WTA: Owning a Evo VIII

Yes, I only drive auto in the last 5 years only and already bored with it! I suppose I'm also not fortunate enough yet to own exciting automatic cars to make me not miss manual cars.

I'm just an ERP consultant, managing a team of consultants for ERP projects. Masih jadi kuli saja...:smokin:

Jadi kuli or not, your years of experience and efforts should earn you decent money ~ :). If you talking about performance automatic, i gotta say, the Audi's, VWs, Mercs do offer attractive products. Audi for their turbo engines, VW for their DSG (not problematic those), Mercs for their 4matic and they just gone turbo recently.

That's why, all those are expensive cars, kuli macam I no money to buy those. I do like the AMG A45/CLA45, but the others not really that interested. Maybe after 8-10yrs can buy a used one already. :bawling:

You sounded too humble haha ... Don't need AMG le, for me its too overrated. I prefer real driving pleasure that includes clutch and stick shift.

Dreaming too big already hahaha...

I'm still sticking to EVO ... No sidetrack lo hehe. :burnout:

You sounded too humble haha ... Don't need AMG le, for me its too overrated. I prefer real driving pleasure that includes clutch and stick shift.

I'm still sticking to EVO ... No sidetrack lo hehe. :burnout:

Yeah Evo is good enough, the best value for money for performance car and still with manual gearbox! :driver: Has the potential to match or put to shame almost any car out there even after more than 10yrs old, a true legend!

One down side of the EVO, ordinary people can't see its value ~ Especially typical aunties and uncles ... Really annoyed by some relatives boasting about their children get luxury cars and shit. Other black sheeps like other cousins and me who have different ideas on cars, they said we are immature, those cars can't fetch any resale value and shit. Sometimes just felt like asking them to shut the hell up and drive your stupid junk, and stay away from commenting our passion. Hate it the most when they said those cars can't fetch children and oldies. If i will have children, i make sure my children knows their dad's passion in real driving pleasure.

Evo is a special niche car, only for those special ones who appreciate driving and value for performance, for gear heads only and not for those typical ordinary people. It is a proper sedan with 4 doors, 4 seats, A/C, and basic features that you need so surely enough and can be a daily driver to fetch kids and go grocery shopping! Of course not as comfortable as comfort is never the main priority for the car but still enough as basic necessity. Those who said it cannot fetch good RV then you should tell them to just find out how much an Evo IX asking price still is! Compare that with some BMW, VW, Mercs, or even Camry of the same age then we talk again. :thefinger: I do wish it does not have such strong RV so I can buy it now already without having to persuade the wife!

Just yesterday I saw the Singapore pink Evo IX driven by a girl! She's well known in the Evo forums and clubs as the rare female who owns an Evo. Two thumbs up for her!

As for kids, my boys actually want me to buy 1, my older one even asked me to buy so later he can learn to drive in it! :biggrin:

A lot of them are like that. Don't need to waste your breath and energy arguing with them. Just give them a smile :rofl:

Evo is a special niche car, only for those special ones who appreciate driving and value for performance, for gear heads only and not for those typical ordinary people. It is a proper sedan with 4 doors, 4 seats, A/C, and basic features that you need so surely enough and can be a daily driver to fetch kids and go grocery shopping! Of course not as comfortable as comfort is never the main priority for the car but still enough as basic necessity. Those who said it cannot fetch good RV then you should tell them to just find out how much an Evo IX asking price still is! Compare that with some BMW, VW, Mercs, or even Camry of the same age then we talk again. :thefinger: I do wish it does not have such strong RV so I can buy it now already without having to persuade the wife!

Just yesterday I saw the Singapore pink Evo IX driven by a girl! She's well known in the Evo forums and clubs as the rare female who owns an Evo. Two thumbs up for her!

