Accident at Kerinci

absolute

Accident at Kerinci-Advise Needed

Ok people, i am not too sure but the situation goes like this and i hope some of my questions can be clarify...

Ok, was driving home on last Saturday using Kerinci Link, from SS2 back to Cheras at around 2.30am. So it was raining at that time but not heavy, just a few constant dripping...

After i paid the toll, its Rm 1.50. There's 2 ways, turn left u will head to Cheras(Midvalley side) and turn left you will head to subang (Federal Highway).

So i turn left and i slowly move the the right lane (cornering). Holly COW!!!, a 4X4 Wheel drive(Sprint Highway service car) stop right there. I imediately step on the brake pedal and turn my steering wheel to the left. But too bad, i avoided the first 4X4 Wheel Drive( no sure what 4 wheel, but belong to sprint, yellow-bluish color) but still hit on another Sprint 4X4 Wheel Drive.

My car was skiding and 'buang' to the left for like 15 meters. So i quicky adjust back the steering wheel. But to bad, the car lose control (the steering was like turning left and right, right and left), i cant hardly control and my car 'buang' to the left side:emoticon_U: , it skidded for like 15-20 meters and "bang" i hit the bumper of the Sprint 4 Wheel Drive (nearly to hit the divinder). *Damage on the left side, within the tyre and the place that you open up and pump fuel*

I launched a police report on the same day and no compound for me. He listened to me, and make a call to Sprint and ask whether or not there's no Hazard light or Kon there. I am not too sure bout what the Sprint said. However, after all, he said u can leave after u purchased a report and take down a photo of my car. Ok, settle for the day.

Here goes my questions,

1) Since there's no Hazard Light and Kon (those in orange-redish color). This is not my fault right?

2) Do i need to pay Compound?

3) If this is not my fault, but i 'banged' them, does the law-you are wrong whenever you hit someone still exist?

4) Am i to claim his or my insurance?

5) How long does it take if i am to claim his insurance(usually)?

6) Any other things that i need to know besides this?

absolute said:
Ok people, i am not too sure but the situation goes like this and i hope some of my questions can be clarify...

Ok, was driving home on last Saturday using Kerinci Link, from SS2 back to Cheras at around 2.30am. So it was raining at that time but not heavy, just a few constant dripping...

After i paid the toll, its Rm 1.50. There's 2 ways, turn left u will head to Cheras(Midvalley side) and turn left you will head to subang (Federal Highway).

So i turn left and i slowly move the the right lane (cornering). Holly COW!!!, a 4X4 Wheel drive(Sprint Highway service car) stop right there. I imediately step on the brake pedal and turn my steering wheel to the left. But too bad, i avoided the first 4X4 Wheel Drive( no sure what 4 wheel, but belong to sprint, yellow-bluish color) but still hit on another Sprint 4X4 Wheel Drive.

My car was skiding and 'buang' to the left for like 15 meters. So i quicky adjust back the steering wheel. But to bad, the car lose control (the steering was like turning left and right, right and left), i cant hardly control and my car 'buang' to the left side:emoticon_U: , it skidded for like 15-20 meters and "bang" i hit the bumper of the Sprint 4 Wheel Drive (nearly to hit the divinder). *Damage on the left side, within the tyre and the place that you open up and pump fuel*

I launched a police report on the same day and no compound for me. He listened to me, and make a call to Sprint and ask whether or not there's no Hazard light or Kon there. I am not too sure bout what the Sprint said. However, after all, he said u can leave after u purchased a report and take down a photo of my car. Ok, settle for the day.

Here goes my questions,

1) Since there's no Hazard Light and Kon (those in orange-redish color). This is not my fault right?

2) Do i need to pay Compound?

3) If this is not my fault, but i 'banged' them, does the law-you are wrong whenever you hit someone still exist?

4) Am i to claim his or my insurance?

5) How long does it take if i am to claim his insurance(usually)?

6) Any other things that i need to know besides this?

Well, I will try best answer your questions so here it goes..

1)Im no lawyer, but since they did not put up any warning sign whatsoever, you're not at fault.

2)No. Unless "they" twisted the story.RM300 if you're at fault and no more NCB.

3)On top of my head and understanding, section 43 of the road and transport act basically concludes reckless driving by any means. Hence I "can" conclude they caused an accident as a result of irresponsibility/care to put up a warning sign. It's not like before, you brake test someone behind you and he hits you, he's at fault. That doesnt work nowadays. The compound may go as high as RM4k(cant remember exactly).

4)For insurance claims, assuming you're covered under a comprehensive motor vehicle policy, Id advise you notify your insurer first and let them know of the pending investigation from the police department. If they find the other party's at fault, get the investigation results from the police and submit a Knock for Knock(KFK) claim along with the investigation results(to prove you're not at fault of course), which will enable you to maintain your NCB(no claim bonus).

5)Well, to my understanding of KFK claims is that, you make a KFK claim against vehicle A, who's insured under XX insurance, through your insurer. Your insurer will settle your claim first, then "re-claim" it from the 3rd party's insurance company. It should be quick but in most cases you don't worry about this part.

