BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

ky_fei,
Say until liddat meh?? NO taikor taikor lah... aiyooo...

ahren said:
thanks for the detailed explanation. I read the wastegate and turbo from the website u recommend quite long time ago dy, but i dont know there us internal and external 1 :P

guess i hv to experience the first stage b4 i going to updrage later. but since u say the stock actuator can go for 1.2 bar, i wonder andy will make the 2nd stage boost until 2 bar? the horse power by then will going to 250 ++ ?

Which is why I strongly recommend, always get to know more about turbos, make sure u know all the A-Zs of it... so that for futher modifications from the stage 1 bolt on, you can depend on your own knowledge and opinions, rather than just listening to what other people tell you to do. =Þ

Different people will have different criterias in modding their cars... some might say get wastegate better, some might say not. Some say use TD05 better, some will say use TD04 and boost higher.... everybody's thinking/opinions are going to be different from that stage on, so when you talk to different people, they're going to tell you different things, until later end up u pulak the confused person...

Thats why its best you count on yourself to make the decision, and not others for you. Listening to what others have to say based on their experience is always good, but you have to be the one who decides whats best suited for the BIG plans you have for your car. =)

Dragger Racing's stage 1 turbo kits are highly recommended coz' they come with almost all the basic things you'll need to turbo kit the engine. On top of that their workmanship isn't too bad either (at least on their few demo cars I've seen so far)... the only thing short is a good management, one which I would strongly recommend a reknown branded one. Where you go from there will be up to you to decide...

U my taikor wad >< when yum cha ? ^^

Seriously 1 thing, stock internal isnt mean for high boost, make sure u do all the necessary step before falling in to the dark side ^^.

Any1 heard of ARS Ceramic Coating or sumthing ? Plan to coat my piston, boleh ka?

worrr.... good ideal from bro alvin24 thx lot... my hm got turbo car too but i dint know that much thing coz is my bro car n dint mod it de..hehehe....

all bro alvin said is rite but i heard friends of mine said sum BOT wil get problems this la that laaa... n another said wont get problems if ur taking good servis...
so how do we gonna take care of it???

mean hv to use turbo eng oil like hks n etc... n hv to cheek on da turbine,piping n intercooler it few month driving...need to know sum ideal after BOT servis...

well... everything also needs care wan mar. You buy car, you want your car to last you also have to look after your car properly mar.

Difference is, cars come with an instructions manual ma... owner's booklet and all, to tell you how to properly maintain your car in detail... how long service once, tyre pump how much air... this that everything lah.

Turbo kits don't... which is why I said you want to turbo kit your engine, you better know the A-Z of turbos man... must know the limits of which you can push your engine, what to do when this happens, what to do when that happens... etc etc etc. =Þ

Turbos are more delicate then n/a engines... when something's not right... you gotta attend to it immediately, then everything can be saved. Else when things start to go wrong, they usually end up REALLY wrong... as in, can cause major damages... like blowing ur engine and such lah.

BOT's are as reliable as normal turbo charged cars ONLY WHEN proper fueling and upgrading of the combustion area uprated.. as mentioned from Alvin24, do what is necessary to upkeep the engine. Most of the time BOT engine blows are the latter not fulfilled. I would like to add that most of the problem starts, when the user/drivers use the "function".. overboost mode..

I have plans to BOT a Myvi.. anyone out there that can give me some pointers?.. Thanks in advance.. :)

my 2cents worth.. hope i dont offend no one..

regular oil change(once a month is good), regular check for any leakage. One tip is, if see something that needs to change like stopper, rad hose fan belt etc.. change it immediately as believe me, with turbo engine and the load it give to the engine..it will really shorten whuteva need to be change fater than NA can tolerate.

the rest is just like NA cars...take good care of it and it ll take good care of u!!

