Car Batery opinion....Pls

NeoG

Hi to All ZTH member,

I currently driving Honda Civic yr95 (EG) Auto tranny Non-Vtec. I going to change my car batery soon because it going to die off soon after two yrs of using. Currently using GP batery with 11 plates, i heard that market selling maintanence free batery, btw is the maintanence free batery perfomance as good as normal car batery?? i also heard that market sell 13 plates car batery (higher capacity).

So my concern here is, if i change my car betery which one is better for me? Get back the original 11 plates, or change to 13 plates (higher capacity) or go for tha maintanance free batery?? I also heard that if your car batery is good, then ur car performance will get (slightly) better (pls correct me if i'm wrong).

*I heard my uncle say b4, the maintanence free batery is no good for 4wd car, he mention after he replace the maintanenca free batery, his car feel under power(he say he was buying the correct batery for 4wd).BTW he is driving Ford Ranger. Is this true????

Thanks in advance for any one that concern/give opinion on this topic
^_^y.....TQ

NeoG said:
Hi to All ZTH member,

I currently driving Honda Civic yr95 (EG) Auto tranny Non-Vtec. I going to change my car batery soon because it going to die off soon after two yrs of using. Currently using GP batery with 11 plates, i heard that market selling maintanence free batery, btw is the maintanence free batery perfomance as good as normal car batery?? i also heard that market sell 13 plates car batery (higher capacity).

So my concern here is, if i change my car betery which one is better for me? Get back the original 11 plates, or change to 13 plates (higher capacity) or go for tha maintanance free batery?? I also heard that if your car batery is good, then ur car performance will get (slightly) better (pls correct me if i'm wrong).

*I heard my uncle say b4, the maintanence free batery is no good for 4wd car, he mention after he replace the maintanenca free batery, his car feel under power(he say he was buying the correct batery for 4wd).BTW he is driving Ford Ranger. Is this true????

Thanks in advance for any one that concern/give opinion on this topic
^_^y.....TQ

Dont be a fool..car battery have no influence on car performance.If battery is too weak for your car,your car wont be able to start or die very fast.Bigger battery is of course better..but it depends on whether your battery compartment will be able to fit it in or not.Maintanence free battery works just like normal battery..its just a dry cell battery. Anyway,if you have alot of ICE or even HID,you might need a more powerfull battery to upkeep the performance,if not they will not perform to its maximum potential or they will make your car battery die very fast.

Worse come to worse just relocate the battery else where..like in the boot or under the car seat.

1. wet btty is cheaper tht dry btty (arrd 30-40 buck bah...)

2. if u maintain ur btty in gd condition, the life time can longer tht dry btty.

3. i think dry btty is suitable 4 ladies owner, coz no ned 2 maintain mah....until die thn change.

4. n i dun think btty can gain car performance so...

juz my 2 cent~~

batt

JUst get the same type batt or the maintenance free..
No effect on car power....

no point of changing to batteries of extra plates when the amount of charging by alternator remains same. get a bigger capacity alternator bfore battery size upgrade. that of course, when u have many auxiliaries fitted in ur car. o

nowadays, MF batteries are a lot cheaper and reasonable but not of good quality as they were imported from Taiwan or Korea.

for a simillar amount of money i would like to suggest buying wet batteries, and pay some attention to its maintenance. come on...5 minutes every sunday morning?? use the time to check all fluid levels too... its for your own benefit as u r driving a car that is more than a decade old...

hahah....if battery doesnt contribute anything to car performance then why they have a 16v battery for race/performance.

thing to think...ur ignition coil need 12v min to operate well.IF a battery cant keep a steady supply of voltage to ignition coil.Wont that effect ur car performance??

12v coil will increase voltage to around 25k for jumping the spark plug.
what happen if used a 16v battery to power ur ignition coil???

my advise:

Just get a GOOD maintenance free brand from well known manufacturer ie Bosch,Panasonic.

maintenance free batt for women??? ahhahah i wont touch a wet battery ever again.

Another problem is heat. Batteries don't last if expose to extreme heat from engine bay. This is the case for bigger cc or turbo-charged cars.

thanks to all Senior Member here......

any more suggestion?

Thanks a million

^_^