Evo Ix

On normal driving i'm not too sure. Well for me to be on the safe side i usually put on auto when i'm revving slightly hard

Golfer,

When u put down all ur gaugues, do let me know de effectiveness of this intercooler spray... Hehehe... cos i dun hv 1... jus wanna to know how many degree celcius it can help to lower down...

ZZ - Mmm.. Maybe I should start using the thing. I'm sure its there for a reason.
S9 - Planning to bring the car to the workshop tomorrow. I am not sure if the gauges will show the result of the spray. i changed the water temp. gauge to the oil temp. gauge as i was told the ori gauge in the car is good enough.

Golfer,

How many gauges u plan u put on? And how much? Last time i asked 6 full defi meters with controller n sensors + installation wil amounted to almost RM5k!!! How's de pricing over there in Macau?

S9 - at the moment, 3 gauges (boost, oil temp. and oil pressure) + control = RM3.7k including installation. so, i guess with 6 gauges the price is OK. The pricing on the gauges should be quite standard as I presume Defi will exercise controlled pricing. The Blitz gauges looks quite nice too. has the scooby gone through the conversion yet?

Macau prices are certainly dearer that HK. I agree, HK is a car enthusiast paradise! My problem is that I just don't have the time. Brother, I got 2 small kids leh! Anyway, I have been planning to go to HK to buy parts. If I do, I'm going with a BANG!

Golfer,

Going to shop in HK with a 'BANG'?!! hahaha... Then u hv to come out with a nice n proper plan what u wanna to buy for ur car upgrade lor.... :biggrin: But if u r to buy a full exhuast system n rims... how u gonna bring those back? By de way, how many % different for de pricing on those after mkt parts btw HK n Macau?

Macau prices are dearer by abt 15%. If you add in the installation cost, it actually end up being less than 15%. The thing is if you shop in HK, you will be able to see the thing in real life. Shopping in Macau will be through magazines and photos. Very different unless ofcourse you already know what you are looking for. Plus, I think the HK guys can give you better advice in terms on mix and match. They are probably more experienced as they have much more experience.

Shopping for car parts in HK is like shopping for cloths. The have the stuff in stock. Even if you have to flip through magazine, they will have them in the warehouse.

The other advantage of shopping in HK is that they can also help you plan the mods.

Hey, good luck with the drag race dude!! E9 Boleh!!

Golfer + ZinZan,

Hi there! Reporting back to u guys on my JB Drag!!! It was a very good experience for me. There more than 20 Evos coming to the Pasir Gudang Trak, but only 14 - 16 of us registered for the Evolution Drag Race. Cos some of de Evos tht changed their Turbo r not allow to participate... only ori. turbo Evos r allow.... Tell u guys what... my E9 is de most stock evo tht participated in de race... hahaha... Most of de members do hv racing clutch, after mkt ECU, air filter + full exhust system... Some even using carbon fibre body kit! Looking at thier cars... I tell myself tht: 'Habis lar ini macam... hahaha....'

I did 3 round of drag, and my best time is 12.7sec according to my fren who saw my records on de board. And very suprisingly tht qualified for de last 8 final... But I surrendered, due to heavy clutch smell... Manyak takut tht my car cant stand de extreme driving condition... So i decided not to take any chance to continue as i dont hv any gauges n meters to show my car condition...

As for de drag launching, I revved my engine up to 5k - 6k rpm... when green light, i jus release de clutch n floor de fuel pedal... I was very shock at how de strong G-Force feeling is... straight away my whole body stick to de Recaro fully... then shift gears @ 7k rpm every time... from 0-400m managed to put up to 4th gear... was very satisfy for de 12.7sec for my stock E9!!! Somemore am a 1st timer without practicing n experience b4!!! hehehe... But de clutch smell really bad ler...

Full story n all pictures wil b available soon...

Well done bro. Good work. Aiyoh should have gone for the Final 8, but understandable y u did'nt. What was the top speed?

ZinZan,

Hey, as for de top speed ah.... hahaha... no time to even look at my speedo meter ler... Was nervous n bz looking at my techno meter... Jus in case i over rev de engine... hahaha... :biggrin: My guess is ard 150 -160km/h...

