Which comes 1st?

sentinal3_16

I want to DIY my audio system.Which comes 1st?

1.Hu-Amp-Crossover-speaker

or

2.Hu-Crossover-Amp-Speaker

I have just bought a 2nd 3 way active Hollywood crossover.If i use a cap ayam amp,would it better if the amp comes 1st before the crossover?

Thanks Sifus.

Friend, please check your amp first, is 2 channel or 4 channel. Then what setup do you want, is 1 amp for midbass and 1 amp for woofer?
If you only want to use a 2 channel amp for midbass only, then the crossover serve no propose already.

Im not using any amps at all for the moment.

My current setup:
1)Dashboard:1 pair of tweeter
2)Front door:1 pair 5' mid(with tweeter)
3)Rear door:1 pair 4' mid
4)Behind:1 pair 6.5' mid

I just want to separate the signals so that the speakers/tweeters will do a better job.

Planning to buy a sub and an amp.

Anyway what is your car? Is rare that rear door also got speakers.
Some questions that I need to know :
What is your HU?
What is the rating of the speakers in watt RMS?
How much you want to spend for your setup?

Hu - crossover - amps.

the crossover will split the signal from your HU to your amps so u can operate them as front, rear and sub, or high, mid, low....depending on crossover type.

Zenn said:
Hu - crossover - amps.

the crossover will split the signal from your HU to your amps so u can operate them as front, rear and sub, or high, mid, low....depending on crossover type.

Only the weakness is it have to set from bottom of seat, not like pre-amp, can set anytime we want.

Im using Peugeot 405SRi which at default have speaker component at rear door.Im using Kenwood 45rms*4 forgot(cant remember the model)

Rating speaker:
Tweeter:245rms(not sure if this is true;friend bought from USA)
front door speaker(came with car boss 5'):30rms
rear door speaker(kickers 4'):30rms
Behind speaker(Anaconda 6.5'):300watts(not sure the rms)

All i spend around rm300.So far i think HU doing an OK job.I can put as loud as i want to hear until my mum starts scolding me.

If the crossover can do a good job,wont a cap ayam amplifier spoilt its quality.Example;more noise in sound?

Im bought is tight since parents dont let me use money on audio.Curi-curi beli one-one item so that they dont suspect much.

sentinal3_16 said:

or

I have just bought a 2nd 3 way active Hollywood crossover.If i use a cap ayam amp,would it better if the amp comes 1st before the crossover?

Thanks Sifus.

Since you are using an active crossover, the 2nd option is the one that you should use. Reason is, the output from an active x-over is RCA right? You would normally use an active x-over when you have multi amp setup.

Like that, this is your family car? Anyway the best you let me know your player model. If you are not planning to install a sub and the player have 2 pre-out, I think better you buy a 4 channel amp, then let the player control the fader. You can save more money like this on the RCA cables and wiring.

sentinal3_16 said:

or

Thanks Sifus.

that crossocer should come before the amp, unless you are referring to an internal crossover form the amp.