amp rms needed for 2 subs?

hi all, i`m newbie here. would appreciate much if u guys can help me here.

i got 2 units of jbl GT3-12 subwoofers (12inch 4 ohms, single voice
coils, power handling 225rms per piece)

i intend to get a 2-channel amp.

i read somewhere there r 2 ways to wire the subs.
1) parellel to get 4 ohm stable
2) serial to get down to 2 ohm stable

if i were to do option (1), how many rms power of amp i need?
and if i were to do option (2), how many rms power of amp i need?

above all, i actually just intend to do option 1, but would appreciate if
any sifus here can give further advise.
thanks all.

parallel u get 2ohms, series u get 8 ohms.

so if u want to run them in bridge mono, it has to be in parallel. look for a monoblock or 2ch bridgable amp stable down to 2ohm in mono mode. make sure the power output will be more than 500W at 2ohm, since they have to be divided by 2 (250W per sub). if somehow u can find a 2 x 225 to 300W amp then u can run them in stereo 4ohm non bridged.

the best is you can parallel them to 2 ohm and get the JBL 600.1 and slam them

sorry guys, but wat if i bridge to 2 ohms but the spec of the amp is not stable to 2 ohm. wat would be the effect?

[H][H] said:
sorry guys, but wat if i bridge to 2 ohms but the spec of the amp is not stable to 2 ohm. wat would be the effect?

if your amp is not stable at 2ohm and you run at 2ohm, it would become hot very fast and shutdown frequently, at last, your amp kaput

if you amp is not stable in 2 ohm mono or you feel that 4 ohm stereo is not enough, try to increase efficientcy of the subs by makinb the enclosure ported and larger. Increase efficientcy will lower power handling.

bought it for quite some time already. dunno a few years back, around rm600 per piece.
i've tried looking at the subs manual and also search the net but couldn't find whether is it svc or dvc.
in the end, i just assume its 4 ohm sub and i went and get an amp, but 4 channel. and i bridged them down to 2 channel.
making it to produce 300rms @ 4-ohm per channel.

if there are 2 pairs of +ve and -ve terminals on the sub then it is a DVC sub. if theres only one pair (just like your mids & tweets) then its is SVC.

http://www.jbl.com/car/products/product_detail.aspx?prod=GT3-12/230&CheckProduct=Y

if this is your sub then its a SVC 4 ohm sub. since u have 2 units u need a 2ch amp that can be bridged mono to give around 500-600W at 2ohm stable. if not get a 2 x 250-300W amp to run them stereo at 4ohm.

oh....so tats how u see whether is it dvc or svc. then confirm its svc. thanks for the info.
anyway, like i said i already bought an amp which gives 2 x 300rms stereo at 4 ohms. its more than what the subs need (225rms power handling).
happy cny.