well, guys will try to help out if possible. btw i own a evo 7 2001.
personally, evo 7, 8 , 8MR n 9 share the same platform CT-9A....other expert guys correct me if i salah ok? cheers.
try to get a original evo 7 in original trim....what i really mean is the engine is in stock condition WITHOUT modifications..that means change in boost, a lot of additions to the engine what so ever....
modded engines means they are raced....hard. why would u mod an evo? to race lah. more power. bear in mind that a ori evo is also a racr at heart but at least its not trashed hard either in tracks or road/drags race.
* this is the downside of buying a recon car...bear in mind lah guys. my evo is also a recon 46km mileage....
if changes involve an air filter..ok lah...rims okay lah, suspension ok lah....maybe harder only but is alright. most important is the turbo engine. turbo timers also ok lah
btw, dun trust the low mileage...they can always change it digital or analogue...
another important thing is...if the car is modded geng...tt means they are come with some meters n ECUs which could be taken out (u know hush hush to sell away). without the ECUs, the car will probably not run properly.
i hav seen an altezza with a temp meter taken out but the wires r still there! on the dashboard!!! grosss....
heres what i did.....as advice lah:
i tested my car, drive slow to listen for any unusual sounds....konks clinks...then push it to try the turbo rush n listen to sounds again.
do some simple cornerings...the evo ayc/acd system should go into action...by right u should not hear any sounds at all...if u hear some "tok tok" sound on ur left endside near the boot(the ayc pump is there) ayc maybe dying. go for a check.
ur ori suspension is quite hard..springs r hard..needs getting use tolah.... u should feel very stable when doing cornering. trust me, ur car sticks to the road..hahahhaha
hope this info helps guys.
btw, my evo ayc pump broke down. when u start the car...the ACD settings with 3 lights : tarmac, gravel n snow came on ALL together n nvr went off. by right u should just see one light on depending on what setting ACD button u press. some info.
once chnaged to a new AYC pump from japan, no more problems. am happy with mine. so far, only evo 7s have this ayc problem..havent heard of evo 8 having ayc pump problems b4...anyone heard?
go test the car. dun care what the sales bugger say. YOU are buying not him. take ur time. choose wisely. if u suspect anything, get a trustworthy mechanic to go with u.
best of luck guys.