newbie seeking for help..blur liao

jauw

hello all my sifus,i would like to ask for some guides regarding my ice system...my hu is pionner deh8650,mid is mb quart compponent set,sub is kicker solobaric L5.

1.should i use elec x over or pre amp for my spec??cause i heard that elec x over is for spl and pre amp is for sq but my mid is mb quart more to sq and sub is kicker more to spl so i dont know what to do.

2.please reccomand mono block amp for my 600w 1200w peak kicker solobaric L5 sub budget around rm700++ and i need 2 of the same amp for the pair of sub.please pm me if any user are selling(i dont mind 2nd hand).

3.http://www.magnat.de/content/carhif...1716&pl=5&s=104
is this amp powerfull enough to pump up the kicker sub cause the sub is 600w and 1200w peak power?is this thing really good ??

4.can i use a 4 channel amp to pump up 8 mid running at 4 ohm?

5.i heard ppl saying some hu have the same function as elec x over or pre amp and it produce better sound quality but the hu must have the special function is this true?does my hu come with this fuction?and if it does so i no to use the elec x over or pre amp?

6.what is the different between 2 ohm and 4 ohm?does they produce the same sound quality?or does 4 ohm produce better sound?

please help me with those stuff sifus im already very blur..

1. using a pre-amp got nothing to do with spl or sq setup.. whoever said that, its crap..
8650 has built in x-over functions, u can utilise it without installing an external x-over.. it has 2 setup ie network or standard, both setup can utilise the built in x-over..

with proper tuning, the so called spl sub can produce sq stuffs, although some would argue "this brand is for sq, that brand is for spl".. low pass filter w/ slope selection functions can improve sq

2. a decent monoblock amp does not come cheap..

3. although the rms wattage could be used as a guide when choosing amp, it should not be the only criteria.. practically, how often the sub hits max of 1200w? can't comment on magnat product cause the link does not work on my PC now.. :biggrin:

4. 4-channel amp to power 8 mids? gotta look at amp specs.. the amp better be stable at 2 ohm at least assuming 1 pair of mids for 1 channel.. or do u mean 8 incher midbass?

5. yes.. it does.. use it!!! safe the $$$ for something else... however, if u have the $$$, feel free to add an external x-over

6. 2 ohm or 4 ohm refers to impedance only.. its electronics jargons, not terms of reference for sq ..

the above is my personal opinion only, based on limited experience.. cause i'm no sifu, pls don't take every word i said as 100% error free :cool:

1. pre-amp usage is crap in both spl or sq unless u're using a good pre-amp for sq (audiocontrol, helix, ppi) as actually it is most of the time is a parametric eq or in dash e-cross while e-cross is actually essential to get a good sq. If u're running on passive setup it is better to use the HU instead of external to be cost effective. Other than that if the amp has built in e-cross u can use it.

As matter of fact as pjam said, branding is not an issue unless u're a critical user of sq or spl. By proper tuning an SPL equipment can be used for sq but still the result might not be as good as using the right stuff.

2. Dunno but u can use only 1 monoblock class D for that purpose as most monoblocks are stable at least at 2 ohm. Since u have 2 subs, u can play around with the impedance to match the monoblock lowest impedance (I prefer higher impedance though :P)

3. Dunno about the capability. Huhu

4. How many 8" mid do you have. If only a pair, u can bridged it up to power each of the mid given the amp is bridged stable. If 2 pairs, u can either put in serial to make 8ohm for each chn bridged to run individually. Not recomended to run at 2ohm as i don't think the amp stable at 2ohm bridged.

5. Depends. HU built in pre-amp if far better than external pre-amp that we see in most acc shops.

6. Lower impedance will produce higher power at the price of higher distortion. As matter of fact in SQ it does have some effects. But sometimes it's still too low to be audible to some ppl.

Just dunno how many cents

Just my opinion aaaa...firstly just use 1 set comp (front) & 1pc sub...Other speaker sale it ...get money spend to monoblock & e/over....run in full active ...U still in SQ setup..solve your problem....... :smile:

well...thanks all the sifus for helping me and please forgive me if i ask stupid questions cause i fell that im so stupid about ice.

1.so this mean i dont need a elec x over or a pre amp rite??

2.can u guys intro some amp for me?if i need to buy a mono amp what is the spec should i look at?how many watts and rms should i take??

3.what is the differences between parallel wiring and serires wiring??in my sub booklet written there if parallel wiring dual 4ohm=2 ohm load and serires wiring dual 4ohm=8ohm load whats the different and does it effect the sound coming out??which is better??

