ICE help needed...

Originally posted by jeff_v2@Jan 25 2005, 02:01
thanks again 4 ur opinion guys....
well surely can't wait to attend the TT nex week.....
pisces setup sure gepaq looo, also can't wait to see...
but prob is were is tmn desa?? can someone help me with the dirrection please...

yesterday i go to my usual audio shop, jus asking bout kicker comp vr woofer.. the tokey said that if wanna change me need to change the amp too... from streo to mono... what??? that need more money maaa.... he also said that the 12' subs around 800 maaa.... with that price i can get a L5 at lelong maaa.... so he suggest me only to change to 12' ex jus add 250.... well what u guys think??? how bout shiva need mono amp to also????

where can i find shiva stuff at kl????

see yaa at the TT....
2moro will return to bangi, a long jurney from jb....
need to study coz final is near... wish me luck guys..... bye...
bro...

a class d monoblock usually 2 drive subbie...they rarely gets heated up n chuns out lots of power...

lets say wit a budget of less than 1k 4 a class d monoblock...there should b JBL bp 600.1 n Prokick 1200 also...

u can try audio bahn yohannes is selling too...very cheap...rm400 n yet...the power is same as kicker compvr...

dont listen 2 taukeh loh...ask in zth 1st...coz wat they sell tat will make em more profit...of coz they say tat 1 good lah....

last time went 2 a shop...selling damn lotsa mohawk...open up my boot n when they saw kicker comp...noe wat they say?

"cheh..kicker...even mohawk better...sumore made in china 1..."

wat the *&&%%#...mohawk better than kicker?ahhahaa...

so dun trust em...ask si fu in tis forum 1st...

thanks again Yong...
well i wait until the TT b4 thinking bout upgrading my ICE more...
need more help from ppl like u....
btw will u attend the TT ????
sure can use some advise from u
ciow...

Originally posted by jeff_v2@Jan 25 2005, 02:01
but prob is were is tmn desa?? can someone help me with the direction please...

You've got mail.

yong
as i said mohawk = crap
mohawk better than kicker? even kicker is better than audiobahn. Kicker is a good brand. Have you seen mohawk in an international competition?
power is not everything. good subs can play low and loud. Kicker can play loud but not low enough (i'm reffering to CVR)

jeff
i dont think CVR cost that much try and go other shop. i think there is a distributor of Kicker brand in KL, why not go to them instread of a retailer. if you are willing to spend RM800 the go for the L5. if not Shiva is only RM650. Better subs than the CVR.

tell your shop to stop talking crap. A bridged channel will produce a single channel (mono). Doesnt mean a subs running at 400W RMS need 400W of power. itcan get 200 and still be loud. (my 2 CVR is 200W RMS each and it almost reached its xmax).

my recomendation= Shiva, Shiva, Shiva, Shiva, Shiva

in terms of speaking brands alone, of course kicker is better then audiobahn. to me mohawk is ...xxxx.. sorry. hehehehe. personal prefferences. If talk about build quality thn its hard to say as many kickers nowdays is all made in china which goes the same of Audiobahn and mohawk i guess (dunno whr this made also).

but no doubt and wun go wrong if choose Shiva. Hurray...!!! whahahaha

Do drop by the gathering on 3 Feb...
We drink, eat, chit chat, get to know more people, see people's car, listen, then repeat the whole process until you want to go home, or until everyone went off.

How can you guys say kicker is better the audiobahn? Its like saying Honda is better then Toyota.

One is spending money marketing their product, sponsering competatiors, etc more then the other only. Products, I would say its similar or on par.

tron
its all based on preferences. when it comes to quality nothing is fixed. When i say kicker is better than audiobahn its about my preferences as yong mentioned that somenone said to him mohawk is better than kicker.

not to offend anyone but i dont think (will never think) mohawk and audiobahn is better than kicker. The reason i said kicker is into international competition is because they had won there. Not in SQ class though but in SPL. They even hold the world record for the loudest SPL with close to 200dB. but i was surprise that the CVR can play low too.

then again i did said Adire shiva is better than kicker. So no speakers is the best, its just that one speaker is better than another thats all.

Originally posted by normality78@Jan 25 2005, 13:42
in terms of speaking brands alone, of course kicker is better then audiobahn. to me mohawk is ...xxxx.. sorry. hehehehe. personal prefferences. If talk about build quality thn its hard to say as many kickers nowdays is all made in china which goes the same of Audiobahn and mohawk i guess (dunno whr this made also).

but no doubt and wun go wrong if choose Shiva. Hurray...!!! whahahaha
kicker L5 and L7 is made in USA and are known to be abused to the extreme and can still deliver. other models (ex,comp,comp VR) are made in China.

Adire Shiva made in USA.

Ps: sounds like i'm promoting shiva a lot. Its just that i fell in love with the brother Adire Brahma.

Kicker did win the SQ class sometime back, can remember who or when, but I remember the car have 3 special 15" L7 or something like that.

jeff...

when u attend the TT...me not sifu..me SEEKING help from sifu...ahhaha

theres plenty of sifus out there....go TT n u'll noe wat i mean...