6)I'd strongly advise you to claim whatsover from your franchise dealer whenever possible(ie proton vehicles at EON, Toyota at UMW.etc).

Hope that helps.

Cheers.

Did the police asked u to go back to the station? But the police didn't say it's your fault lar?

Anyway, inform your insurance company; and I think they will definitely check for you....

It takes a few days (around a week) for the investigation report to come out. You'll need to purchase this copy of the report and submit to the insurance for them to claim everything and maintain your NCB.

Just got myself involved in an accident also, it affects the whole left side of my car and it just took 2 weeks to get my car back, including new paints and new parts, and this is what I knew.

btw...you could pm this guy: mini clubman DF9818
he might be able to answer your Q.....he works as an estimator for insurance company; so might be able to help u

wooo, all the useful information! thks people, the sarjan gonna call me again he said.

thats what i thought....the Sarjan would call you and again brief you on what's the final result is. So if they decided to compound you, it's there and then lor....

good luck.....

eh... last time my car spin and hit divider... the sarjan said... maybe plus will saman me... hahahahaa... cause i hit their divider... my car spin from left to right infront the highway... front bumper also come off... on the other side of the road...

tat one claim all NCB lor... cause no one to blame... claim the insurance almost need 2 months... got change i post my car let u guys see... hahaha

Aiks...first time the car was like flying, skid till like i am playing NFS...

But next time i shouldnt press the brake pedal..

absolute said:
Aiks...first time the car was like flying, skid till like i am playing NFS...

But next time i shouldnt press the brake pedal..

hmm... sure u brake one shot right? u should break continously few times... and when u spin that time did u step on brake? i heard ppl say... when ur car spinning... the steering will move itself... let go the steering... and the car will stable down... hahaha...

hahaha.. maybe once in a lifetime experience... hahaha

I brake in one shot to avoid the first 4X4 cuz it was like...appeared there out of a sudden.

That time my car 'buang', so when i adjusted back, i cant control my steering.... it was like moving, left and right, left and right, then i let go the brake and step on the brake pedal again....

Then i buang to the right side and my car within the wheel and the place you open to pump fuel... "bang". Fuiyohh. Nearly hit the divider.....(just a couple of inchens more only)

I tell you, that time u feel excited and the only thing in your mind was, "please please don bang the car, not even a tiny scratch(because the car doesnt belongs to you)

After that you refresh and think back. It was darn freaking scary... the skidding scene(was so easy to move your steering), lucky didnt hit anyone and i am safe, and i only damaged a portion of the car.... if i hit the car further in front(got accident also), Ho, big case.

juniorkirk........if you don't hold your steering.........you'll skid direct!!

but if you can control your streeing while braking; i.e. if the steering moves to the right; u try turning it back straight or to the left; U still have the chance of controlling your car.........

i got hold my steering... but my car got those stablity control thing... ppl said the car will move my steering to stable back my car... lolz... weird... nvm nvm... touch wood... i downa go for 2nd time.. hahaha

you people 'sai lei' la.... maybe i can go for the second time, but not on highway and with my car anymore....crazy....

it would be better if you have ABS function...............
that time I also skidded at Jln Tun Razak flyover before the library (towards bulatan Pahang)
steering also left and right; but luckyly the angle was small and I manage to control back the car...dunno whether or not it's with the help of ABS....

yeah....trust me; 1 time is enough..............no need 2nd try!

Hmmm..when ya car skidding or spinning..don't press the brake full stretch..coz when u jam ya brake..all ya wheels are locked..so ya car keep on spinning like mad.. ;)

kiyoshi said:
Hmmm..when ya car skidding or spinning..don't press the brake full stretch..coz when u jam ya brake..all ya wheels are locked..so ya car keep on spinning like mad.. ;)

haha... we talk very easy wan... when really happened that time... too panic donno what to do already... hahaha... my car almost spin 8 round after the batu tiga toll... using smart tag lane...suddenly skidding... then my car ended up whacking the divider at the sales office side... hahaha....

true true true...........during emergency; it's all based on reactions; we can talk what we want.....but at the point on emergency.......talk wouldn't help...
but usually if you don't panic, you might still be able to react the correct way........
sometimes based on instinct too.......

then i think my reaction was kinda good at that time.

When i first avoid the 4x4. It skid towards the left side(i was on the left heading down the bridge), then i quickly turn it back, but DAMN, the steering was turning like mad, I Step on the pedal HARD and let go AND HARD. The second time, oh my lord. It skid again to the right, (am on the right side).

The moment, i was thinking, please please no damage because i sure kena screwed by mt parents... Fuiyoh, lucky. BAng, WRACk, FANG!!!!! Its only within the side i mentioned in the earlier post before...

I cant imagine, why i skidded more than 50 meters while i am just driving 60-70(i think, although the road was kinda slippery).

shud have try drift to one side and than anuther side like what they did in the movies...........kekekekeke

okie...no offence bro; just to lighten things up

so still no news from the police who you're claiming from?!