4.i mean 6pcs of 6.5mid and 2pcs of 4 inch mid all running using a piece of 4 channel amp.is this possible?or i need another 4 channel amp for it and devide it into 4 mid 1 amp??i plan to run 1 pair on 1 channel so im worry also..

Your 8650 got 3 pre-out: front, rear and sub. Want to save money then make full use of all the pre-out from the HU since you have a 4 channel amp. If you scare your woofer's bass not deep enough (assume that your woofer's amp is 2 channel), then buy a low pass filter coil (3.3 rating) to make the bass deeper. A so-called good e-crossover will cost you minimum of 300, but if use it for your woofer only, is a big waste, this coil only cost 80-100. Atleast with this method you no nned to buy a crossover or a monoblock amp. Now is very seldom hear of people that still using this coils for woofer, sure people will lough at you. Anyway I also using it now. Not bad the effect I will say.

u can just use one monoblock amp for both subs, no need to buy 2.
assuming your sub is dvc 4 ohms, when wiring 2 units it will give u either 1 ohm or 4 ohm, so look for a monoblock amp stable down to 1 ohm. calvinhpk has a 2nd hand orion amp suitable for this.

using a single 4ch amp for 8 speakers is only possible if the amp is stable down to 2 ohm in stereo. even then it is unsuitable as 2 of the 8 speakers is smaller size (4"). unless the amp has its own inbuilt bandpass crossover. coincidentally calvinhpk has an 8 ch amp with this capability also 2nd hand. u can use them with tweeters too.

assuming your sub is dvc 4 ohms, when wiring 2 units it will give u either 1 ohm or 4 ohm, so look for a monoblock amp stable down to 1 ohm.

ok but if i do this will it effect anything and wat is the difference between wiring up 1 ohm and 4 ohm??

... ohm is the measure of impedance ie. the lower the impedance, the higher the electric flow..
so logically, if 2 subs are connected to 1 monoblock, more electric flows are needed because u r powering 2 subs with 1 amp, that explains the lower impedance..
if u r referring to the effect on sq.. it depends on the amp's & sub's specs.. eg. for a sub with higher handling capacity, powering it with lower rms output amp may not fully utilise the sub's capability..

simple example is like this. if using a monoblock amp giving 250W @ 4ohm, it will give 500W @ 2 ohm and then 1000W @ 1 ohm. in your case the 1000W will be divided to 2 subs, so each gets 500W.

running it at 1ohm will give more power than 4 ohm as u can see but it will tax your car's electrical power a bit. may need some upgrades regarding battery or alternator and have to add a 1F cap at least.

Should we check the sub sensitivity/efficiency ?...I tot sub/speaker with more sensitivity not need more power...let say the sub need 500Wrms max...if the sub sensivity around 88db...it is true...

ok ok good answer thanks very much...
so bascly this mean 4ohm and 1 ohm same la but 1 ohm drains more power so i need capacitor and stuff rite??
what is the differences between parallel wiring and serires wiring??
if i wanna make an enclosure for my pair of sub what kind of enclosure and size would sifu reccomand??
is those sort of fibre box good??cause it look cool but dono the sound will be nice or not?or stick to those old school wodden black box?

jauw
which part of Sabah are you? Maybe you can look at the prokick dg600 or dg1200 (slightly over your budget). But if i were you i would keep the money and save up for a good amp.

you have a good HU a good comp MBQ (what series??) and L5 but paired it with a cheap amp wont do justice. Those L5 can take abuse so get an amp around 800 - 1000w rms should give you clean power to your sub.

Your sub is 12L5 or 15L5??

appleyard
im in kk and ill be more then happy to take a look at yr amp the price can settle behind.any commad about the magnat amp??http://www.magnat.de/content/carhifi/product_detail_en.asp?p=111716&pl=5&s=104

i plan to get 1 mono block for i thought of getting it but dono is it good stuff or not.in kk cant get so much good stuff not like kl and here super expensive cause today i saw a sony mono 2000w amp selling for 2k ++ in those shop and those amp throw there like those lelong stuff and not sure is it original or not.

we can come meet up and u can teach me more and be my sifu if yr in the same area lol...cause me still new.
my mb quart is dsd216 lower end series lan ci the la no money buy higher end haha..
my sub is 12 L5 15 L5 cost too much already and im not going for competiton also syok sendiri enough already la.