* cold cars are
1. all Volvos
2. Nissan Cefiros (A32/33)
3. all Opels
4. all Fiats
5. all Alfa Romeos
6. all big BMWs

and such...

Oppssss.....hope you are not one of those Plotong dealers that I just cussed about. LOL!!

You forgot to mention another SUPER SUB ZERO COLD car, Citroen..MUAHAHAHAHAH!!!

One of my relative bought Xantia back in 1995 for RM110K.

THen, the Xantia was traded in for a Jazz in 2005 for.........RM20K!!!! (lose like hell)

One time xantia service, few hundred gone.

Xantia's hydraulic suspension kong, heart attack come, repair bill RMX,XXX.

But car was damn comfy for long distance drive, like sitting on cloud nine.

Off topic abit liao. :P

target depreciation

SNEO 1.6A
new price
1st year drop
2nd year drop
3rd year drop

trade in value after 3 years (targeted) 36K.

plus points when selling....
1. new car
2. car still under warranty
3. many parts are still serviceable; not due change yet.
4. body and paint work still good.

minus point....
1. its a proton

target depreciation

TVIOS 1.5E
new price
1st year drop (10%)
2nd year drop (10%)
3rd year drop (10%)
4th year drop (10%)
5th year drop (10%)
6th year drop (10%)
7th year drop (10%)

target trade-in value

plus points to sell car
1. its a toyota

minus points to sell car
1. it may look good, but its an 8 yrs old car
2. maintenance and repair may be high after 8 years. t/belt, absorbers, eng mountings, oil leak, others wear and tear
3. this vios in 2015 had been replaced twice. new model came in 2007(Belta) and another new model came after 4 years (2011).
4. new owner difficult to get loan. would be VERY VERY difficult to sell off car.

go check motortrader.com.my....

the market price for satria neo is gonna be far to low than u stated..take for example gen2...for a 2005 gen2 car..the price is only 32k-35k thats mean it's drop more than 20k in 2 years..neo should be worst coz of the 2 doors car...the market should be far worst than vios

while vios 2005 is 60-65k..thats mean vios has a far better market price value compare to proton...also u got a toyota,the quality is better,the market is high compare to proton...for example..look at civic EK...the market price still can reach 50k-60k even the car already 10 years and been replace with newer civic model like ES and the 2006 civic...

why compare 7th and 3rd year ? and the estimated depreciation rates used for the proton is rather optimistic aint it ?

aiyah.. susah2, just buy VIOS.

problem setel. gerenti tak menyesal punyer!

Toyota parts generally more reliable (tahan longer) than
proton parts. this is fact.

i checked in Motor trader, 3 yrs old Vios also lost 20K. i am not against anyone here or trying to be fanatic to a brand. it's my opinion that nowadays any car will lose value just as much no matter what brand.

infernal, thread starter had mentioned of buying a SNEO using a 3 yrs loan. he could afford a Vios too provided strethcing the loan to 7 years. hence the calculations.

those quotes are basically targeted figures; based on 10% standard depreciation for our country.

i worked at UMW Toyota from year 1997 to year 2000. Toyota cars have their shares of manufacture and build quality.

Corolla AE101? mountings problem (causing engine roar at certain speed)

Corolla AE111? brakes noisy again and again, absorber knocking noise

Camry SXV10? premature wear of washer jar and engine mounting. dashboard warped

Camry SXV20? electric seat motor always faulty, CD often jammed inside player

but have you all heard of these problems?? nahh...coz the company is very clever one...

yeah but u cannot compare 20k loss for a 75k vios with 20k loss with a 57k gen2...it's not bout the brand..it's bout the satisfaction, i would really2 loved to buy proton car if it's has a quality and a very good customer service...but look at proton..still relying from the gov...can't stand up with it's own feet...and when it's nearly bankrup...they came something like scrapping a 15 years old car that we have and burden us all just to save their ass...

i checked in Motor trader, 3 yrs old Vios also lost 20K. i am not against anyone here or trying to be fanatic to a brand. it's my opinion that nowadays any car will lose value just as much no matter what brand.

infernal, thread starter had mentioned of buying a SNEO using a 3 yrs loan. he could afford a Vios too provided strethcing the loan to 7 years. hence the calculations.

those quotes are basically targeted figures; based on 10% standard depreciation for our country.

idealistic targets dont chya think ?

i worked at UMW Toyota from year 1997 to year 2000. Toyota cars have their shares of manufacture and build quality.

