Opinion: Looking for 100k car

but aint the v6 got QC problem? some of my friends driving the sixers got interior QC problems, and, we still can buy new v6 nowadays? they are still for sale?

suprafire , problem is tat dun have 50K cash in hand ma . Buy oso 10% deposit oni , taking instalment. Summore new car at least no heahache for next few years. Proton cars out of the questions lo , he been driving proton for so long , phobia oledi. Now got chance sure wan japan car loo. :D

Mate, your friend don't really have much choices unless he is willing to fork out another 10k to 20k.

Make / Model Year Type Displacement Transmission Approx. Price
Chevrolet Optra 1.8 2004 Sedan 1799cc Automatic RM96,000
Chevrolet Optra 5 2005 Hatchback 1799cc Automatic RM106,000
Citroen C3 1.6 Sensodrive 2003 Hatchback 1587cc Auto, semi-auto RM96,000
Fiat Punto 1.8 HGT 2001 Hatchback 1747cc Manual RM94,000
Ford Lynx 2.0 RS 2004 Sedan 1991cc Automatic RM114,000
Honda Civic 1.7L VTEC 2004 Sedan 1668cc Automatic RM110,000
Honda Jazz 1.5L i-DSI 2004 Hatchback 1497cc Automatic RM95,000
Honda Jazz 1.5L VTEC 2004 Hatchback 1497cc Automatic RM103,000
Hyundai Sonata 2.0l (CKD) 2002 Sedan 1997cc Auto, semi-auto RM113,000
KIA Optima 2.0 (A) 2004 Sedan 1997cc Auto, semi-auto RM122,000
Mitsubishi Colt 2005 Hatchback 1499cc Automatic RM118,650
Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6GLX 2005 Sedan 1584cc Automatic RM99,500
Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG (auto) 2003 Sedan 1597cc Automatic RM95,000
Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG-L (Facelift) 2003 Sedan 1597cc Automatic RM101,000
Nissan Sentra 1.8 XG-L (Facelift) 2003 Sedan 1769cc Automatic RM112,000
Proton Perdana 2.0(A) V6 Enhanced 2003 Sedan 1999cc Automatic RM96,000
Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.4 AT 2004 Hatchback 1390cc Automatic RM96,000
Skoda Octavia 1.6 Elegance (Auto) 2004 Hatchback 1595cc Automatic RM107,000
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 (Auto) 2001 Sedan 1598cc Automatic RM109,000
Toyota Vios 1.5G 2003 Sedan 1496cc Automatic RM88,000

silverfish , thanks for de list. The mitsu lancer 1.6 follows evo design rite ? The engine? just normal engine or wif mivec?

a cool and stylish citroen...shuld go and test drive

hmm..it kinda has an old look to it..

..nice car .nice drive...

another thumbs up...

..as most of them said...getting to common..

..this one is interesting..but the looks is going to play a factor..

good car...!

..i actually like this hot hatch...not that many around as well..now skoda also belongs to VW family..has the same platform as VW POLO....so itis a good car....shuld test drive it

another car...which is solid..but i prefer the RS version...
based on VW..golf and bora...also try and test drive

family car...

Toyota Vios 1.5G 2003 Sedan 1496cc Automatic RM88,000
..too many...like city as well

About the Lancer 1.6. I remember reading the review but I forgot the details. I think it has MIVEC. You should be expecting performance similar to a 1.6 VVTi engine. Should be a nice drive and very stylish too. Should turn quite a number of heads in it, since it is quite rare at the moment. But it is a 1.6 and has around 110bhp, so you won't be the fastest that's for sure.

but with a new model of civic coming out in march/april, would the current price of civic drops when selling later ?? In term of performance, civic would win the lancer rite ? civic- 1.7 litre ( i think over 110 hp) and lancer 1.6 ( 110 hp)

zero4 said:
in look wise, looks lah, civic wins hands down over the lancers.
That's your opinion, of course. I think the Lancer looks classier and more expensive. The Civic, yeah it looks good, but too safe and bland.

wannabe said:
but with a new model of civic coming out in march/april, would the current price of civic drops when selling later ?? In term of performance, civic would win the lancer rite ? civic- 1.7 litre ( i think over 110 hp) and lancer 1.6 ( 110 hp)
The Civic 1.7 would be slightly more powerful, being slightly bigger of course. But I doubt you'd feel that much difference.

Edit: My mistake, the Civic 1.7 is a lt more powerful at 130 bhp. The Lancer only manages 106 bhp.

