BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

alamak...
need to cut again if yes...lol
already took a large chunk outa my bumper..

if turbo... just open ur hood.. rev the car .. then listen to the turbo izzit making weird noise... ^.^

alamak...
need to cut again if yes...lol
already took a large chunk outa my bumper..

No need cut la.... Just open remove the bumper. tighten the i/c piping mount. selit some superlon on the contact place. Should reduce noise dramatically.

Contacted him and he told me something about emanage has more mapping point as compared to interceptor?
Also said that reason for using 1000cc injector is to limit the opening of the other 4 injectors so tht all of them will be runnin abt 40% and not getin stressed out hence longer lifespan.
Also according to him, spooling should start around 1.8k as he has customised the turbine. The housing is left as it is and if i wna refurbish it need xtra $$$. rofl.
Told him my spool starts around 2.8-3k and he say might be due to ic piping leaking somewhere hence the lag. Can rectify foc, just go back to the shop where its done.

Any comment guys?
And if really IC piping leaking, at least proves that the workmanship is really shitty as i mentioned earlier. :rofl:

Guys,
Need some advice.
Just bolted on and am running without management.
Using a recond td04 and no idea whts my boost but i was told its around 0.3-0.4 at most (claims that the ecu will not let it go beyond that) so its an auto cut off if that happens.

Thing is, i dont fancy the installer because he tends to over-charge me ALOT and from what i see, the bolt on thats done on my car could be done wayyyyy cheaper. Workmanship? In my own words, i would say meh..below standard.

I even doubt the promised samco silicon joints. Gona double check on it later.
Slammed in a Jasma IC and told me its custom made piping. Even the piping is not done according to my car as its abit high up my bumper. Somewhat, i would say, short?

K nvm, done with the QQ for now.
My prob is here, he told me i should use e-manage blue at least and tells me he would kawtim everything at a reputable shop at sunway with all the harness n dyno tune etc and also a 1000cc injector @ rm3k+.
My question here is, is it safe to omit the management system for now?

I tried boostin alil and i got fuel cut at around 3.5k onwards mostly around 4k.
Its liek, spools, then jerks alil at 3-4k, spools again all the way smoothly. Did not go beyond 5.5k rpm cuz afraid might be not enough fuel. Does this means i need bigger injector (1000cc is crazy) or simply a walbro fuel pump suffices?

Hope sifus can help me clear some doubts on this.

hi bro,

i already checked with the person that you bought the turbo kit, he says that all his turbo kits comes with the TD04 never TD05, and he says the reconditioned turbo is the turbo itself and not the housing, and the 1000 cc injector are set by GT Auto (the tuners). 1000cc is only 1 piece and not 4 pcs bro, so its just 250cc per combustion chamber, and its safer to use 1000cc as u wud not fully utilize the injector's duty cycle which in return ensures longer lasting injector life..
And he told me you immediately rush to take the car after finish the piping without him having the chance to check it out first. Obviously you cannot drive your car normally, as you requested your car to be fixed without management (due to budget constraint on your side). The original ECU running under OBD2 system will definitely cut the ignition as soon as the original map sensor detects 0.25 bar boost. This is actually to save guard your engine. When you fix the management, all these limitations from the ECU will be uplifted and proper fueling and ignition timing will be done. So.. bro, please check your facts before making such acquisitions. He also told me ur are complaining abt ur engine mountings and engine leakage at the rocker cover before u bolt on with him, the squeeking sound cud be the new turbo pipings hitting the car body as the engine mounting now permits more freepkay than it shud..
Hope these explanations helps.. Ignorance is sometimes a bliss, but more at times makes you see things the wrong way..

Lol yes bro, im drivin that gen2. Always see ur car around too :biggrin:. Shy la to say hi..hahaha

And bro Chang, i definitely will go to GT too but im just afraid its not so nice to go behind him.
Would you believe me if i say i only saw him(the installer) twice and he never really explain much to me about anything? Be it the things im getin till whats the pros n cons.
Like i mentioned earlier, i might be an isolated case. He was on holiday and didnt monitor. i dont know.

