BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

Guys,
Need some advice.
Just bolted on and am running without management.
Using a recond td04 and no idea whts my boost but i was told its around 0.3-0.4 at most (claims that the ecu will not let it go beyond that) so its an auto cut off if that happens.

Thing is, i dont fancy the installer because he tends to over-charge me ALOT and from what i see, the bolt on thats done on my car could be done wayyyyy cheaper. Workmanship? In my own words, i would say meh..below standard.

I even doubt the promised samco silicon joints. Gona double check on it later.
Slammed in a Jasma IC and told me its custom made piping. Even the piping is not done according to my car as its abit high up my bumper. Somewhat, i would say, short?

K nvm, done with the QQ for now.
My prob is here, he told me i should use e-manage blue at least and tells me he would kawtim everything at a reputable shop at sunway with all the harness n dyno tune etc and also a 1000cc injector @ rm3k+.
My question here is, is it safe to omit the management system for now?

I tried boostin alil and i got fuel cut at around 3.5k onwards mostly around 4k.
Its liek, spools, then jerks alil at 3-4k, spools again all the way smoothly. Did not go beyond 5.5k rpm cuz afraid might be not enough fuel. Does this means i need bigger injector (1000cc is crazy) or simply a walbro fuel pump suffices?

Hope sifus can help me clear some doubts on this.

bro... pls state wat engine u using ...

wat the heck u need 1000cc injector for...? abit the too much .. hahahaha

Guys,
Need some advice.
Just bolted on and am running without management.
Using a recond td04 and no idea whts my boost but i was told its around 0.3-0.4 at most (claims that the ecu will not let it go beyond that) so its an auto cut off if that happens.

If it's TD04L u are talking about, then the stock boost is 0.6-0.7bar stock. howecer, there are an anjustable actualotor rod where u can tighten or loosen the internal wastegate flap to control the boost.

Thing is, i dont fancy the installer because he tends to over-charge me ALOT and from what i see, the bolt on thats done on my car could be done wayyyyy cheaper. Workmanship? In my own words, i would say meh..below standard.

I wonder who recommend u there, or why do you go there at the first place. Mind sharing the shop information.

I even doubt the promised samco silicon joints. Gona double check on it later.
Slammed in a Jasma IC and told me its custom made piping. Even the piping is not done according to my car as its abit high up my bumper. Somewhat, i would say, short?

Short is better for response. No prpblem with that.

K nvm, done with the QQ for now.
My prob is here, he told me i should use e-manage blue at least and tells me he would kawtim everything at a reputable shop at sunway with all the harness n dyno tune etc and also a 1000cc injector @ rm3k+.
My question here is, is it safe to omit the management system for now?

If your engine have not change internals like pistons, piston rings, bearings... Running in is not required. U can instal a piggyback. No harm.

I tried boostin alil and i got fuel cut at around 3.5k onwards mostly around 4k.
Its liek, spools, then jerks alil at 3-4k, spools again all the way smoothly. Did not go beyond 5.5k rpm cuz afraid might be not enough fuel. Does this means i need bigger injector (1000cc is crazy) or simply a walbro fuel pump suffices?

Hope sifus can help me clear some doubts on this.

I assume it's knocking. Knocking can be caused by insufficient fuel or ignition timing. So, bigger injectors are required do to insufficieent fuel. By either injectors, Insufficient supply from the fuel pump.

Adjustable Fuel pressure regulator and a higher capacit fuel pump are something good to have.Stock injectors definitely not ennough even if u are boosting at 0.5bar

bro damndamn, if im not mistaken your car is a gen2 turbo? :)

bro... pls state wat engine u using ...

wat the heck u need 1000cc injector for...? abit the too much .. hahahaha

GILA!!! 1000cc injectors for 2.4L 4G63T boosting at 1.5-2 bars with hifh capacity turbo

Yes, i am drivin a gen2 BOT but im too shy to say it out cuz afraid the reliability issue definitely will pop up. We all saw the stickied post :biggrin:. How did u figure bro changchewsoon
?
Regardin the reason i went to that shop, suffice to say when he showed me his car and told me thats wht ill be getin, i did not. Gave me a load full of bull story etc that supported his sudden claim of why i cant be using his setup blablabla all of a sudden.
Eg: My friend and i 100% heard will be getin a td05 but end up on a td04, intercooler was downsized out of nowhere cuz afraid of lag. For the price and im not even getin a stainless steel piping and the weldin job, omfg. I dont even wna start on my hose and air intake crap.

