing... Darn nice... And he keep asking me to change de CF hood... Arrgggghhh.... Very tempted oso..... Jus like both of u... a bit itchy now liao....

ZinZan,

Hey brader, hv u done ur speed cut oredi? Am thinking of contacting MMM (Mitsu Motor M'sia) Mr. Francis (Technical Team Manager) n ask him whether izzit possible for their in-house technician to reprogram de E9 ECU to lift de speed cut... By this way, i guess it wil b saver guah... Wil keep u update on this, ok?
Hey 1 more thing... where de hell is our fren Mr. Green huh? Dah lama tak posting ler him... Wonder whether hv he get his E7?

wufpek, Hey, hv u did ur speed cut too? Can u share us ur experience if u did? As for me, i did change my engine oil for de 1st time when it hit 1,000km... Then i jus do it for de 2nd time when de mileage meter show 5,000km last wk... As for de manual book thingy... ai.... very susah ler... cant managed to get an English version 1... Been asking Mr. Francis from MMM abt this b4... but even for them oso them dun hv it too :thumpdown ...

S9 - fully understand how you feel abt instaling these meters and car crime. I would go freakin nuts if my car got broken into and parts stolen!! That is the bad thing abt m'sia. over here, its pretty safe. bcos its such a small place, pple can't ofload them without being caught. think of something creative, perhaps having your initials engraved so that pple will render its second hand value as scrap.

Happened to me once in m'sia, had my entire sound system stolen, including my amps, subwoofer etc! I swore I would have caused some serious damage to someone that night!!

Golfer,
I'm using trust power extreme ti, The sound its ok , not too loud even after i de-cat. The boost response is faster and the peak boost its at 1.5 I just love the purplish titanium tip head.hahahahha.

S9,
Go ahead, install all u want!!.hahahaha. Get better alarm system lo. then maybe tint dark dark, no one can see inside your car. LoL.

Guys,

It was depressing weekend for me somebody just banged my back bumper. Scratches the whole back bumper luckily no cracks. Mutha F***** hit n run!!! sori i have to curse. I parked at my friends condo. Tot is was secure but i gues it's not so there u go. Just sent for repairs this morning.

On the upside i did install HKS SLD for the speed cut it works beautifully. No probs so far i've tested 210kmh and my dad did 230kmh over the weekend.

Golfer, i've just changed to Motul 15/50, no more jerkiness very smooth during the gear changes.

ZZ,
So sorry to hear that. :) how much u got the SLD? issit make for IX or issit universal? U doin 230 at peak ah? cool

EE, got it RM 480 at Links. Its a universal one not specific for IX.

ZinZan,

Wow!!! RM480 for de SLD to lift de speed cut is not bad ler.... Mmmm... Walau eh... 230km/h :eek: Very cool bozz! How does de car feel at tht speed?

EE9, 1.5 bar?!! Waliao... tht's very high ler... hahaha... :biggrin:
How much is de Full Ti TRUST exhuast u got har?

Golfer, yalor... tht's y in KL manyak susah ler... Wanna install something to entertain ourself oso hv to 'takut' like hell... Ai...

NoTiGuY, Hey brader, did u managed to get ur fren de E7?

One thing i like bout the sld its hidden so not potruding less chances of ppl breaking in trying to get ther stuff. My dad tried at 230 km/h i wasnt with him so dont know how the car handled but i tried 210km/h still can go lar. Very stable but the route i took was not good the KLIA route very wavy

LoLz... de Airport route is de best 'Open Secret' route for high speed testing ler... hahaha... I 1st try my E9 oso there lar... Tht's where i knew my speed cut @ 190km/h... Besides, i oso saw many nice n big cars drove extremely fast there... Wow... ur papa really garang ler... hahaha...

cyilaw said:
o...so means others all removed the speed cut? my car i havent try yet, only yesterday way back from KL i done once 190km/h, coz still running in my car. i think i have to try once again today, try it in highway..hahah...then i let u know.

Hey cyilaw... Test out ur car liao? What u up to lately huh? Got any new projects on hand? hehehe... :biggrin: Jus wanna to update on u a bit... Cheers!