Just checked the turbo today and it seems liek its a single fin td04l which i dont even know if it has been recond or not. Seems liek just took our from some warned out pajero and plonk in. :rofl:
Believe me if i post the pic of that turbine here, u will go WTF. Look really really horrible.
I dont even wna mentioned the amount of new scratches found on my fender. 100% is caused by rings on their finger. sigh...
Because my battery was relocated, those wires are..really messy now. They really either did it half hearted or no heart at all.. and the installer was tellin me "dont worry i sure kawtim leng leng for u, i also got reputation 2 jaga blablabla".

And bro, to be very honest, i myself as a layman can see that the pipings are cincai done. Went for second and third opinion and all say the say. The flaws are really really obvious to the naked eye. Lol how sad. Even i show to my friends who are not mechs also went WTF why so uglyyyyyyyy.

What my mech friend say is true, Turbo should be either the final or middle stage after some NA mods, not the 1st stage. End up i still have to get all the NA stuff liek Fuel pump, regulater, injector etc. Goin bone stock on turbo is jst plain crazy.

One thing is my mech friend sux, he say dont feel like touchin my car now (as thou he has to clean up a mess). Dont blame him thou, its really bad. The only reason i went to this fella for the BOT is because he has done alot on campro so i thought standard is definitely there and hassle free. Mana tau..lol.

I think now gota end up with no boostin and save for a haltech + fuel pump + regulator + injector + etc2. I think total cost will be same as plonkin in a GSR..lol

Oh and bro Chang, thanks for the good thoughts..lol.

wat is the price for everything?

First of, im never here to tarnish his reputation else i wud've created a special thread dedicated to that. The seller is indeed a great person with a great product, no question to that. The thing that i disagree is the piping work done by his installer and the turbine part.
Like all here, im here to share my experience in boltin on.
He has contacted me and came to a conclusion that its a misunderstandin on the turbine side. The housing part was never mentioned in any way at start so i was shocked when i first saw it. He has now explained to me and i accept the reason.
Kindly refer back to my previous post that i clearly mention i might be an isolated case because all of his customers are happy with their bolt on.

Second of all, im not a beggar and i did not beg for the promotion price. I already told him straight off that ive committed to other thing and am short of cash at tht very moment and he is the one that contacted me again and told me i could bank in a certain amount of deposit 1st and he would stretch the promotional period for me.
Ive also asked him and he has told me that running without management is safe and so up till now i have no complain or anything on the drivability of the car after bolting on. I know this is the consequence of going without a management. I am however just curious on what other options i have if i were to ommitted the management. I was merely asking questions here and trying to learn more. U cant possibly expect me to go to him and only him for every questions am i right? Never have anyone told me that the injector part was going to be that way and its decided by GT.
And yes bro Speed n Stupiddog, i know 1000cc is crazy. Im not so sure if by what he ment 1000cc refers to 250 x 4 ? No idea. Anyone here has any idea whats the stock injector cc for gen2? Sidefeed/topfeed etc? Might try with mayb 4g93 if it fits. I think i heard somewhere there's liek just one 1000cc main injector or something like that? anyone can clarify?

Regarding the rushing issue, please, the 1st week, some minor accident happened to his installer, delayed 1 week. Accidents happens so its ok. 2nd week, told me if send in on Sunday, can get back by thursday or friday as ive already paid fully in advance the week before and all the parts are ready. Due to outsourcing, the installer of his had official work commitment, i dont wna rush. Ask when and was told tuesday, ok, tuesday called, said to be safe collect it on wednesday. Ill leave this just here. To justify if needed, i have to drive my gf to shah alam to work and then myself back 2 sunway to work. And my worktime starts at 8.30, imagine the horror on my side.

Again i will emphasize, the product is great, the seller is great, very informative but due to sometimes the restriction of "trade secret", i cant help but to ask questions. I understand that part and i dont blame him at all. Im at not any time trying to badmouth him.
I would not tarnish his rep here cause i feel that my case might be a isolated one as he was on holiday and did not have time to "monitor" the progress of my car so its quite unfair for him. He also wna cari makan only. Also on his forum, it seems liek everyone's happy about everything so yeah. Also reason being, he will not be here to defend himself if i badmouth him here so i shall refrain from doing so.