As for kids, my boys actually want me to buy 1, my older one even asked me to buy so later he can learn to drive in it! :biggrin:

They are too friggin close minded and traditional to talk to. I grew up by following closely with cars. Started with the Tamiya 4WD, built and modified by myself :rofl:. It was easy for school kids hehe. Now i am an responsible adult, i don't grow old, i just grow bigger :rofl:. That's why i am waiting for my new machine to come when i am financially stronger, for now i am happy with my Lancer GT and BMW e46 coupe.

A lot of them are like that. Don't need to waste your breath and energy arguing with them. Just give them a smile :rofl:

They are too old to feel our passion. After all, they are boring persons to talk to, even though they travel the world but their minds are so narrow. Guess they only go and watch what is happening out of Malaysia. Didn't friggin learn any of it that make them wiser. I once talked to an Aussie grandpa that build his own Ford Falcon in his backyard, he was 60 years old but drive like a maniac. That was during my Masters time in Aussie, man the oldies look old but they are just children that looks old. :rofl:

Wow! they really look at status dy......:banghead:

They are too friggin close minded and traditional to talk to. I grew up by following closely with cars. Started with the Tamiya 4WD, built and modified by myself :rofl:. It was easy for school kids hehe. Now i am an responsible adult, i don't grow old, i just grow bigger :rofl:. That's why i am waiting for my new machine to come when i am financially stronger, for now i am happy with my Lancer GT and BMW e46 coupe.

They are too old to feel our passion. After all, they are boring persons to talk to, even though they travel the world but their minds are so narrow. Guess they only go and watch what is happening out of Malaysia. Didn't friggin learn any of it that make them wiser. I once talked to an Aussie grandpa that build his own Ford Falcon in his backyard, he was 60 years old but drive like a maniac. That was during my Masters time in Aussie, man the oldies look old but they are just children that looks old. :rofl:

Well cannot say they're too old or close minded la. That's normal, no need to be offended and be judgmental to them. If you ask me, 99.9% of the population including our families and loved ones will have the same thoughts, why do you need those AWD AYC, 300HP turbo with very cheap interior, not that comfortable, and drinks so much fuel too, why need to buy a manual car, mostly already abused >10yrs old at such high prices and it's only a Mitsubishi??? Most people take cars as mode of transportation, so no need to have all those performance, but they all just need comfort, and cheap to own and maintain. That's just common sense which is valid too. Those are reasons why an Evo will never sell like a normal Corolla or a Civic and already discontinued (even though now rumors has it it may reborn again). I'm not saying we're wrong and they're right or vice versa, it all depends on your individual situation and how you perceive things. We also have to be mature enough to understand their perspective.

The Evo can be the right car for you if you enjoy driving and performance and have enough budget to care for it and yet do not/cannot spend as much as buying AMG or M cars for example. Other than that, it's not a suitable car. So like I said it's a very niche market for really special hardcore people only, and only these similar kind of people can understand why anyone own or want to own this sort of car. You don't need to expect people to understand that coz they just can't!

I used to have an auntie that recognises only Merc. Ask her other cars, she said donno. When see a Merc, she said "Masilee"

Perhaps old folks, auntie/unker perceive luxury cars are better than the rest. Luxury cars have the presence, big, solid looking and classy.

Well cannot say they're too old or close minded la. That's normal, no need to be offended and be judgmental to them. If you ask me, 99.9% of the population including our families and loved ones will have the same thoughts, why do you need those AWD AYC, 300HP turbo with very cheap interior, not that comfortable, and drinks so much fuel too, why need to buy a manual car, mostly already abused >10yrs old at such high prices and it's only a Mitsubishi??? Most people take cars as mode of transportation, so no need to have all those performance, but they all just need comfort, and cheap to own and maintain. That's just common sense which is valid too. Those are reasons why an Evo will never sell like a normal Corolla or a Civic and already discontinued (even though now rumors has it it may reborn again). I'm not saying we're wrong and they're right or vice versa, it all depends on your individual situation and how you perceive things. We also have to be mature enough to understand their perspective.

The Evo can be the right car for you if you enjoy driving and performance and have enough budget to care for it and yet do not/cannot spend as much as buying AMG or M cars for example. Other than that, it's not a suitable car. So like I said it's a very niche market for really special hardcore people only, and only these similar kind of people can understand why anyone own or want to own this sort of car. You don't need to expect people to understand that coz they just can't!