He doenst really did it all in a shop, more of sourcing stuff here and there for me and plonk all together. But main shop is around Kepong area. His partners as claimed.

I would not tarnish his rep here cause i feel that my case might be a isolated one as he was on holiday and did not have time to "monitor" the progress of my car so its quite unfair for him. He also wna cari makan only. Also on his forum, it seems liek everyone's happy about everything so yeah. Also reason being, he will not be here to defend himself if i badmouth him here so i shall refrain from doing so.

I bet with all those info, most of u, if not all could have slightly figured out who this person is :biggrin:.

And yes bro Speed n Stupiddog, i know 1000cc is crazy. Im not so sure if by what he ment 1000cc refers to 250 x 4 ? No idea. Anyone here has any idea whats the stock injector cc for gen2? Sidefeed/topfeed etc? Might try with mayb 4g93 if it fits. I think i heard somewhere there's liek just one 1000cc main injector or something like that? anyone can clarify?

Am thinkin of changin injector and fuel pump to solve that. Do i need a regulator? By that, what i mean is, can i run my car with jst changin either 1 for now (injector or fuel pump or regulator only)? Runnin tight on budget :rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:07 AM ----------

Oh and i forgot to add, do i need a piggyback or anything once i put in the fuel injector,pump,regulator etc?
Should i at least run for a dyno with no management just to be safe on my air fuel side?
Last i heard, a normal piggyback liek safc etc cant "cheat" the ecu and will constantly resets itself.
And till date, only certain shops and him can figure out how to successfully "cheat" the ecu.
Mayb i should find abang cipan and c wht he says. Gona go n snipe his blardy kittens n cats again :rofl:.

oh bro damndamn, i think i know who did the BOT for you and i also think i know which shop in sunway he is recommending you to go do your piggyback and tuning.

he knows me as well, you can ask him. im driving a vios turbo.

you definitely need a piggyback for sure, just want to share with you that if u're getting e-manage it can only do air/fuel and not ignition timing for your gen2. i know budget is a concern here, but in order to really produce power and increase the drivability of the car, you need to be able to alter your timing.

haltech interceptor is a good choice, but still if u decide to go for an e-manage its still good.

and well, as for the 1000cc injector, its definitely a 1x1000cc injector and not 4. it will be nightmare to solder on 4 extra injector and u'll be running 8. so its definitely a 1x1000cc injector.

Hmm,
Mayb i should ask him again for the breakdown.
Just went to my usual mech and i got spits all over me. The workmanship is really really bad and a definite over-charge. Went to another workshop as well and got the same comment.

So bro, do you recommend me to that shop for piggyback as well?
May i know how much would it roughly cost for the haltech interceptor + install + tune?
To be perfectly honest, i do not trust his pricing anymore. As much as i would like to go to the tuning shop behind him, it wouldnt be so good.

Further, ive asked my mech friend and he says that he's never done anything on campro turbo with e-manage so he wouldnt know if it will work.
Another concern is, each tuner has their own ways of doing thing, so i think its best if i just stay with 1 rather than switchin and having to end up with a massive rojak setting.

Hmm,
Just went to my usual mech and i got spits all over me. The workmanship is really really bad and a definite over-charge. Went to another workshop as well and got the same comment.

May i know how much would it roughly cost for the haltech interceptor + install + tune?
To be perfectly honest, i do not trust his pricing anymore. As much as i would like to go to the tuning shop behind him, it wouldnt be so good.

Further, ive asked my mech friend and he says that he's never done anything on campro turbo with e-manage so he wouldnt know if it will work.
Another concern is, each tuner has their own ways of doing thing, so i think its best if i just stay with 1 rather than switchin and having to end up with a massive rojak setting.

bro are you that grey gen 2 turbo c-west bumper with JASMA ic?

well, i had my turbo kit done by GT Auto in sunway and i will never let anyone besides them to touch my car. their workmanship and tuning skills are well know, i don't have to keep repeating it.

so if u asked me whether do i have anyone in mind for recommendation, i will only recommend GT Auto and nobody else.

im not sure about the details of the haltech interceptor, u might have to get a quote personally from them but i can assure you their pricing is fair and they will do a good job.

however, since your mechanical work is done outside so the tuning can only do so much for you if the problems lies in the mechanical work.

and u're right about sticking to one tuner, which is what i did. but again, i think u can't totally listen to what other shops have to say because they're all competitors.