Corolla AE101? mountings problem (causing engine roar at certain speed)

Corolla AE111? brakes noisy again and again, absorber knocking noise

Camry SXV10? premature wear of washer jar and engine mounting. dashboard warped

Camry SXV20? electric seat motor always faulty, CD often jammed inside player

but have you all heard of these problems?? nahh...coz the company is very clever one...

Did'nt realize TOyota had so much problems. THanks for the head-up.

But Sure can't beat the champ, our National Pride Plotong. :angel_smile:

If all of Plotong problems compile into a book, probably thicker than Kamus Dewan Bahasa, maybe even even thicker than the Holy Bible.

Most Mototrader's car price rubbish!!!

RM6K for stock KE70?!?!?

RM30 for '94 Camry?!?!

Silvia S13 RM60K?!?!

I only read the MAx Power pages as far as Motortrader concern. Can't be bother with the car price.

For real-time car prices, check out STAR paper classifieds section. Pages upon pages of cars.

"Macam-macam ader"

PS : Yesterday a friend borrowed me his Gen2 to drive around SUbang while my car was servicing.

The radio switches at the steering all kaput-ed

The handbrake cover comes out, lousy piece of plastic cover.

The power window lock does'nt work.

The dials for air conditiong fade and discolor.

All sorts of rattling sound from under the dashboard.

The plastic lever to open the door is poorly molded with flashes that cuts the finger.

Dents and dings all over the body

All this from a less than 5 year old car.

idealistic targets dont chya think ?

apart from working with UMW Toyota, i also had worked as an insurance claim adjuster for 6 years. where the company had been awarded at least twice for being Asia's best adjuster company.

apart from doing surveys on accident cars, we also study current market value for vehicles in Malaysia and set a guideline for reference by

1. insurance companies.
2. finance companies.

as an example, whenever a total loss case occur (now total loss is called BER @ beyond economic repair) how does the insurance come up with the final amount to pay? they refer to quoted market value by adjusters. the other way of course is to refer back to the franchise dealer.

which is troublesome.

p/s i'm not trying to be emotionally proud here, just giving my honest opinions.

Did'nt realize TOyota had so much problems. THanks for the head-up.

But Sure can't beat the champ, our National Pride Plotong. :angel_smile:

If all of Plotong problems compile into a book, probably thicker than Kamus Dewan Bahasa, maybe even even thicker than the Holy Bible.

Most Mototrader's car price rubbish!!!

RM6K for stock KE70?!?!?

RM30 for '94 Camry?!?!

Silvia S13 RM60K?!?!

I only read the MAx Power pages as far as Motortrader concern. Can't be bother with the car price.

For real-time car prices, check out STAR paper classifieds section. Pages upon pages of cars.

"Macam-macam ader"

PS : Yesterday a friend borrowed me his Gen2 to drive around SUbang while my car was servicing.

The radio switches at the steering all kaput-ed

The handbrake cover comes out, lousy piece of plastic cover.

The power window lock does'nt work.

The dials for air conditiong fade and discolor.

All sorts of rattling sound from under the dashboard.

The plastic lever to open the door is poorly molded with flashes that cuts the finger.

Dents and dings all over the body

All this from a less than 5 year old car.

i have to agree with you, adjusters do look at the star classifieds, motortrader as well as calling used car dealers to find out the used car price. they will take 5 examples, add the figures up and take average as the market value referred.

fyi, most of the advertisers are also used car dealers. note the phone numbers = they are all similar!!

btw, my wife's gen2 is of late 2005. but we did not face any serious problems except

1. remote radio buttons on strg wheel still work well.

2. hand brake cover still good, except some fine scratches

3. power window fault free from day 1.

4. a/c dials all nice, not fading.

but the G2 we own is suffering from catalytic converter smell during drive as well as the exhaust pipe in the silencer broke internally (common with all G2).