Well said, bro. 6UE5t, even my daughter prefer to drive my old VR, except for traffic jam then she prefer an auto.....hhahahhaha:rofl:

I used to have an auntie that recognises only Merc. Ask her other cars, she said donno. When see a Merc, she said "Masilee"

Perhaps old folks, auntie/unker perceive luxury cars are better than the rest. Luxury cars have the presence, big, solid looking and classy.

Exactly bro. Ken, older folks were shown only the Mercedes those days, and more or less it is stuck in their mind that Merc is the top of the range for cars. Just like those days when you see a "gwai loh" he would be chauffeur driven, or drive a nice luxury car as most of them are expatriate and works high profile jobs, so in our mind we think they were powerful and high ranking, but nowadays we know they are just like you and me......hhahahhahahha:rofl:

Nah my maturity depends on who i'm dealing with. Towards them i will just ask them to stick it when it sun shines. I have no obligation to look from their perspective as i don't have to. I earn my own money and buy whatever i like. Luckily my gf share the same interest with me, but for now, i am waiting for the right time. As in i am just got into a new job, gotta focus on building my financial strength first, i'm getting closer now :wavey:

What's with Singaporean chicks man? I know a Singaporean lady FD owner, modified too. What a car... suspect it's sold already though considering the age and being Singapore and all.

As for kids, sigh. I get this quite often whenever my daughter sees a modified car : "Papa sports car! See sports car! Why your car not sports car? Can make sports car?"

HAHAHAHA! DAMN! I had a very similar experience when I arranged a wedding car for a relative. All asking me what car then when I said Bentley Continental Flying Spur the old folks all scoffed at me asking why never get Bee Em Double-U or Merseydis. Until the car actually showed up, then all kept quiet.

What's with Singaporean chicks man? I know a Singaporean lady FD owner, modified too. What a car... suspect it's sold already though considering the age and being Singapore and all.

As for kids, sigh. I get this quite often whenever my daughter sees a modified car : "Papa sports car! See sports car! Why your car not sports car? Can make sports car?"

HAHAHAHA! DAMN! I had a very similar experience when I arranged a wedding car for a relative. All asking me what car then when I said Bentley Continental Flying Spur the old folks all scoffed at me asking why never get Bee Em Double-U or Merseydis. Until the car actually showed up, then all kept quiet.

Hahaha my cousin initial wanted to arrange a Subaru Impreza Convoy for his wedding. His parents and parents in law shouted up and down those are lala chai's car. My cousin is a highly educated Architect, then he said shut it its my wedding and my style. Unfortunately the wife somehow wanted a more luxury one, in the end they go for Mercedes S Classe. After the wedding he said damn bo song ... But i told him, it's you and your wife's wedding, you need to compromise your bromance for her. That's why getting married all about, compromising and sacrificing. After all, they are just cars, your wife and parents in law can't see the point then so be it lo.

Exactly bro. Ken, older folks were shown only the Mercedes those days, and more or less it is stuck in their mind that Merc is the top of the range for cars. Just like those days when you see a "gwai loh" he would be chauffeur driven, or drive a nice luxury car as most of them are expatriate and works high profile jobs, so in our mind we think they were powerful and high ranking, but nowadays we know they are just like you and me......hhahahhahahha:rofl:

It's okay, I still love my Wira very much :rofl:
The irony is my Wira costs more than my dad's Merz 300SE

Hahaha, that Singaporean girl with the pink Evo is also quite active. I saw her also join one big gathering between SG & MY Evo owners sometime back in Cameron Highland. She's surely still using her car now as I saw her only few days ago in KL-Seremban Highway here, just driving slowly in the middle lane.

My kids are like this: "Dad, that's an Evo, over take it! Dad, that's a GTR, can we catch it?" But then when we drive up Genting: "Dad, slowdown PLEASE! :rofl: