wiring dual 4ohm sub with amp

jauw

hi all sifus,

well im just confused that what is the diffrences between dual 4ohm sub with normal sub cause as i can see from dual 4 ohm subs there witll be 4 conector terminals while for the normal sups there is only 2?

what is the differences between series and parallel wiring?what is the effect to the sound and the power?

if my amp runs on 300w rms on 4 ohm and 600w rms on 2ohm, my sup is 600w rms but its dual 4ohm can it be possible to fit the amp to the sup or is it under power?

thanks hope u all can help me out here im really a noob over here..

your got most of it right...

normal sub (single voice coil) has 1 pair of terminals (+ve and -ve)
dvc sub (dual voice coil) has 2 pairs of terminals (2+ve, 2-ve)

assuming these are dvc 4 ohm subs (4 + 4) if u wire the two voicecoils in parallel u will get 2 ohm, if u wire them in series u will get 8 ohm

in theory, if an amp is rated 300W at 4ohm, when u present it with a load of 2ohm it will give out 600W, and vice versa if load is 8ohm power will be 150W only.

so equipment wise u got no problem, just wire the subs in parallel to get 2ohm load, and your amp will give u 600W ngam-ngam match the sub's rms rating.

thanks for the help..but if like that will the amp cut or is there any power shortage??is there any effect to the sound?

if like u said dual voicecoil has 4 terminal but i have a old denon sub is single voice coil but there is also 4 terminal in it..is there any thing like that??

can you take a picture of the terminals? i guess there is but then its only to give you a different size of the connector used while its still a SVC sub... but i might be wrong though...

anyway... you can look for clues by looking at how many wires are there towards the voice coil... a DVC should have 2 pairs going into the VC...

cheers...

thanks for the help..but if like that will the amp cut or is there any power shortage??is there any effect to the sound?

if like u said dual voicecoil has 4 terminal but i have a old denon sub is single voice coil but there is also 4 terminal in it..is there any thing like that??

the amp wont cut if the manufacturer has stated that it is stable to 2ohm mono. effect to sound - better sub basss since power is double.

not sure about the denon sub, i think it is svc with 2 diff types of terminals leading to just 1 voicecoil.