Let's put it this way. You keep either cars for 7 years. Here's the scenario assuming both cars are faultless and not taking into account the maintenance cost (I presume both cars are quite similar i.e. Proton requires change of parts more frequently while UMW charges the sky for parts/service) :-

Total cost of ownership after 7 years
==========================

Satria Neo - After the 3rd year, you'll be saving RM600 a month. Let's put aside any FD or investment returns you get from the savings. Assume you'll eventually use those returns on Proton repairs :retarded:

Car initial cost = RM58,000 + RM2400 (interest based on 4%pa for 3yrs 20k loan) = RM60,400

Assets after 7 years : RM600 x 12 x 5 + RM20,000 (expected resale value of Neo after 7 years) = RM56,000

Total cost of ownership = RM60,400 - RM56,000 = RM4,400

----------------------------------------------------------------

Vios - You don't save an extra penny for 7 years.

Car initial cost (inc. interest) = RM80,000 + RM8750 (interest based on 2.5% for 7yrs 50k loan) = RM88,750

Assets after 7 years : RM0 + RM40,000 (expected value of Vios after 7yrs)

Total cost of ownership = RM88,750 - RM40,000 = RM48,750

Let's put it this way. You keep either cars for 7 years. Here's the scenario assuming both cars are faultless and not taking into account the maintenance cost (I presume both cars are quite similar i.e. Proton requires change of parts more frequently while UMW charges the sky for parts/service) :-

Total cost of ownership after 7 years
==========================

Satria Neo - After the 3rd year, you'll be saving RM600 a month. Let's put aside any FD or investment returns you get from the savings. Assume you'll eventually use those returns on Proton repairs :retarded:

Car initial cost = RM58,000 + RM2400 (interest based on 4%pa for 3yrs 20k loan) = RM60,400

Assets after 7 years : RM600 x 12 x 5 + RM20,000 (expected resale value of Neo after 7 years) = RM56,000

Total cost of ownership = RM60,400 - RM56,000 = RM4,400

----------------------------------------------------------------

Vios - You don't save an extra penny for 7 years.

Car initial cost (inc. interest) = RM80,000 + RM8750 (interest based on 2.5% for 7yrs 50k loan) = RM88,750

Assets after 7 years : RM0 + RM40,000 (expected value of Vios after 7yrs)

Total cost of ownership = RM88,750 - RM40,000 = RM48,750

cmon now, everyone can go make their own assumptions and change the figures to favor one car or the another.

if you said the savings would be a provision for the repairs, why bother including it in, wouldnt that make the comparison unfair as there is no "savings of repairs since vios did not require any repairs ". heck it was initialy unfair since that would be contradicting your first assumption eh ?

remove that and well see better numbers, both actually close in price.

which would be the one to choose then ? :_:

y worry about spare parts from UMW coz spare parts can buy at normal spare part shop n it will be not that expensive !
n repairs can be done at normal repair shop or DIY ! only special one like tuning or electronic stuff need to go UMW coz they got the special equipments !
n com-on vios is not felali or porche coz everytime need to go Service centres !:shades_smile:

IMHO, i believe the threadstarter is aware which is a better make - Proton or Toyota.

but then I also believe this thread was created with budget in his mind.

i mean, if one can afford the Vios with similar budget and loan period - why not?
BUT

it turns out in the end that he will face difficulties in order to own Vios - that is have to stick for 7 years term. an extra 4 years compare to SNEO ownership.

which is why he asking - is it worth to do so? i stand to what i had mentioned earlier. buy the SNEO. its easier to sell after 3 years, u have at least 35K in hand and actually can afford to look at more expensive cars.

it does pay to be patient.

if he buys the Vios, he will be stuck with the same thing for 7 years. pathetic.

agreed wit joeker, always refer to the star for car's prices..

hmm.. proton vs toyota, simple thing, compare latest price of SE Ltd wit same year of proton.. then we can know wat will be for sneo n vios later.. eventhough i own proton, but for me toyota is better..

sneo quite nice, but really hate the interior, all plastic bags..

btw, my neighbour was proton's mech, said campro's critical sick was its ngine head, once kong need to wait long time to replace, can't repair lo..

proton designer never thinks wat will happens soon, they just design.. design n design.. later when probs come, mech need find all way to solve la..

yeah protons give problems no matter how new they are...plus it'll probably drop in value loadz compared to the vios