Evo Ix

Stormvolution 9 said:
Iezz,

Of cause Evo lar... Hahaha... Evo got 4 doors mah, 2 more than GTR lar... lolz... :biggrin: Can bring lots of chicks lar... Rather than 1 gal in GTR!!! Am i right ah ZinZan? hahaha...

Ok serious, i know how u feel lar... Good nice bargain for de GTR but than ur 1st choice r always Evo... So u r kinda stuck in de middle... Haha... Frankly speaking, Evo r more practical n 'Cheaper' to upgrade compare to de KENG of Jap car - GTR! So... u better think nicely lor...

yeah.. hehe... 4 doors is good for rainy days...

Iezz,

4 door car is very very pratical. Wil this evo be your daily car? If u have second car than go for GTR if not i suggest the evo. B4 i bought i mine i was looking at other what tipped me over to evo is the practicality n the boot space.

hello guys.. just came back home after a hectic few days in KL and Singapore. No fun just work.. 100% work!!! Sorry for the false alarm on my trip to KL.. I was only there for less than 24hrs and its all work!!! I was a little disappointed not to have met you guys too.. esp ZZ and S9 whose been great company on the forum..

Iezz.. evo lah... just do it.. u won't regret it.. you can boost it or just relax in the backseat after your booze... mmm doesn't rhym. oh well, i'll leave the rhymes to my silent hi-power...

S9 - read abt the MoTec for the IX.. will be investigating on this further.. will share..

visited a mod shop here and the SCB i color display unit costs abt HK4k plus. the boost controller costs abt HK8k plus.. a little over priced for a BC i think..

Storm, zinzan and golfer...
hehe very good lar y'all.. gimme poison on the evo.. yeah, very practical to own the evo..
4 doors, yeah i really like 4 doors sedan with the 280++bhp on tap..

Golfer, i might be in macau this coming few weeks.. so, pm me your contact number, if i'm not bz i might call you.. if you don't mind giving me a ride with your car... i'd love to hear your silent hi-power..

Golfer, Storm & EE9,

Just took my baby to sepang, damn man it was fun and adrenaline pumpin. On the front straight managed to do bout 190. This the 1st time i gave my car poper lashing. It handled beautifully in stock standard mode. Overtook most of the Satrialution, Civics and even the track cars. But there was an M3 who beat all of us even Al a seasoned player. It was cucuking at the corners (which suprised us all) but on the straight its untouchable. Lo and behold guess who was drivin Mohd Fairuz the A1 driver. My tyres are nearly comletely botak, need to change it in the next couple of days.

I'm also quite interested in Blitz SBC, asked lee from MEOC but it's gonna cost bomb. I think just bout HK prices mebe even more. I like it at least dont have too many gauges. Dont clutter the interior too much. Storm we should go check out lee's shop wangan racing. A lot of goodies. He said more stock coming next week.

ZZ - Wonderful to see you enjoying the IX.. how does the IX compare to the VIIs or VIs, I think compared with the VIII and MRs, its probably very similar. How did your brakes perform? Did you feel the brakes going numb after a couple of laps? I presume you are still on the ori brakes. Was there a noticeable difference in braking distance compared to someone with slotted or ventilated brakes? I presume after a couple of hot laps the brakes will start to fail?

I think the Blitz SBC i-color suits you and S9 perfectly, with no meters or gauges installed, you will really get to maximise the SBC, plus as you said, it will not clutter the cockpit... Its pricey but if you compare with buying individual gauges plus a boost controller, the SBC is likely to come in under. So.. hey.. christmas coming, perhaps the buying mood will make you guys part with some hard earn moolahs!!!

Golfer,

I did play with Vii, whether it stock or not, i'm not sure. To be honest this my 2nd time in sepang the 1st with this car. ix has the edge coming out of the corners prob cuz mivec. I could see i was pulling away at the corners but on the straights we were on the straight we were on the same distance. MRs I couldnt keep up, 1st foremost they are seasoned drivers n the cars not stock, but i think the driver factor plays a bigger part in this.

Evomr did take my car for a spin just to compare with his MR, he did say that the midrange torque is the difference. But cant beat his car in terms of speed, need a boost controller to fully harness the turbo.

Yo braders, hahaha... Am back after few days of super bz schedule in Penang... Was there for presentation n negotiation... Very happy tht i can relax again for at least few days... Hahaha...

Wow ZinZan, it was really a good fun day in de SIC for u ler... Hahaha... Yeah, lots of ppl oso said tht an stock Evo is oredi good enough for track drive... So what tyres u r looking at? If need help jus let me know lar... got jalan for cheaper Yokohama range tyres lar... wei wei wei... any accident happened ah? For me i really dun dare to drive de IX into SIC ler... really takut i wil turtle de car lar... LoLz...

Golfer, how r u doing man? Stil damn bz ah? Errr... wil b calling ZinZan soon lar... hahaha...

Storm,

It was really fun bro..... i really suggest u have a go at SIC. Do it at ur own pace mate. I was'nt really going all out just try to go within my limits. Honestly it's the only place that u can run this car legally not be afraid of the speed trap. There were a cpl of accidents but it didnt involve any of the evos or scoobies.

