c2pid question, sifu pls help.

oh......thanks zenn. now that i know if electronic xover is used then the amp xover must be off. but how would i turn off the xover in amp? shud it be the fullpass switch that oldskolboy mentioned?
bro zenn, you mean the gain in amp shud be at min oso, while only the elec xover gain are use??

thanks. sorry for lousy english. as mayb some words or phrase that i might not understand. thats y keep troubling you guys.

Yup... zenn is correct... confuse oledi... pleased help loorr... waiting you so long oledi...

1) the above Gain (XO & Amp) need to set .. until you get ideal setting...
2) set it on Flat/Full range/Full pass- Oledi inform in my 1st post
3) same as no. 1
4) Yes - due to we not the pro ppl..
5) same as 4
6) Driver, I mean you comp... can set below 100hz but little bit high than freq respons let say 60hz... either set it at 60hz or 65hz or 70hz... depend on the comp it self.. either can accept or not... as I said set it at the best the comp can produce sound without distortion...
7) Should be around 50hz to 70hz... depend on the sub itself... sub-sonic filter... just on it & listen 1st.. if helpfull set it on... if not set it off..
8) very hard to explain... need master zenn help....
9) Your XO provide variable bass boost at 45hz... can boost it either 10db/12db/18db or 24db... allow your bass at 45hz louder than other freq.. let say 30hz 6db.. when the sub play at 45hz you can adjust more than 6db... depend on your laa... how many db...

oh thank u thank u oldskolboy sifu n zenn sifu. hope you guys dont get mad n dulan with me due to my many questions.
i did appreciate the effort and knowledge from u guys.

mind if i continue to learn from u guys?? hope i wont make u guys angry....pai seh pai seh

so sifu zenn and sifu oldskolboy. basically is

1. start everythin by 0
2. turn the HU volume to its max distortion and slightly turn lower volume
( and thats the max volume that i can go with my HU)
3. and then start with both the amp gain and xover gain till its max and lower
the gain a bit to avoid distortion. (and thats the max gain setting for both
amps and xover) 1 question here, do i touch with amp GAIN 1st then
xover GAIN or xover GAIN 1st then only amp GAIN? or both at a time?
4. the 4ch ADX amp if possible i bridge them to 2ch for higher output power.
set the amp to full/fullpass/flat. and the xover at amp put it at minimum.
5. the sub i wired them at 4ohm parallel, and bridge the kicker amp to 4ohm
load for the sub.
6. at the x3i elec xover, high pass i set it at 100hz and slowly turn down to
max 65hz for adjustment (depending onto the freq respose by the
component set) ! question here, how would i know how must of freq
response can my driver goes? by listening to the distortion or by reading
the manual from my comp set?
7. then the x31 elec xover low pass i set to 60hz and slowly turn down to
45hz for adjustment (depending onto the sub freq response) bass boost is
up to my happy as to set at 0db, -6db, 6db, etc.

did i put the steps right or if there are anythin lack can sifu help to correct me?

thank u thank u

ericlo said:

1. start everythin by 0
- check speaker connection.. ON HU.. play balance turn it to right or left..

- Hope you can get max.. coz distortion can adjust at your XO

- Amp 1st then XO...

- Yes, coz you used passive crossover.. when set to fullrange/fullpass/Flat.. built-in xo automatic switch off..

load for the sub.
- If your sub DVC 4 + 4ohm, series will 8ohm, parallel will get 2ohm
- If your sub DVC 2 + 2ohm, series will 4ohm, Parallel will get 1ohm

- From manual Freq response.. zenn oledi said the lowers/min cut off point at 70hz.. I trust him coz he has exp. on this comp.. distortion.. you will hear the mid sound like burrr burrr at low freq/when bass kicking.

- Did you realize that when you set the sub freq at 45hz... you will lost certain freq... Comp set at 70hz & Sub at 45hz... which driver will play for the missing freq... 46hz to 69hz.. Just my suggestion.. set you sub cut off point at 75hz or 80hz.. You can overlap little bit between sub-mid-tweeter.. for mid cut off point at 70hz.. bass kicking not solid enough.. so need sub woofer to cover the weakness with set the sub cut off point overlap little bit mid cut off point...

did i put the steps right or if there are anythin lack can sifu help to correct me?

thank u thank u

Based on my own exp... install & uninstall my own system........

arh,........thank u so much oldskolboy sifu. and zenn sifu. was trying it the whole day n reading sifu's xperience. now the sound a bit better. but i'm really blur liao....... eyes watering, ears deaf............

i ow u guys 100 plus. thank u thank u

ericlo said:
8. and what does a subsonic help in sound?

thanks sifu.

From what this noob (me) knows, the subsonic filter is to protect your subwoofer. It is needed for vented/ported enclosure.
Lets say your port tuning frequency is 25Hz. You need to set the subsonic filter higher than that (say 30Hz) as to protect your sub from damage. This kind of box do not have have the damping 'thing' that sealed box has, so, there is a high possibility that the sub might try to go pass it's Xmax.

Another reason was, humans can't hear too low of a frequency, so, the subsonic filter is used to 'save' your amp power by not giving it signals below the filtered frequency. This some how also gives your amp more headroom to amplify signals.

