BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

4g93p?whos having bot?
wat r the pros and cons?
wat r the stuff dat need 2 b chged?

why not u guys hardworking abit. try to search more info instead of being spoon feed with info? like this u wun learn anything and i guarantee u, with all the info u wait for us to feed u, ur turbo project sure failed. proactive in search and understand how thing works is the only way ur BOT project wun fail

Please use the search function. All types of info about BOT available.

Nobody can help you if you don't help yourselve.

Speaking from an ex-BOT myself, BOTs is not straight forward nor a simple ordeal.

If you want Turbo power, quick and easy, engine conversion will be better alternative.

PS : by end of the day, BOTs might cost more than conversion. So better ask yourself wat you want out of a BOT or engine conversion before doing either.

Agree with joeker, BOT is unique, so things expensive. Decide which way u wan then take your step.

yes i agree..ive been reading bout BOT for months and its not an easy task unless u have enough money to send to shops. try to read this Maximum Boost book by Corky Bell. It doesnt tell u everything but it gives u an idea of BOT.

Hmmm jocker is rite BOT r expensive n etc~... BOTs might cost more than conversion to other eng.... but i think sum ppl oso not going to conversion coz sayang they eng laa... duwan extra wire laa... cut here cut there.... remove this move that sum half cut r cost very high n sum time wil get problems from jpj n bla bla bla.... so that y they going BOT n trying to walk into turbo world so sum might be newbis here loo...hehehehe~.....

Emmm 5 parties really interested in my WAJA BOT kits.........the matter now ......to whom i shall sell ?

E-Manage ( Blue )
2 extra injectors ( VR-4 or GSR )
TD04HL
VR-4 Intercooler
Custom Made Wiper Water Tank
Custom Made Exhaust 4g18 Manifold
Custom Made 2 and half inches downpipe to the catalytic converter
Seneka Racing BOV
Custom Made Oil Sum To Feed Engine Oil To Turbine
Custom Made IC Piping
Custom Made Air Intake Piping To TB

Optional Items

Blitz Dual Turbo Timer
Universal Boost Meter
Adjustable Fuel Pressure Regulator Custom Made

RM 3K.........how does its sound....pity I'm quite bz lately......to decide to whom i shall let go ....my 2 years 0.6 bar WAJA DREAMS BECAME REALITY BOT kit......

Ahren .......you my man ...........I will call you man.....to discuss...soon ...after MU vs Arsenal Big Game Tomorow........

to me is very simple. who ever put the money on the table 1st would get the deal. in nowdays internet deal, too many time waster

haha been waiting for ur reply everyday :P

Hope my dream of bot wouldnt be far away :D

ahren said:
haha been waiting for ur reply everyday :P

Hope my dream of bot wouldnt be far away :D

hehehe... my WAJA BOT already..

I can ensure driving will be so much more enjoyable !!

To create and maintain a successful bot... you must know everything from A-Z about turbocharging. =Þ else u're likely to have loads of problems in the future after the bolt on.... its best you don't only listen to the mechanic, coz' mechanics will always tell you everything also can, Malaysia boleh style... where as they might be giving u short of items to make the kit reliable for the purpose of either maximizing their profits, or coz' u short of budget.

Be ready to spend. IF you're stingy in spending on the BOT, u're likely to end up with an unreliable setup... coz' mechanics will always work within your budget, but they won't tell you that u'll need to spend more to buy this and that or that u'll eventually have problems if you don't do everything properly from start in fright that you might go some other workshop instead to do that might 'sound' more promising. So what they usually tell you is "install first and jalan first la... the rest slowly do up"... where as its actually dangerous, coz' u might blow something. Prevention is better than cure mah.

Actually... for the case of BOT-ing a 4G93... i'd recommend go straight for a GSR. =Þ u're likely to spend less than to BOT a 4G93 assuming u were to change it's internals and run on a GSR ECU as well. =Þ

ya... understand that bot is gonna cost you more in future. that is when the case u wish to upgrade and boost more right?

at the moment want to have my virgin try on turbo, want to feel the force :P but of coz safety will come first :)

btw, anyone here know what dragger racing wil provide for the stage 2 bot on for waja?

jz ring up andy from dragger racing this afternoon. He is a very friendly guy.

