HU which crossover? elec. crossover or Amp with crossover

HL Milk

HU with crossover? elec. crossover or Amp with crossover

hi all,

i'm newbie with this Q. please so help. which one is better? cause currently my amp that use to blast my front component set is without crossover (so the component very noisy) :frown: . which one should i choose? in my mind is elec. crossover cause i can run active with that :rolleyes: . But is i change the HU with crossover and and bigger preout then will be better (but costly). last is change to better amp with crossover (cause my amp is chap ayam brand) :biggrin: . hihihi........ all zthian pls advise. thanks.

HU with XO / EQ built in.
* No extra unit means less point of failure.
* Need extra long-long RCAs means more-more moolahs along.
* Big preouts means need good amp coz not all amps can take the big preouts.

Passive XO
* Need to know your speakers bla bla bla or else not ngam also will get same or even worst result.
* Cheap.

Active XO
* Not cheap.
* Not hard to reach.
* Flexible to fine tuning.

Amp with XO
* No comment... :tongue:

IMO I'd be going for new HU even though I have to gamble with its preout to my amp coz just like you I'm having cap itik brand... :wink:

HL Milk said:
hi all,

i'm newbie with this Q. please so help. which one is better? cause currently my amp that use to blast my front component set is without crossover (so the component very noisy) :frown: . which one should i choose? in my mind is elec. crossover cause i can run active with that :rolleyes: . But is i change the HU with crossover and and bigger preout then will be better (but costly). last is change to better amp with crossover (cause my amp is chap ayam brand) :biggrin: . hihihi........ all zthian pls advise. thanks.

I thought normally component set have their own passive crossover?

cacin said:
I thought normally component set have their own passive crossover?

u still need crossover to high pass the comp set.
btw, where r u cacin? long time no c... no contact me?

boeytan said:
u still need crossover to high pass the comp set.
btw, where r u cacin? long time no c... no contact me?

Why would need to highpass the comp set? I thought can connect directly to HU because the comp set already comes with it's own passive crossover.

Still around la... just no money to contact you to buy your stuff maa.... :D

.. if the component is used with passives, there'll be built in highpass for tweeters as well as low pass for midbass.. if use x-over from HU or amp, the passives can be discarded :cool:

yes sure the comp. set got the passive crossover. but lets specified it. let say i wanna make more clear sound for my woofer leh? have to low-pass it rite? then for front comp. we need to high pass it to reduce the low frequency rite? am i ngam boh? sound confuse also. anyone help?

sorry a little bit out of topic. hey got any used HU boh? price range at +-RM800. hey boeytan. ho seh boh? long time no see. is your tread i thought u will held a mini TT at autocity rite? finish liao boh? still got chance to audit other ICER in pg?

HL Milk said:
sorry a little bit out of topic. hey got any used HU boh? price range at +-RM800. hey boeytan. ho seh boh? long time no see. is your tread i thought u will held a mini TT at autocity rite? finish liao boh? still got chance to audit other ICER in pg?

aiya i just arrange a tt with Singapore champion ice car from KL. u can check it out at Icarworld or hypertune, i myself also "siong cheh" kena poison kao kao... hahaha....
no 1 reply to the DIY thread lah... i thought no 1 interested in.

boeytan said:
aiya i just arrange a tt with Singapore champion ice car from KL. u can check it out at Icarworld or hypertune, i myself also "siong cheh" kena poison kao kao... hahaha....
no 1 reply to the DIY thread lah... i thought no 1 interested in.

peng yiu nowaday DIY not so hot liao compare like previously. hai........ dunno why loh. maybe ppl become more lazy or maybe all rich liao. so not DIY some more liao. me too the lazy one not the rich one. hihihi :biggrin: when is the tt leh?

HL Milk said:
peng yiu nowaday DIY not so hot liao compare like previously. hai........ dunno why loh. maybe ppl become more lazy or maybe all rich liao. so not DIY some more liao. me too the lazy one not the rich one. hihihi :biggrin: when is the tt leh?

tt already over, will arrange another for DIY 1.

DJThoRmented said:
HU with XO / EQ built in.
* No extra unit means less point of failure.
* Need extra long-long RCAs means more-more moolahs along.* Big preouts means need good amp coz not all amps can take the big preouts.

Passive XO
* Need to know your speakers bla bla bla or else not ngam also will get same or even worst result.
* Cheap.

Active XO
* Not cheap.
* Not hard to reach.
* Flexible to fine tuning.

Amp with XO
* No comment... :tongue:

IMO I'd be going for new HU even though I have to gamble with its preout to my amp coz just like you I'm having cap itik brand... :wink:

sorry bro. wat means of moolah? if HU have bigger preout but still wanna using the cap itik amp leh? will cause damage of HU or amp or both? sorry stupid Q. just to be clear mah. thanks.

HL Milk said:
yes sure the comp. set got the passive crossover. but lets specified it. let say i wanna make more clear sound for my woofer leh? have to low-pass it rite? then for front comp. we need to high pass it to reduce the low frequency rite? am i ngam boh? sound confuse also. anyone help?

Your woofer is from the comp set of another woofer? If coming from the comp set, I belive the manufacturer's passive x-over should be able to do the job. Can you please define clear sound? Do you mean more BASS?

.. clear sound can be 'clear treble?' .. 'precise bass?' .. etc
for the comp set, high pass for tweeters, low pass is for midbass's woofer..
r u using subwoofer? if u meant the sub's woofer, then definitely have to low pass, either with an amp or HU's x-over, at least different brands of HU have different pre-outs but the preouts assume max volume.. even with 8v preouts, it does not mean 8v all the time unless u crank up the volume up high & yer ear drums are super elastic & unbreakable :biggrin: ..
some pioneer HU comes with max 6.5v preout, on average the output may be 2-4v only..
improper matching of preouts and amp's gain may result in speaker or amp clipping.. speakers/ amp can be damaged.. so, for lousy amp with lesser protection capability, it'll damage easily.. :cool:

HL Milk said:

youre right, need highpass from amp before the passive to give cleaner sound from the mids. if youre amps dont have HP/LP better get an electronic crossover, unless youre planning to change HU to the one with built in xover la. dont worry can still use with cap ayam or itik amps as long as the gains are matched.

cacin said:
Your woofer is from the comp set of another woofer? If coming from the comp set, I belive the manufacturer's passive x-over should be able to do the job. Can you please define clear sound? Do you mean more BASS?

sorry that my english not so well. confuse everyone here. i got single woofer, front component set, 2 amp, and one pre-amp. wat i mean by clear sound from woofer and midbass or even tweeter?

i'm sure that everyone will know that woofer is produce 100% bass rite? so there will have 0% singer sound (vocal). rite? so how to filter the vocal sound? So our woofer can produce much solid bass. without noise (lup lupp lupp) hokkien say: ji liap ji liap one lah.

as mid-bass as well play all middle sound, and tweeter play all high sound.

as conclusion, all speaker, woofer, tweeter or wat ever that can produce sound one lah will play or do their own job (dun kacau or keh-poh other ppl job). hope that everyone here clear and help.