Guys , i checked the new 2006 lancer , a 2.0 litre engine oni pushing 120?? wtf?? even a 2.4 mive engine oni producing 162 hp..... isnt tat a bit weak ??

http://www.mitsubishicars.com/MMSA/jsp/lancer/features_specs.jsp?t=mechanical

The figure for the 2.0 litre is a bit poor, the usual mark is around 140bhp. But the one for the 2.4 litre is about right, at around 160bhp

silverfish , but a 2.4 oni producing 160 hp a bit weak lor summore mivec, i would imagine a 2.0 pushing 150-160 hp .

hmmm, i think our local 1.6 model should not have mivec la. Oni 106hp. Even the jazz 1.5 v-tec oso around tat figure.

silver, wats your ride bro ?

si|verfish said:
That's your opinion, of course. I think the Lancer looks classier and more expensive. The Civic, yeah it looks good, but too safe and bland.

yeap, everyone got their own preferences.

wannabe said:
silverfish , but a 2.4 oni producing 160 hp a bit weak lor summore mivec, i would imagine a 2.0 pushing 150-160 hp .

hmmm, i think our local 1.6 model should not have mivec la. Oni 106hp. Even the jazz 1.5 v-tec oso around tat figure.

160 bhp for a 2.4 litre is ok lar. Even Honda's venerable 2.4 iVTEC produces around that figure.

I drive a humble Kelisa only lar. No $$$.

here we are..with a list made by silverfish. u own a showroom is it? he he

Make / Model Year Type Displacement Transmission Approx. Price
Chevrolet Optra 1.8 2004 Sedan 1799cc Automatic RM96,000
good car, previuosly a Daewoo. resale value so-so. go for 1.8

Chevrolet Optra 5 2005 Hatchback 1799cc Automatic RM106,000
go for sedan instead.

a good car, very unique. poor resale value is guaranteed. lose RM20K on ur first day of using.

hey.. this one a good buy. service and parts availability questionable.

my prefererence. got 0.3 turbo and sunroof if not mistaken.

good car, bland looking. 1.7 cc will miss 50% road tax discount.
electric power steering has no feel. all new model round the corner. worth waiting.

fantastic economical. 7 speed CVT is brilliant but its a full auto, unlike City with manual mode. overpriced coz of CBU status. too many around. in my knowledge this model is 1.4 not 1.5.

as above but more power.

Hyundai Sonata 2.0l (CKD) 2002 Sedan 1997cc Auto, semi-auto RM113,000
classic look. spacious. service becomes easier as well as parts. semi auto is useless as it only has 4 speed. lazy engine. new model already on sale in korea and singapore.

KIA Optima 2.0 (A) 2004 Sedan 1997cc Auto, semi-auto RM122,000
same like sonata. add sunroof. more expensive means worst resale value.

overpriced. different.

overpriced being 1.6. spacious. could convert looks into ralliart wannabe machine.
exact same 4G18 engine with waja.

Nissan Sentra 1.6 SG-L (Facelift) 2003 Sedan 1597cc Automatic RM101,000
now comes in limited NISMO edition. received 3rd facelift. new model soon. see Nisssan latio in singapore.

Nissan Sentra 1.8 XG-L (Facelift) 2003 Sedan 1769cc Automatic RM112,000
same comment.

Proton Perdana 2.0(A) V6 Enhanced 2003 Sedan 1999cc Automatic RM96,000
new car on a 13 years old chassis. a good buy nevertheless.
fast delivery now due to low demand but high supply. get a bargain.

for 1.4? overpriced. no 2nd hand value. parts?

same like above. for a 1.6, go for lancer. advantage is, european taste and made by Volkswagen group.

nice buy, but lacking the niceties found on 1.8 1.8 has 16" wheels, ABS, EBD, VTC, optitron meter and J gate gear lever.

Toyota Vios 1.5G 2003 Sedan 1496cc Automatic RM88,000[/QUOTE]
never go for E spec. G spec the one to have. worth buying if single. and saves Rm12,000.

by the way, if lancer 2.0 has only 120bhp, must be the SOH engine, not DOHC. new lancer has no mivec. only colt has mivec.

wannabe said:

btw, ur friend even thought of considering an ep3????

zero4 , forgive my ignorance , but wat is ep3?? honda ka?? i know of ek, eg , ej and now es oni wor.... Anyone has any idea of the availabilty of the integra or civic type-R? i think abt 5 years old liau

wannabe said:
zero4 , forgive my ignorance , but wat is ep3?? honda ka?? i know of ek, eg , ej and now es oni wor.... Anyone has any idea of the availabilty of the integra or civic type-R? i think abt 5 years old liau

ep3 is the new civic type R, currently going around RM135k-140k, is not a bad buy, type R performace with a very good some say the most refine engine honda ever built.

96 integra type Rs are still going strong, u will be able to get it for around 75k to 78k, it depends. 98 spec integra type Rs are rare, usually they can go up to 90k, again, it depends.

you can hardly find year 96 or 99 civic EK9 type R around here, got also quite expensive.

so all in all, for the honda side, ur friend's best buy will still be the 1.7 civic ES or 2.0 version.

but if your friend is willing to spend a bit more, not a bit lah, is more actually, EP3 civic type R or DC5 integra type R is a freaking good buy. DC5 are around 160k.

zero4 , thanks for the suggestions , i believe tat the if he can spend another extra 50% of his current budget, then it's a total different story wif with different cateory of cars available and have to start all over again with another list of cars :D if extra until 110 k still ok lo. but the ep3 price is brand new is it ?? any idea got 2nd hand ka....?