As for de speed cut thingy, i think v hv to ask EE9 n Golfer for advise lar... cos they hv oredi do something to thier car liao... hehehe... so brader EE9 n Golfer, hv u guys do de speed cut oredi? How do u guys do it n what u guys added to de car? Apexi RSM? Do all this thing affect de car electronic things? :rolleyes:

S9,
I haven online for ages lo. just got in today. so chun saw ur msg. Been really busy with work. I had gone fastest only 180 already cut :( not yet buy the speed limiter cut yet. S9, my exhaust is on the way to sarawak already, will keep u guys posted. Just received called from N1R this morning, he will be sending my exhaust to me this few days. Storm, dont worry bout the electronic stuff, try to get the apexi rsm , looks cool. I'm considering to get one also. i might go kl on 15th this month for golf competition.hehe. So i might drop by sunway to find N1R, maybe we can have a tea over there too. u should get a gauge to monitor ur boost and ext temp, then tell us wad is ur peak boost and peak ext temp ya
:)

S9 - Well done bro!!! 12.7 is a pretty good time for stock!! Ya made us all proud mate! Looks like the standard IX is worth all the talk!! I know what you mean abt the clutch smell. I smelt it on mine too a few weeks ago when I revved up to abt 6 to 7k rev from 3rd to 4th to 5th. I only too a glimpse at the speedo and I am pretty sure it went above 180. I was told that the speed limited is no longetr in place as the IX is subject to new laws in Japan which no longer require the speed limiter to be in place. perhaps I was wrong on the speed!!

Got the gauges installed and must admit, it looks quite nice. The HKS SSQV BOV's squeel is very noticeable even below 3k rev. A little too loud for my liking to be honest but nevertheless, it sounds really fierce! I will post some pics soon.

My boost meter shows a peak of abt 1.4 bar to 1.5bar - almost 1.5. I set my Defi to peak at 1.4 and at full rev, the warming light and sound will come on. So, I guess its abt there. Anyway, gotta go, will share more later.

S9 Boleh!!!

S9,

wo!!..well done brother, u really have a lot of fun at there.

ur car got speed cut? i though E9 dont have speed cut. it come with 260km/h or 180km/h meter?

cyilaw,

Yo brader, de E9 speedo meter come with 260km/h but with speed cut ard 190km/h... :mad: On de way back from JB to KL... V travel mostly ard 160-190km/h... cos mine cant go over tht speed... so others hv to wait for me... very 'malu' ler... hahaha... :thumpdown I think i'll hv to do de speed cut in de near future ler... Actually in some part of de way back, it can b done over 200km/h... But it sound Dangerous lor... hahaha...

So brader, is ur E8 MR done with de limiter?

Golfer,

Thx! 12.7sec really not bad hor... But de way I launch is a bit too 'Siong' for de ori. clutch ler... hahaha... I turned off everything except de light for de drag... n was on Full-face helmet too... But still i can smell de clutch... so i told myself its enough... hahaha... :biggrin:

Wow... :eek: 1.5 bar at what rpm? This is no joke a very high pressure car lor... Mmm... then hv to b more careful for it... luckily during de drag, my engine is fine...

De evo tht won de drag race is our member from JB with an Orange color Evo 5 with black rims... Am not sure abt his time... wil check it out for u guys... And oso his car condition!!! Cheers! Evos - :rock:

S9 - Sorry I mis-typed!! It should be 1.3 to 1.4 bar sorrry for the confusion. Rev at 6.5 to 7k rpm.

You should get those gauges installed, it'll make you feel a lot more confident abt your car. I know ppl say that for stock cars, its pointless, well, its true, however, it gives you that added comfort knowing that there is something telling you that your car is doing fine rather than replying on "Oh, its a standard car, so, it SHOULD be OK". I think its worth the $$$s. Plus, it makes the car look quite nice.

You did well mate! Be pround of your car and yourself. So, you confirm there is a speed limiter set at 190? Must check.

Where are the photos my friend?

EE9 - do let us know how your car performs after the installation of the new exhaust. Are you going to change your exhaust manifold and O2 housing?