Honestly, if any of my friends want to bolt on their car,and gen2 in particular, i would definitely still recommend him. I truly believe that im an isolated case and he is like a very dear friend of mine, i do wish his business would grow. The only problem is the shoddy work done by his installer for my IC piping etc. Else, everything is great.

To summarize, i would say this is all a misunderstandin on our part, no use pointing fingers now. We have agree to talk over this and rectify whatever problems that will occur. My faith in him is still very much alive. :driver:

hmmm ok bro, its just a misunderstanding, i heard he **** up his installer abt ur car results.. since all the while was ok.. anyway thanks for straightening things out,,

Contacted him and he told me something about emanage has more mapping point as compared to interceptor?
Also said that reason for using 1000cc injector is to limit the opening of the other 4 injectors so tht all of them will be runnin abt 40% and not getin stressed out hence longer lifespan.
Also according to him, spooling should start around 1.8k as he has customised the turbine. The housing is left as it is and if i wna refurbish it need xtra $$$. rofl.
Told him my spool starts around 2.8-3k and he say might be due to ic piping leaking somewhere hence the lag. Can rectify foc, just go back to the shop where its done.

Any comment guys?
And if really IC piping leaking, at least proves that the workmanship is really shitty as i mentioned earlier. :rofl:

Well, calculation is easy. Rule of thumb. Just compare...

Take GSR as an example.

4G93T
CR: 8.5
Stock boost on a TD04L: 0.7bar

Then, compare with 4G93
CR: 10

4G93 Having 210cc injectors X 4 = 840cc
4G93T having 390cc injectors X 4 = 1560cc boosting at 0.7 bar... Tried and still sufficient up to 0.9bar.

(1560-840)/840 X 100% = 85.7% extra fueling.

Back to ur engine. Assuming similar to Mit/Proton 4G92 1597cc capacity.
4G92 having 182cc injectors X 4 = 728cc
IF.... u change ur piston to 8.5CR, then u'll be needing 85.7% extra more fuel to boost 0.7-0.9bar.

Then, 728cc + 85.7% = 1351.9cc

With stock pistons with higher CR, then U'll need more fuel instead. Say ur CR=10:1.
With another 17.65% extra CR, then u'll need another 17.64% more fuel.

1351.9cc + 17.65% = 1590cc

It's always wise to keep a Safety factor 0f 10%.
1590cc + 10% of 1351.9cc = 1725cc.

Comparing to your original injector supply, 728cc

1725cc - 728cc = 998cc.

So, certified that 1X1000cc injector is GOOD for ur installation. But bare in mind, Campro engine have some design problem on their conrods. When BOT will accelerate the wear out process. As u can read in the sticky.

If it's DR that u are refering to, I trusted his OLD MAN more than him... Miahahaha.... Good luck and happy boosting.

Turbo Expert Taiko:biggrin: I just bought T28 Ball Bearing from S15... Hmm.. the turbo actuator stock boost is 0.7bar... So...when I install & tune it...How do i reduce the boost ?? because I am aiming for 0.5 or 0.6 bar enough ...hope can help ya !! :marchmellow:
What I know is...
wastegate is .7BAR then that is the lowest it will go, you can raise boost but you cant lower it below the spring rate

Turbo Expert Taiko:biggrin: I just bought T28 Ball Bearing from S15... Hmm.. the turbo actuator stock boost is 0.7bar... So...when I install & tune it...How do i reduce the boost ?? because I am aiming for 0.5 or 0.6 bar enough ...hope can help ya !! :marchmellow:
What I know is...
wastegate is .7BAR then that is the lowest it will go, you can raise boost but you cant lower it below the spring rate

is your actuator adjustable?

same thing with actuator bro, either u get a different smaller actuator with weaker spring rate that gives you lower boost or get an external wastegate and change the springs to a softer like 0.3 bar and use boost controller to up the boost back to 0.5..

