enquiry about air filter

ferio76

dear friends, i would like to know how often / how long do you change the air filter of your car? i drive a 2 year old wira which only clocked 14800++km and only recently i can feel that the fuel consumption of the car has increased. i don't think its due to the tyre pressure as i've only pump air recently. could it be the air filter? cos from what i know, since the 1st service until today, i haven't even change the air filter during the scheduled car service, and there was once i tried to open the air filter box myself, i saw that the paper element of the air filter already in grey colour... it's clogged with dust i think. does this mean that its time for me to change the air filter? please help me... thank you!:_:

ferio76 said:
dear friends, i would like to know how often / how long do you change the air filter of your car? i drive a 2 year old wira which only clocked 14800++km and only recently i can feel that the fuel consumption of the car has increased. i don't think its due to the tyre pressure as i've only pump air recently. could it be the air filter? cos from what i know, since the 1st service until today, i haven't even change the air filter during the scheduled car service, and there was once i tried to open the air filter box myself, i saw that the paper element of the air filter already in grey colour... it's clogged with dust i think. does this mean that its time for me to change the air filter? please help me... thank you!:_:

yes it is time. :regular_smile:

change to a new one, or u can think of changing to better air filters ..

its depends ur driving situation,if the air pollution is high of coz the air filter getting stuck more faster,those service manual just a reference,change it when u c it dirty,many workshop use air gun to blow it,but just can clean the surface..inside still stuck so its recommend to change it

I think its abt time to change liow. Stock filter is not that expensive btw.

i change my filter every 10K
since it is so cheap only nia
RM 18, give the fella lar

when i used to have paper filter, i change it when it is dirty or when i feel performance of the car decrease a little...
now i cannot change filter adi... can only wash... sob sob...

change ur filter regularly once its become grey or dirty. you'll rewarded with healthier engine and reduce fuel consumption. dem worth

according to manual book os 20k km but all depend on environment.

better chg to power filter coz it washable and more power !! :regular_smile:

can change to k&n filter...rewashable....so u dun need to change anymore....wash it wit cleaner kit.....:X-:

i once tot of changing it to k&n filter... went to Enous One-U with my friends the other day... to my surprise, the drop-in filter for wira is more expensive than the one for vios! anyone have any idea on this? hehe.. appreciate it if someone can really tell me why there's a difference in the pricing of the filter. btw just wanna say thank you for those who replied me... thanks a lot!

ferio76 said:
i once tot of changing it to k&n filter... went to Enous One-U with my friends the other day... to my surprise, the drop-in filter for wira is more expensive than the one for vios! anyone have any idea on this? hehe.. appreciate it if someone can really tell me why there's a difference in the pricing of the filter. btw just wanna say thank you for those who replied me... thanks a lot!

i think wira filter is biger than vios...so more expensive..hehe

if u r interested to get one knn dropin for ur ride...look for HMS in zth....he wil quote u a nice price.....

yah, in long term, i recommend get washable air filter.... if short term, use back ur original filter lo... many claim that brand new paper filter works as good as aftermarket ones... but ones the paper filter dirty, performance drop....

yo SkYwAlKeR your picture that filter is K&N drop in right? for 12v carburettor?

how big that round filter in inches and how much?

anything else needed beside that round filter?

and i got question about air filter also

i just changed Apexi open port air filter.....lol last time got people said when rev and step on cluth to change gear got abit ppssstttt sound.......lol how come i don hear anything 1? my ride is New Saga LMST

is it the LMST already so noisy so can't hear the pssttt sound or no such thing about the pppsssttt sound?

sound like BOV but not so loud

gohkokeng said:
yo SkYwAlKeR your picture that filter is K&N drop in right? for 12v carburettor?

i just changed Apexi open port air filter.....lol last time got people said when rev and step on cluth to change gear got abit ppssstttt sound.......lol how come i don hear anything 1? my ride is New Saga LMST

is it the LMST already so noisy so can't hear the pssttt sound or no such thing about the pppsssttt sound?

normaly..efi engine can hear it ....for carb...even there is a sound, it wont be loud.

*corect me if im wrong

plannin to change my filter too, but do u guys suggest open pod KNN filter or use back the KNN filter element will do? i couldnt find heat shield for the open pod btw n the direction of the filter is pointed directly towards the radiator n so all the hot air will be sucked in... unless i put another hose n connect down under my bumper n gettin all the cold in fr outside, but afraid it might seeps in water when rainin too

need your opinion guys

and one more thing, abt fc.. would it increase if i convert into open pod but still drive normal n below rpm 2?

'[00] TRD said:
plannin to change my filter too, but do u guys suggest open pod KNN filter or use back the KNN filter element will do? i couldnt find heat shield for the open pod btw n the direction of the filter is pointed directly towards the radiator n so all the hot air will be sucked in... unless i put another hose n connect down under my bumper n gettin all the cold in fr outside, but afraid it might seeps in water when rainin too

need your opinion guys

and one more thing, abt fc.. would it increase if i convert into open pod but still drive normal n below rpm 2?

wat car bro? heatshield hv to be customize....

gohkokeng said:

my one vr small only... can jz manage to cover the carburettor... how many inch i not sure, didnt measure.... besides the filter, i also install a small breather lor... cap ayam cost rm15....

as for my case, as i rev higher, i can hear the filter sucking in wind... i think it's quite loud coz i'm already using straight flow muffler and i still can hear the sucking sound... pssst pssst sound dont have lor.... haha...

SkYwAlKeR said:
my one vr small only... can jz manage to cover the carburettor... how many inch i not sure, didnt measure.... besides the filter, i also install a small breather lor... cap ayam cost rm15....

as for my case, as i rev higher, i can hear the filter sucking in wind... i think it's quite loud coz i'm already using straight flow muffler and i still can hear the sucking sound... pssst pssst sound dont have lor.... haha...

haha ok ok.....how much the filter u bought? if i am not wrong last time i asked 1 shop is RM160 including 1 bottle of oil for cleaning purpose (K&N brand)

u bought how much?

so cheap??... the shop quote u the item is second hand??...
last time i bought mine for rm150 coz it is second hand, used for few months by previous user... no cleaning kit included...