I was asking about him detail on the 2nd stage bot on kit. From what i understand, he will do

1) port and polish
2) external wastegate
3) PS POWersport piggyback

From his explanation, the second stage allowed higher boost n get bigger hp. (i think should be 70 HP gain)i was thinking without strengthen the engine internal part, the car can boost safely?

And may i know what is the different with internal wastegate and external wastegate? external wastegate can draw more power from the engine itself?

worrr... stage2 BOT worr....HMmmm jus wonder y must get external wastegate???
for i know external wastegate for more higer boost like over 1.0bar use if below 1.0bar da ori aotugate form turbine oso can handel it ad....
maybe he got his good reason....hehehe~....
so stage2 jus hv a piggybag ooo...that mean stage1 BOT dint hv it yet loo.. how bout feul???BOT must get more feul rite...??

Ahren its good when you already talk to ANDY .........then our talk at least MEANS something good......

of coz stage 1 will hv piggyback but i think emanage not able to control for the external wastegate, or mayb something else that emanage not capable to handle.

will let u know when i found more information

hey, waja4646 Andy is very nice guy to talk to. might meet him too understand more about what he gonna do for bot :D

ok ok ...im going to sleep ...AHREN i will call you tomorrow.....I will help make your Dreams Becomes A Reality......Happy Boosting Soon !!!

Dude... i suggest you read up more on turbos... how they work, this that, etc in order for u to fully understand what it is you're doing to your engine, then you'd know how the wastegate works.

Most OEM turbos come with built in wastegate. The reason for an aftermarket external wastegate is either:
No.1 - your turbo doesn't come with a built in wastegate (like BIG aftermarket turbos)
No.2 - your built in wastegate not big enuff for the amount of boost you're running... therefore you'll be experiencing boost creep, where your boost towards high revs will creep up (usually happens when u boost much higher than your actuator settings).

Choosing wastegate size is like choosing exhaust piping size. Too big no good, too small no good.. gotta pick the right size for the right boost on the right turbo. =Þ
If you're using a TD04 or TD05, the stock actuator should work fine up to 1.2 bar or so (about double the stock settings)... if you're boosting like 1.5 bar... then safer to get an external wastegate... 38mm one should be enuff. I have friends boosting 1.5 bar on a TD05 without problems without the wastegate also, but i think better to get external wastegate lah if boosting that high... the last thing you need is for your boost to creep! hehee..

Wastegates are MECHANICAL devices... got nothing to do with the emanage. If you buy 1 bar punya wastagate, its gonna be 1 bar. Can be adjusted with a boost controller, but not the emanage.

Personally... i've been to Dragger Racing... and I've spoken to Andy... and i too agree he's a very nice guy to talk to, and he as well explains everything A-Z to you to make sure you understand every detail of the bolt on before he begins his turbo works on your car.
I do highly recommend Dragger Racing for bolt on projects... BUT, i'd only recommend their stage 1 bolt on lar. Their stage 1 bolt on kit is quite close to complete... after bolt on their kit, all else you'd need is to slap in a new exhaust system and a good engine management. Tuning DOES make a BIG difference, no joke on this one.

i wouldn't recommend anything other than their stage 1 bolt on... coz' I believe if you were to want to expand your performance, and want to squeeze more power from your engine and turbo kit... you'd have to do it on your own from there on. As in, you should be then fully understand how the engine and turbo works, and you should by then know what and what can be done in order to squeeze more juice... don't have to rely on packages wan.

Anywayz... have fun exploring dude. =)

thanks for the detailed explanation. I read the wastegate and turbo from the website u recommend quite long time ago dy, but i dont know there us internal and external 1 :P

guess i hv to experience the first stage b4 i going to updrage later. but since u say the stock actuator can go for 1.2 bar, i wonder andy will make the 2nd stage boost until 2 bar? the horse power by then will going to 250 ++ ?

ahren said:
thanks for the detailed explanation. I read the wastegate and turbo from the website u recommend quite long time ago dy, but i dont know there us internal and external 1 :P

guess i hv to experience the first stage b4 i going to updrage later. but since u say the stock actuator can go for 1.2 bar, i wonder andy will make the 2nd stage boost until 2 bar? the horse power by then will going to 250 ++ ?

Bro AH REN !!

when will you BOT your waja ?? is yours campro ?? 1.6 or 1.8 ?? auto or MT ??
you will be using bro waja4646's kit ??