is your actuator adjustable?

no..the actuator is c/w the turbo ..stock original boost 0.7bar..

same thing with actuator bro, either u get a different smaller actuator with weaker spring rate that gives you lower boost or get an external wastegate and change the springs to a softer like 0.3 bar and use boost controller to up the boost back to 0.5..

you mean .. If I get a 38mm EXTERNAL WASTEGATE and change the soft spring which is 0.3bar and use boost controller (RM100) to control it ?? EXCELLENT ANSWER BRO !! :biggrin:
I will get a Tial Wastegate 38mm & soft spring soon ... (^_^)
EDITED :
If got Tial external wastegate then no need boost controller already right ? coz the soft spring is 0.5bar ?

you mean .. If I get a 38mm EXTERNAL WASTEGATE and change the soft spring which is 0.3bar and use boost controller (RM100) to control it ?? EXCELLENT ANSWER BRO !! :biggrin:
EDITED :
If got Tial external wastegate then no need boost controller already right ? coz the soft spring is 0.5bar ?

why so funny....

EDITED :

I dunno la but safer to get the 0.25 bar or 0.3 bar springs, because i many times encounter on my customer's car, if get the so called 0.5 bar sure the boost a bit more , example around 0.58 to 0.65 bar like that.. believe me, just get the 0.3 bar springs.. and get a boost controller.. u dun need to do double work and take out and switch springs anymore.. hehe.. :biggrin:

What I know is...

First f all, S15 have GT2560. Not GT28. Get it right. Alto of ppl mistaken it. Check out the GARRETT website. It says direct upgrade for Nissan engine.

OK, downboost.
cheap way of doing. Can DIY or call machine shop to do it. take out the actuator, cut the actuation rod into 2. tap both side with threads, and use a long nut to adjust the length. longer, reduce boost due to pre actuator downpipe opening. The concept is preopening the internal wastegate to reduce boost and tighten the wasetgate to increase boost.

Higher budget. go buy a actuator with 0.5bar.

Best way of doing. Buy and install external wastegate. Stock TIAL n TURBOSMART have a choice of 0.5bar spring. Not necessary to have boost controller.

---------- Post added at 11:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:52 AM ----------

I dunno la but safer to get the 0.25 bar or 0.3 bar springs, because i many times encounter on my customer's car, if get the so called 0.5 bar sure the boost a bit more , example around 0.58 to 0.65 bar like that.. believe me, just get the 0.3 bar springs.. and get a boost controller.. u dun need to do double work and take out and switch springs anymore.. hehe.. :biggrin:

That's because the spring sold in "some of the turbo" shop having non original wastegate spring. Those spring can be customized by spring manufacturer....

Well, anyway.... it's still a good option to get a lower springrate spring and upboost for more unforseen circumstances...

Best way of doing. Buy and install external wastegate. Stock TIAL n TURBOSMART have a choice of 0.5bar spring. Not necessary to have boost controller.

Ok ! Thanks Taiko !!!! I will get a Tial external wastegate 0.5 bar spring...
But.. If next future..I wanna up boost to 0.6 bar to 1bar ..How I gonna do ??
Install Greddy Profec B Boost controller ??
Because.. my turbo manifold is behind the engine... manual boost controller can't work it :(

once install the external wastegate.. is very hard to change the spring :(..
ok thanks bro !

Ok ! Thanks Taiko !!!! I will get a Tial external wastegate 0.5 bar spring...
But.. If next future..I wanna up boost to 0.6 bar to 1bar ..How I gonna do ??
Install Greddy Profec B Boost controller ??
Because.. my turbo manifold is behind the engine... manual boost controller can't work it :(

Can geh.... The intercooler piping got 1 flexible hose going to your wastegate ma... Put the MBC there. Lagi chunz, can pull the MBC into the car via firewall. Near only.

Out car damn 7 far one...

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:19 PM ----------

once install the external wastegate.. is very hard to change the spring :(..
ok thanks bro !

procedure not hard. but wanna compress the spring back into the wastegate spring housing damn 7 sienz only.