Need help with AMP..

jauw

Nov 17, 2005
Hi all bros and sis.

I got a problem here i wanna install my sub kicker solobaric L5 and i have 2 units of it.It is dual 4ohm and its 600 rms each.

The amp i have is also kicker model KX600.1.I know the amp is stable at 2ohm and runs 600rms on it.

Is it possible to do it on 1 ohm?
Is it stable and what is the side effect of it?
How to i know how much ohm the installer wire it down?
Any forumers try doing this before or has the same spec as me?
1 of the pic there writen max power output is 730 watts, what this mean?

Hope u all can help me cause im really lost...thanks in advance.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
with 2 units dvc 4 ohm subs your options are, to wire them up series/parallel to get 4ohm, or parallel/parallel to get 1ohm. click link below for help:
JL Audio

however your amp can only do 2ohm maximum only, with just 690W. it is unstable at 1ohm, and if u try it, u might fry the amp. u can check the amp specs here:
http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geu8pWM...manuals/02KX400_600_1200_1AmplifierManual.pdf

if u run it at 4ohm it will be safe, but the subs will be underpowered since they are rated at 600W. so if your amp only gives out 600W at 4ohm, then each sub only gets 300W, since u have 2 units.

they are safe to use, wont be as loud, but can be compensated with a very large box to increase efficiency of the sub.

the 730W is just its peak power, your continuous power is 600W at 4ohm and 690 at 2ohm

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005
Taiko zenn, you blur blur lah!!:biggrin:
The amp is rated at 300W RMS at 4 ohm, 600W RMS at 2 ohm @13.8V and 690W RMS at 2 ohm @ 14.4V.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
aisehmen, ya ka? hehe.....sorila, sudah tua......

laikdet if he play 4ohm kenot la, each sub gets 150W only, hehe..

play 1ohm osso kenot, amp not stable...

so either u get rid of one sub, then connect single sub at 2ohm, u get 600W

or u sell the amp and buy one that can do 1200W at 4ohm or 1ohm

Want to sell my car already. Hence, want to restore the outer look back to stock. Anyone knows how much would it cost to remove my side skirt (evo3 fibre with cement/ rivot)? ?Don't want to spend too much on these restoration. Thanks.