there was once i sent a friend to collect his car at another shop, the owner of the shop saw my car and asked me to let him check out the engine. after that, he made all sorts of sneer remarks which is total bullshit because i knew exactly what my shop did for me.

he's just trying to put down others hoping in return there's a chance i'll listen to him and let him do some work on my car. thats the thing i don't like about other shops, they're not able to give credit which is due to people.

whats wrong saying that your tuner did a good job on your car and his workmanship is good? one doesn't need to step on others in order to make himself stand out. instead, i would have respected him more if he went along the lines of saying something like he thinks he's also very good, give him a chance or something.

anyways bro, before i go off topic it seems like u're kinda upset with the whole thing huh? damn, im really sorry to hear that. wished there was something i could do to help.

Lol yes bro, im drivin that gen2. Always see ur car around too :biggrin:. Shy la to say hi..hahaha

And bro Chang, i definitely will go to GT too but im just afraid its not so nice to go behind him.
Would you believe me if i say i only saw him(the installer) twice and he never really explain much to me about anything? Be it the things im getin till whats the pros n cons.
Like i mentioned earlier, i might be an isolated case. He was on holiday and didnt monitor. i dont know.

Just checked the turbo today and it seems liek its a single fin td04l which i dont even know if it has been recond or not. Seems liek just took our from some warned out pajero and plonk in. :rofl:
Believe me if i post the pic of that turbine here, u will go WTF. Look really really horrible.
I dont even wna mentioned the amount of new scratches found on my fender. 100% is caused by rings on their finger. sigh...
Because my battery was relocated, those wires are..really messy now. They really either did it half hearted or no heart at all.. and the installer was tellin me "dont worry i sure kawtim leng leng for u, i also got reputation 2 jaga blablabla".

And bro, to be very honest, i myself as a layman can see that the pipings are cincai done. Went for second and third opinion and all say the say. The flaws are really really obvious to the naked eye. Lol how sad. Even i show to my friends who are not mechs also went WTF why so uglyyyyyyyy.

What my mech friend say is true, Turbo should be either the final or middle stage after some NA mods, not the 1st stage. End up i still have to get all the NA stuff liek Fuel pump, regulater, injector etc. Goin bone stock on turbo is jst plain crazy.

One thing is my mech friend sux, he say dont feel like touchin my car now (as thou he has to clean up a mess). Dont blame him thou, its really bad. The only reason i went to this fella for the BOT is because he has done alot on campro so i thought standard is definitely there and hassle free. Mana tau..lol.

I think now gota end up with no boostin and save for a haltech + fuel pump + regulator + injector + etc2. I think total cost will be same as plonkin in a GSR..lol

Oh and bro Chang, thanks for the good thoughts..lol.

sometimes ppl say if nobody give you the guidance definately the cost will cost u like a bomb..
so sometimes it is best to go for some well known shop to do it...
unless u got the knowledge already and you wanna save cost definately can go to some cheaper alternative where you wont get potong

First of all, sorry to hear that....

Yes, i am drivin a gen2 BOT but im too shy to say it out cuz afraid the reliability issue definitely will pop up. We all saw the stickied post :biggrin:.

Nothign to shy as we're all trying to have fun with what we are having as our ride.

Eg: My friend and i 100% heard will be getin a td05 but end up on a td04, intercooler was downsized out of nowhere cuz afraid of lag. For the price and im not even getin a stainless steel piping and the weldin job, omfg. I dont even wna start on my hose and air intake crap.

He's right about this. Lag is an issue. But increasing the ignition timing and with suffiecient fuel solve the problems. But TD04 single fin and TD05 16g is 4X price difference. Promise is a promise, lag or not is a different issue.

I bet with all those info, most of u, if not all could have slightly figured out who this person is :biggrin:

I have no idea... Hehe...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

And yes bro Speed n Stupiddog, i know 1000cc is crazy. Im not so sure if by what he ment 1000cc refers to 250 x 4 ? No idea. Anyone here has any idea whats the stock injector cc for gen2? Sidefeed/topfeed etc? Might try with mayb 4g93 if it fits. I think i heard somewhere there's liek just one 1000cc main injector or something like that? anyone can clarify?

Already answered by brudder changchewsoon

Am thinkin of changin injector and fuel pump to solve that. Do i need a regulator? By that, what i mean is, can i run my car with jst changin either 1 for now (injector or fuel pump or regulator only)? Runnin tight on budget :rofl:

A regulator can increase/reduce fuel pressure as desired. A bigger cc injectors require higher pressure in order to supply a good spray patterns and capacity.