Hope this helps :X-:

thanks cacin sifu for the xplanation........

good morning again to all sifu.

after all your xpertise direct, it seems everythin is fine for basic installation. now again need some more xtreme xpertise advise. TUNING!!!!

most important n headshock part. i oso blur liao indeed.

sifu, i tune my high pass at proximate 70hz-75hz and low pass at 65hz-70hz..... seems like there are many detail not appearing.

the headunit preout i guess about 0.5v o 1v coz the gain in both amp were a bit high that i need to set.

how do i go about it ar?
being listening to the same song over n over again. comparing to my other car, many sound, instrument was not there.
pls help

ericlo said:
sifu, when u mention "GAIN" at amp/xover........which 1 is suppose to be it? i know there is a gain switch at amp. what about the xover???? is the OUTPUT KNOB stated min n max is the "GAIN" for xover?

1. gain at amp shud set 1st or gain at xover shud be set?
2. you did mention about set the switch to fullpass at amp. does it mean i set the switch to fullpass and leave the gain at amp to min???
3. and then set the gain "OUTPUT" at xover?

4. and the highpass at the x3i i load it to 400hz and the low pass for sub i
set to 45hz so that they get protected from fried or damage?
5. at highpass i slowly turn the knob down back to 300hz, 200hz until i found
the best performance???
6. and to avoid burn driver i shud not set lower than 100hz??

7. as for sub i leave it at 45hz. and start playing with the output knob?
shud i turn the subsonic on or off?
8. and what does a subsonic help in sound?
9. what about the boost level knob?

thanks sifu.

best to just use gain at xover, and amp gain is minimal, later on if u feel not enuff then only turn up amp gain.

amp side crossover or lp/hp filters have to be turned off if possible, depending on amp, since u oledi using electronic xover. if no choice only set to full, i would rather set lp/hp if u know what youre doing.

u only need to set the xover level around 70 for starters, since it s a normal 2 way system and the crossover if for sub & front. both sub is 70 and fronts is 70. later on u want to play maybe sub 60 fronts 50, or if it gets worse use fronts 80 sub 90, somethng like that lah, u can play-2 yourself.

your mids can go as low as 60 so dont go lower than that, 50 the most lah. for your sub u can play anywhere since they cover all the way up to 1k, just that the sound sucks when a lot of sound is from the sub, thats why we keep the sub only playing sub-bass (less than 50) and a bit of midbass (50-200)

subsonic filter on is good, this is what protects the sub from playing too low (less than 20) some subs cant take it and then rosak

boost im guessing is for sub eq, that one u can play later on if u feel bass output is too soft for you.

ericlo said:

1. start everythin by 0
load for the sub.

thank u thank u

set amp gain minimum, xover gain minimum, xover all set around 70hz, xover at amp set to flat, your sub is parallel now it is 2ohm, set bridge mono mode (im not familiar with kicker's amp operation) if got such a thing. now on HU volume up to max or just stop when u feel speakers are making funny noise (speaker pecah)
if not, now u can increase xover gain to the speaker pecah sound and reduce back the gain just before that point. if all also ok, then only increase amp gain to that said level. once all level is ok, then u play with xover a bit, after that then only play with sub boost a bit. also might want to try sub polarity normal or reverse (normal is +ve wire to +ve sub terminal, -ve to-ve, reversed is +ve wire to -ve sub, -ve to +ve) this way u will get diff type of bass, sometimes tighter and more in front, sometimes dispersed and far behind.

okok...thank u sifu zenn.

but 1 last question. at the electronic xover, at high pass i set it to 70hz and at low pass i set it to 70hz oso?

for high pass do i play around freq 70hz-400hz?
and low pass i play with 70hz - 50hz?

i got a prob now......whenever i turn off my headunit a "POP" sound appear..... what would have be the cause of it?
pls help

zenn sifu, oldskolboy sifu.

pls help......

the system that i fix appear to have "POP" sound when i turn off the headunit. what could be the reason to coz this matter?
and when i play my cd just for 1/2hr....... my amp gets heat up very fast. and its damn hot!!!
\

Only 1 thing will coz it.. Ground cable not connected properly.. 1st check ground cable at amp & XO.. Ground cable should properly shoulder to car body not screw it to car body.. Amp got hot in short time.. which amp?.. maybe this amp causing the POP..

both the amps get heat up in a short time of tuning. 1/2hour the ADX and KICKER oso damn hot. what could have be the reason??

i'll double confirm with the ground cable. thanks and pls help, i worry it'll burn the amp, xpecially kicker amp. thanks

Keep in mind that decreasing the impedance load on an amplifier will not only increase power (a good thing) but it will also increase distortion, heat & decrease the life of your amplifier (though the diff may be small for quality amp, like your kicker)... Hot it normal maa.. coz got power come in...

first have to see one by one from where the sound is coming? every speaker (maybe HU problem) or just fronts (maybe front amp problem). if grounding is done well, then equipment component maybe faulty inside (usually due to age or wear & tear). if youre lucky it may just be a loose wire somewhere.