DIY Oil Change and Flush

aVince

Jan 16, 2007
Try to change it before 10,000km. The oil company set the 10,000km guideline is refering to their test on the car that keep running at long distance till it reached 10,000km.
As for our daily usage, stop-and-go during heavy traffic will shorten the quality lifespan of the oil..

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
True aVince! For those city driving stop-n-go, or short distance drive , we have to change the oil sooner..

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
chg oil sooner is good for engine... yes... but not good for poket.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
i saw the Shell flush engine oil for RM26.50 at prai, penang.

aVince

Jan 16, 2007
haha... well, prevention (maintenance) is cheaper than correction (fix/ troubleshooting).
I called Shell customer service, for PJ area -- Shell Station in Tmn Tun has it.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
no need prevent larr. after 15 yrs your car worth Rm5k only!!

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
that only apply for proton cars... kekeke

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
sell to scrap metal shop pun they dont dare to take, later city council penalty them for using/extracting metal from cars more than 15 yrs old which the metal can be UNSAFE!!
want to find spare part also canot find, city council will fine those spare part shop for selling parts to car more than 15 yrs as this is considered as an "encouragement to drive old car."
what can u do with 15yrs old car? redeem your RM5k rebate with every purchase of 'P' car.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
donzcity,

your flushing tutorial can save toyota engine against slugh problem.

kaiowas

Feb 19, 2005
get the normal mineral one enuff oredi...but change at regular interval
rather than get expenceive fully synth one change at longer interval
after all u trust the figure given by the manufacturer ka? fully synth can go until 10K plus than oni change? at that time ur engine oil oredi like kopi O still dont need to change ma?still wait till 10K?

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
that is kopi O KAU KAU.............

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
kaiowas... (this is nice song from Sepultura.. rocks!!!! i can play it too hehe).

10k fully synth for case of my wife's picanto still bright yellow.. result new engine..
and low rev driver.. hehe. (totally opposite of me) ..

kaiowas

Feb 19, 2005
me can play it to in drop D. lol. those were the days.
ok back to topic.

Northiswara

Dec 21, 2005
yeah..........
guys........
who is using castrol magnatec 10/40??

at bukit mertajam, prai i find that spare part shop selling it for RM77, carrefour sell RM89-92. what is the difference??
tan chong sell RM80.

Hi SIFUs at ZerotoHundred, I am new to machine polishing and recently I had try out the Meguairs D300 compound with their microfiber finishing disk and got the result below. The result is good but I think it could been better as I feel like there is light haze from the compound.

Before:

After:

From the picture I hope...