I'll suggest injectors mods. It's not so safe to run on lean turbocharged engine. Meanwhile, reduce the boost.

Oh and i forgot to add, do i need a piggyback or anything once i put in the fuel injector,pump,regulator etc?
Should i at least run for a dyno with no management just to be safe on my air fuel side?
Last i heard, a normal piggyback liek safc etc cant "cheat" the ecu and will constantly resets itself.

Yes. CAMPRO ECU will reset the setting once in a while. I heard UNICHIP can solve the problem. But I only know RS Impressive doing it. Somehow, they are well known for having overshown graph which is not trustable. But overall, only the graph is abit OVER from what u are having... Maybe it's because of the Dyno machine they are using.

But, u can also opt for a rechip... IF THEY ARE AVAILABLE, CAN REFER TO UNCLE ZAINAL FOR MORE ADVISE

I think u are not safe to dyno as u might be running on lean combustion.

And till date, only certain shops and him can figure out how to successfully "cheat" the ecu.
Mayb i should find abang cipan and c wht he says. Gona go n snipe his blardy kittens n cats again :rofl:.

U are refering to Uncle Zainal. He's CIPAN's father.

oh bro damndamn, i think i know who did the BOT for you and i also think i know which shop in sunway he is recommending you to go do your piggyback and tuning.

he knows me as well, you can ask him. im driving a vios turbo.

you definitely need a piggyback for sure, just want to share with you that if u're getting e-manage it can only do air/fuel and not ignition timing for your gen2. i know budget is a concern here, but in order to really produce power and increase the drivability of the car, you need to be able to alter your timing.

haltech interceptor is a good choice, but still if u decide to go for an e-manage its still good.

and well, as for the 1000cc injector, its definitely a 1x1000cc injector and not 4. it will be nightmare to solder on 4 extra injector and u'll be running 8. so its definitely a 1x1000cc injector.

Ignition timing is not a big issues. But of course, to extract ultimate power from the e-manage, there are more to include. But to run everything safe, A/F mapping is good enough.

And not necessary to add in injectors for all cylinder. Just plunk in 1 or 2 injectors into the intercooler piping after intercoole or intake manifold to premix the air with fuel to provide suffiecient fuel solve the problem. E-manage can control up to 6 injectors, but will look messy cause fuel lines running here and there.

Hmm,
Just went to my usual mech and i got spits all over me. The workmanship is really really bad and a definite over-charge. Went to another workshop as well and got the same comment..

Well, what paid is paid. And what done is being done.

To be perfectly honest, i do not trust his pricing anymore. As much as i would like to go to the tuning shop behind him, it wouldnt be so good..

The name HALTECH already justify the price.

Just tell them to reset evrything if u are switching tuner. That's all. And make sure they don;t lock your piggyback/standalone with protected password.

well, i had my turbo kit done by GT Auto in sunway and i will never let anyone besides them to touch my car. their workmanship and tuning skills are well know, i don't have to keep repeating it.

so if u asked me whether do i have anyone in mind for recommendation, i will only recommend GT Auto and nobody else.

im not sure about the details of the haltech interceptor, u might have to get a quote personally from them but i can assure you their pricing is fair and they will do a good job.

however, since your mechanical work is done outside so the tuning can only do so much for you if the problems lies in the mechanical work.

and u're right about sticking to one tuner, which is what i did. but again, i think u can't totally listen to what other shops have to say because they're all competitors.

there was once i sent a friend to collect his car at another shop, the owner of the shop saw my car and asked me to let him check out the engine. after that, he made all sorts of sneer remarks which is total bullshit because i knew exactly what my shop did for me.

he's just trying to put down others hoping in return there's a chance i'll listen to him and let him do some work on my car. thats the thing i don't like about other shops, they're not able to give credit which is due to people.

Every shop and tuners has their successful and failed projects. Sometimes it's more up to the luck of the owners. Well, don;t wanna comment too much about this.

whats wrong saying that your tuner did a good job on your car and his workmanship is good? one doesn't need to step on others in order to make himself stand out. instead, i would have respected him more if he went along the lines of saying something like he thinks he's also very good, give him a chance or something.

anyways bro, before i go off topic it seems like u're kinda upset with the whole thing huh? damn, im really sorry to hear that. wished there was something i could do to help.

U are right on this. Sometimes they cannot be trusted. Business ma... Who else in the market tune cars and modding because of their interest and enthusiate anymore. I think there is 2-3 workshop still keeps their principle.