S9 - don't be afraid of the track. most pple out there are sensible drivers, well, most. just use common sense and learn the racing lines so that you keep out of it in the event you are being poked by a fast car/driver. most pple will appreciate that. sometime though, you will need to keep your line even though there is a fast car behind you.. anyway, once you try it, you will love it. if you are afraid, just take someone with experience beside you for the first few laps to learn the ropes.. like ZZ mentioned, its the safest place and the right place to release the potential of your car. i think it will take a lot to turtle and it should be the least of your concerns..

zz - how did the ori brakes do?

Golfer - the ori brakes did great. i've heard of the usual complaints from most of the evo owners regarding the pads, and the need for skimming the rotors. So far i have not had that prob and even when evomr drove my car he didnt notice any warping. Mebe brembo sorted out that prob with the ix. But i assume you r goin to change the brakes regardless. heheheheheh.
Storm - Come on bro next track day come with me.
Guys need your opinion, between Saab 9-3 aero or evo X which one you'd go for. I'm asking the wrong ppl of course you guys go for the X

Yo, actually me myself oso very desperate to go for track lar... Hahaha... Jus tht dun wanna anything unhappy happened to spoil my experience lor... Cos me myself hv saw few serious cases ler... Some total lost (turtle) n some quite seriously bang!!! Hey ZinZan, do u remember de Fairlady Z @ our fren's workshop huh? Tht 1 total lost ler... Besides, me n my dad are looking for a track car ler... with de track car, it wil b more enjoyable n relaxing while on de track... Got few offers, a RM22k evo 5 n a RM30k evo 6 n etc... But then b4 v even make up our mind those cars oredi being bought by others.... Diuuuuuuuuu... :tongue: So actually stil looking ard for it lor... Am sure v wil b able to get it lar... So ZinZan... Wait for me ah!!! :biggrin:

ZinZan,

Wei, y u wanna compare de Saab 9-3 with Evo X huh? Totally different league ler... hahaha... Saab 9-3 is good for executive level personel lar, nice to drive it to work everyday... Where as Evo X is for ppl who is young n handsome like us all here lor... Can go out with lots of different chicks at nite lar... hahaha... Really depends on ur application lor... Do give us more input of it, then v wil b able to give better opinion here... Cheers!

ZZ - bro.. compare apples to oranges.. mm not easy. If you want some status and more mature look and if you single batang (or married with no kids), then i think a 2-door, something along the lines of a 3 series would work just fine. If you wanna 4-door, i think the 5 series will do the job very well... just my opinion.. besides, you already have a IX!!! Mmm.. very interesting find on the brakes!!! What abt the suspension? good enough for the odd track days?

S9 - wah, Evo, Scooby and now a track car???? you are cool man!!! i think I have enough to worry abt with the IX let alone worried abt a track car!!! unless you are a regular, i would suggest you kill the track car idea... unless you got damn a lot of dough to burn.. i think i have a fair idea abt your fear on "turtling" the car. in most instances, the turtling occurs when you understeer and hit the curb real hard (assuming that the curb is raised) or if your car understeers into the gravel which causes your car to lift to its side and topple. failing which, i think you need not been too concerned abt turtling. my greatest phobia of the track is when i am tailing and the car in front suddenly the guy panics and do something dumb like brake or when the car you are following does not late brake as you gun down a straight heading into a turn tailing the car in front.. but turtle, no, not worried abt that.

i think once you get the hang of things, your phobia will fade.. just stay on the track and avoid pushing too hard on your first go, you should be fine.. besides, you have lots of experience EVO guys to give you guidance.. right ZZ?

You are right abt me wanting to change brakes, however, I will probably just change the disc, brake pad and steel braided hoses.. good enough i think. My worry is not so much the warping but the fading due the brakes operating outside its designed temperature range. This is a common problem on the track and when it occurs, you will not be able to late brake charging into corners and hence slower track times... I have had a couple of near disasterous occassions where the brakes failed to stop the car to allow it to turn in to avoid understeering... i've also had the privy of witnessing a near disasterous situation where if not for the APs, the car would have rammed through a road block and the results would have been potentially fatal. so, that is my experience and opinion.. only my opinion of course and based on my experience..

sometimes, its not that the driver is not good or not anticipative enough. its those unexpected situations when you take a little bit of risk.. mmm.. eh you guys understand what I am blabbing ah? I hope so.. cheers..

http://2.srv.fotopages.com/2/8447921/bwk-slow-jer.jpg
http://2.srv.fotopages.com/1/8447661.jpg
my 9

wufpek,

Walan Eh!!! Hebat betul lar u... Tht was 250km/h ++ right? Where did u do it huh? Izzit on de way to/back from airport? Hahaha... How was de drag events in Sepang on Sat.? Interesting ah? :biggrin:

Guys,

It was sad day for me on friday, my turbo is busted. Dont really know what happened, wasnt driving really fast...... there was loud sound tot it was police later i realised it came from engine bay. Mofaz gonna sent pics to japan see whether they will ganti baru or not.