Hmm... how we gonna know our stock eng can stand til how many bar?
must be hv to test on dyno wit BOT kit n tune it rite?
n i read form few mag b4 BOT kit all jus playing on 0.4-0.6bar only the reason blow eng/overboost i think is da driver go adj or up boost by them self kua....
n i think b4 we gonna get a exhaust tem meter so we wil know if sum thing wrong on our BOT or eng.....

jz called andy, and he told me the first batch of bolt on waja having problem with the over burnt throttle body problem due to the extra 2 injector can;t control well by the e-manage.

now they hv improved their bolt on by having only 4 primary injector. he claimed that emanage not capable of manage the 4 primary injector on bolt on engine and suggested me to change the piggyback to ps powersport

ahren tai kor

the primary 4 injector u mean is the basic 4 injector ? change to bigger cc injector ? emanage cannot handle ?

Hmmmm how cm cant handel it???
if we change our injector n feul pump to bigger cc n add another feul regulators
wit Emanage sure run wel i think....
a yaris from TRDwing hing motorsport wit BOT kit use HKS turbine n wastegate n change injector n feul pump too biger cc n add feul reg jus use v-afc2 n avr to tune it...

hey bro david wat a nice site u got nice 1 men~....

hahaha, dats y some people say dun alwiz trust the mechanic lo, they can make u go around looks like a fool ^^ i using larger injector with emanage to control it. For around 8 month ad, nths wrong also =)

wor... not dont laa.. jus trust 50/50 laa... hehehe... bro ky-fei wat car u BOT on? how is it?so u jus change ur injector only? feul pump use bc ori 1? how but if i duwan use Emanage but i use afc NEO to run it can it work wel? coz here no dyno n ppl to tune it... hv to go til kl too far n i dunno kl road at all...
jus wanna know more b4 i BOT on my car heheh~...

Ky_fei bro...
saw ur BOT on page 75, whoaaa... damn cun...
mine also 1.5 and thinking to BOT also.
btw, do u use extra injector like waja4646?
what intercooler u used (cun wooo)?
mind to share?

BOT required very solid and correct foundation. Which means u must do the right thing 1st. Thn u will have much more reliable setup. Alot of plp go for look instead of function whn purchasing turbo stuff which is no no unless u know ur stuff well.

Water and oil is very critical on turbo system hence u must change regularly. some user feel need to save hence it started to give problem. Once a week, check around engine bay area to see anything amiss. oil leak, bracket crack, anything. there is no 101 rules how to take care it. given u evo or rex, u only know how to whack it, also will die

miow tai kor,

my car is juz normal 1.5 SOHC le, so far so gud ^^ nth breakdown xcept for the gasket. Coz local no fully metal gasket. Juz paid for a Composite Graphite Head Gaskets from RPW, hope that it works, cost alot too =S.Safc neo a, i heard ppl use safc also can run nicely leh.Actually no nid dyno also can tune emanage 1. People dyno to tune just to ensure the fueling is perfect and get the "numbers" of horsie lo.(Shoot me if i wrong) Even my mech didnt dyno tune for me at 1st, just normal road tuning. KL road very easy 1 la, dunno a , call me i bring u to sunway. Currently studying ther ^^

shaiguy tai kor,
i didnt use extra injector, my basic 4 injector from eterna twin turbo works extremely fine, never think of using extra injector also. Maybe for those high boost people needs one or two or three extra injector la. My fuel pump spoil after i turbocharged my car, weak oledi, so i change to a brand new fuel pump. normal fuel pump also.My interfooler? i use sumthing like infinite 1, nt sure its from him anot coz get from my mech. Abit bigger than vr4 , looks like a imitation evo3 XD

(btw guys, its hard to keep ur face looking at lecturer and also typing without looking at keyboard at the same time XD but i did it !! I can type with my eye close!!!!!!!!)

ky_fei, my mech is very wellknown of bolt on turbo, his name is andy from dragger racing.

I shall walk to his workshop to further discuss about the piggyback that gonna be used. I not know much on piggyback, so i cannot comment whether use emanage on 4 injector (without extra) bolt on turbo will be sufficient.

Anyway, for small boost application like me, shall i change my fuel pump as well? wellbro 255 fuel pump will be too much for me? or any second hand fuel pump i can looking for? I read from some forum says bigger fuel pump will hv higher FC, ain't the injector affects the FC?

Oh, dragger racing a, i betta shuddup =__=. Ltr arguement of ps product and other tuner product =_=