Lol yes bro, im drivin that gen2. Always see ur car around too :biggrin:. Shy la to say hi..hahaha

And bro Chang, i definitely will go to GT too but im just afraid its not so nice to go behind him.
Would you believe me if i say i only saw him(the installer) twice and he never really explain much to me about anything? Be it the things im getin till whats the pros n cons.
Like i mentioned earlier, i might be an isolated case. He was on holiday and didnt monitor. i dont know.

It's their culture until u really step in as the identity as their customer. Business, can't expect much.

Just checked the turbo today and it seems liek its a single fin td04l which i dont even know if it has been recond or not. Seems liek just took our from some warned out pajero and plonk in. :rofl:
Believe me if i post the pic of that turbine here, u will go WTF. Look really really horrible.
I dont even wna mentioned the amount of new scratches found on my fender. 100% is caused by rings on their finger. sigh...
Because my battery was relocated, those wires are..really messy now. They really either did it half hearted or no heart at all.. and the installer was tellin me "dont worry i sure kawtim leng leng for u, i also got reputation 2 jaga blablabla".

And bro, to be very honest, i myself as a layman can see that the pipings are cincai done. Went for second and third opinion and all say the say. The flaws are really really obvious to the naked eye. Lol how sad. Even i show to my friends who are not mechs also went WTF why so uglyyyyyyyy..

No point complaining more. Money paid is paid. what's done is done. Unless u wanna justify the problem by anouncing the great name of the workshop. :biggrin::biggrin:

What my mech friend say is true, Turbo should be either the final or middle stage after some NA mods, not the 1st stage. End up i still have to get all the NA stuff liek Fuel pump, regulater, injector etc. Goin bone stock on turbo is jst plain crazy.

Well, can't really agree on this. Sufficient research, study, items collection and most important patience can reduce alot of problems.

One thing is my mech friend sux, he say dont feel like touchin my car now (as thou he has to clean up a mess). Dont blame him thou, its really bad. The only reason i went to this fella for the BOT is because he has done alot on campro so i thought standard is definitely there and hassle free. Mana tau..lol.

Haha... U've deep ur head into the water... There;s no turning back unless u opt for a transplant. He just don;t want to bear any responsibility of having anything failed on his hand.

I think now gota end up with no boostin and save for a haltech + fuel pump + regulator + injector + etc2. I think total cost will be same as plonkin in a GSR..lol

Oh and bro Chang, thanks for the good thoughts..lol.

Why not. still a good choice interms of reliability issue compare to BOT Campro.

i boost 0.5 also using 450cc consider big d.. 1000cc i dunno how 2 drive d.. hahaha

Normally I start the engine, warm it up and drive with hands feet and also concentration.... hehe...:wavey::wavey::wavey:

Hope my 2 cents help.

bro damndamn, if urs campro engine is running stock siemen ecu, unichip is the only one can do piggyback wif it, else standalone like haltech which SURE cost higher
i happened to know someone from penang boost stock internal campro for 0.5bar using unichip n did a good tuning that running for around 1 yr the car is in good condition without much problem that the amount this guy spent was around 5-6k if not mistaken

well, for my camPUR engine, i would juz use Additional injector controller to control the extra fuel :P
only nx year i'll do BOT on my neo as budget is running out these few months -.-

bro damndamn, if urs campro engine is running stock siemen ecu, unichip is the only one can do piggyback wif it, else standalone like haltech which SURE cost higher
i happened to know someone from penang boost stock internal campro for 0.5bar using unichip n did a good tuning that running for around 1 yr the car is in good condition without much problem that the amount this guy spent was around 5-6k if not mistaken

well, for my camPUR engine, i would juz use Additional injector controller to control the extra fuel :P
only nx year i'll do BOT on my neo as budget is running out these few months -.-

haltech interceptor which is a piggyback could also work with siemens ecu as well.

Thanks everyone for the advice on management side.
Really appreciates it.

Some updates.
Gona clarify with him later whts so customised etc.
Tried callin him but didnt answer. SIGH!
Even my mech friend is mockin me because my turbine looks so old n rusted.

And guys, one small problem, ever since i got the kit installed, im hearin something liek a mouse squeak noise. Seems like something is loose somewhere. Im suspectin its the turbine. It only happens when i engage gear and the car is movin on low rpm.
But when im idle and i tried revving till it spools, no such noise.
Any idea?

Try see intercooler n piping mounted nicely or not. Probable the intercooler/piping in contact with ur car body.