If i were 2 choose L5 n L7...better go direct 4 L7....

appleyard...i think ur CVR can play low n loud coz u r using 2.25 cu.ft enclosure...

s for me...i would choose 1.75 coz i prefer thumping bass....

+...my wira a/b dun have so much boot space compare 2 ur kembara :P

me also wan shive...but too bad its 8ohm sub...cannot juice the full potential of my amp... <_<

mm.. I think Mark Eldridge's Toyota 4Runner was equipped with kicker stuff when he won a few years back. I had an article abotu the car and there was a lot fo work that went into makign the car sound liek a champ. 3-way upfront with 8" midbass, 'hidden' CD player, Pro-audio prcessors, lots of amps and 3 modified L7's with water cooling.

for SQ, only 1 L7 played but for SPL, 3 of them played....

Basically, the whoel dashboard was redone, all the wiring upgraded and the car is driven for shows only...

yong
my box is design to play low bass as it was tuned at 33hz. to make thumping bass your box will be tuned to 50 - 60hz or you can tuned it from your xover.
and my 2 cvr is in a single ported box 4.5 cu. ft. planning to do 6 cu. ft bot no more space left.

then get 2 shiva and wire it in series to get 4 ohm or get 3 shiva for 2 ohm load. that will blow your hair away.

Originally posted by appleyard@Jan 25 2005, 20:42
yong
my box is design to play low bass as it was tuned at 33hz. to make thumping bass your box will be tuned to 50 - 60hz or you can tuned it from your xover.
and my 2 cvr is in a single ported box 4.5 cu. ft. planning to do 6 cu. ft bot no more space left.

then get 2 shiva and wire it in series to get 4 ohm or get 3 shiva for 2 ohm load. that will blow your hair away.
appleyard, to go for real low bass, I used a 1.4cu.ft. sealed box with 0.55lbs of polyfill and switch off the subsonic filter in my sub amp.
So far, the result has been encouraging.
If you can, try to get hold of the latest test CD from Chesky called Dr. Chesky-test disc for 5.1 Surround Sound.
Tracks 30, 32, 34 and 36 will give you recordings of heart beats in 50, 40, 30 and 20 Hz respectively.
I still can hear the 20 Hz from my driver seat.

Originally posted by pisces+Jan 25 2005, 21:49 -->
QUOTE (pisces @ Jan 25 2005, 21:49 )
--QuoteBegin-appleyard
@Jan 25 2005, 20:42
yong

appleyard, to go for real low bass, I used a 1.4cu.ft. sealed box with 0.55lbs of polyfill and switch off the subsonic filter in my sub amp.
So far, the result has been encouraging.
If you can, try to get hold of the latestet test CD from Chesky called Dr. Chesky-test disc for 5.1 Surround Sound.
Tracks 30, 32, 34 and 36 will give you recordings of heart beats in 50, 40, 30 and 20 Hz respectively.
I still can hear the 20 Hz from my driver seat. [/b][/quote]
fuiyoo...unker soong...too 'chim' edi...dun understand...ahhahahaha :D
any luck 4 me 2 find techno wit 5.1 surrund? :P :P joking joking :P

appleyard...
buy 2 means=$$$x2...
where got so much money...hehehhe
6 cu.ft??? :o ...if onli i have so much of boot space....
easy way 2 get loud bass...nonit 2 feed so much of power also... :D

2 shiva's will be 2 ohms as each Shiva is a DVC 8 ohm sub....

3 Shiva's will be 1.33 ohms.. or was it 2.33? forgot liao.

pisces
i used to tuned my box to 30hz but i dont really like it. and then it goes to 35 and now its 33 hz. sealed box can get low bass and good response to transient. but ported can sound good to, but it need a right box to do it. the reason i go for ported because i want loudness and low.

currently my box is designed to play low bass, when play some hard techno bass its like banging on an empty can. :(

sorry not familiar with chesky. currently looking for some songs who play really low bass to tune my subs. all i have is some hip hop song.

know any cd that have this?

Originally posted by appleyard@Jan 26 2005, 23:01
pisces
i used to tuned my box to 30hz but i dont really like it. and then it goes to 35 and now its 33 hz. sealed box can get low bass and good response to transient. but ported can sound good to, but it need a right box to do it. the reason i go for ported because i want loudness and low.

currently my box is designed to play low bass, when play some hard techno bass its like banging on an empty can. :(

sorry not familiar with chesky. currently looking for some songs who play really low bass to tune my subs. all i have is some hip hop song.

know any cd that have this?
tats y i like hard hitting thumping bass....
coz i listen 2 a lot of techno songs....

but urs loud n low i think very nice n suitable 4 RnB songs...coz normally lots of low bass....

appleyard, James of Action Valley CD shop is arranging to send some Chesky CDs to Charles and Davinci in KK.
Perhaps you can contact him to send the Dr. Chesky CD to you as well.
There's a lot of bass tracks there to help you to check your bass.
His contact: 012-2961229.