Matching sports spring with stock absorbers ...appreciate feedback

Hi Sifus,

Quick question. Hope you all can clarify for me. After you change to a lowering sports spring, will you see the drop in height immediately or you have to let it "run-in" for a few days before you see the drop??

Coz i just install H&R Sport Spring on my 408T, but i see no drop in height... =(

---------- Post added at 11:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:56 AM ----------

Hi Sifus,

Quick question. Hope you all can clarify for me. After you change to a lowering sports spring, will you see the drop in height immediately or you have to let it "run-in" for a few days before you see the drop??

Coz i just install H&R Sport Spring on my 408T, but i see no drop in height... =(

its plug n play which mean its a straight change and yr ride is lower.
few km run in and u wont notice much different.
lowering spring is always shorter than stock spring,didnt u notice the length?

is it dedictaed to yr car model?

I didnt notice the drop in height after installing =(
Yes. The H&R Sports Spring is compatible for my 408T.
I didnt compare the H&R with my stock springs.
The guys at the shop said it will drop after run-in a few days.

What you guys think?? Any advise on this matter?? =(

Some springs will take time to settle in. Even stock Wira springs are ridiculously high on install and after a few days it'll settle to normal height.

So it's likely you'll only see the height lowered after a few days. But I suspect it won't be too much height difference. What spring rates did you opt for?

Some springs will take time to settle in. Even stock Wira springs are ridiculously high on install and after a few days it'll settle to normal height.

So it's likely you'll only see the height lowered after a few days. But I suspect it won't be too much height difference. What spring rates did you opt for?

Oh, how to check the sports spring rate that I bought? :stoned:

Hi Sifus,

Did you put the springs side-by-side to compare the length?

It'll lower after a few drive round the block.. but after a few days if the height has not lower, check the installation.

Well, i hope you are right that it will drop after few days. I dont know the spring rates. How do you check?? This is the spring i got:

http://www.h-r.com/en/sport-springs.html

Thanks guys

Well, it should have the numbers on the spring itself, so you can determine the rate and all from there.

It isnt written on the springs itself....I attached the pic here.
Any advise sifus here???

• 20140808_145129.jpg
    20140808_145129.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 108
Spring rate 91K :rofl:
Not sure lol

91k? what you talking about?....:sleep::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:16 PM ----------

Any advise sifus here???

I read somewhere at another forum they say even H&R don't release the spring rate?...:hmmmm:

Well, i hope you are right that it will drop after few days. I dont know the spring rates. How do you check?? This is the spring i got:

http://www.h-r.com/en/sport-springs.html

Thanks guys

Any advise sifus here???

from the pic....

i think spring lenght is 290mm with 48Nm/mm a.k.a 4.8kg/mm rate (4.8k what ppl do call it) for rear....and i personally would say it is a bit harder than common proton tipical rate on rear....

so height drop maybe need running in time...try drive over speedbump slightly faster to get faster running in of the springs :biggrin:

None of the stamping indicate the spring rate.. those are just serial numbers. Most german makers (eibach, h&r, vogtland etc) don't really publish spring rates because they are progressive.. and they are secretive :hmmmm:

Ah! now I know why some have and some don't.....:adore:

---------- Post added at 07:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

Apa itu maksud "Progressive"?? "-_-

If you look at your springs, they have closer coils and coils that are further apart. Progressive means they can be soft at first and when further compressed they becomes harder. The coils that are further apart are softer, so when they get compressed and becomes closer together like the closer coils the springs rate become harder

Ahhhhh....Soh-Des-Neh...Now i know what progressive springs mean...Thank you very much...

So does that mean progressive springs are not that performance oriented?? Since it is still soft at the beginning until it is being compressed??

Any any advise on my ride's height situation?? Just give it a couple more days??

---------- Post added at 08:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:35 PM ----------

Ahhhhh....Soh-Des-Neh...Now i know what progressive springs mean...Thank you very much...

So does that mean progressive springs are not that performance oriented?? Since it is still soft at the beginning until it is being compressed??

Any any advise on my ride's height situation?? Just give it a couple more days??

---------- Post added at 08:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:35 PM ----------

i wont say its not that performance oriented.
IMHO it is better that way as to retain the comfort.
Its not that its going to wobble at high speed as its softer for a few moment.
Its not that softer than the stock spring.

This is based on my exp with local made Proride spring with the same progressive spring though u wont see it clearly on the design as your HR spring.
Ever heard someone telling that after installing sport spring (which supposed to be harder than OE ), their ride becomes even more comfortable?
This actually happen to me, well its sort of a yes and no answer actually.
On minor bump, u can almost not feel it. With stock spring, it will move a bit and these minor movement on a long journey can be tiring which happen on stock spring.

However when the softer part has fully absorb the force and the harder part comes in, its a different story. Remember the part where we are discussing about matching sport spring with stock absorber?
This is where the problem lies. Most stock absorber just cant cope with the spring force.

Back to your question,
Is it less performance oriented?
Go whack a long sweeping corner which u always drive through.Drive at your usual speed and have another go, slowly increasing the speed. I bet u will notice lesser body roll.
U might also notice better braking.

i wont say its not that performance oriented.
IMHO it is better that way as to retain the comfort.
Its not that its going to wobble at high speed as its softer for a few moment.
Its not that softer than the stock spring.

This is based on my exp with local made Proride spring with the same progressive spring though u wont see it clearly on the design as your HR spring.
Ever heard someone telling that after installing sport spring (which supposed to be harder than OE ), their ride becomes even more comfortable?
This actually happen to me, well its sort of a yes and no answer actually.
On minor bump, u can almost not feel it. With stock spring, it will move a bit and these minor movement on a long journey can be tiring which happen on stock spring.

However when the softer part has fully absorb the force and the harder part comes in, its a different story. Remember the part where we are discussing about matching sport spring with stock absorber?
This is where the problem lies. Most stock absorber just cant cope with the spring force.

Back to your question,
Is it less performance oriented?
Go whack a long sweeping corner which u always drive through.Drive at your usual speed and have another go, slowly increasing the speed. I bet u will notice lesser body roll.
U might also notice better braking.

Sometimes is kinda in dilemma in terms of improve handling. Previously only using stock springs and SACHS which is also just normal absorber + stiff rings, handling improve due to stiff rings actually. Then got the Sports Springs which I have yet to use yet.

But then it amaze me that even side lower bars makes a difference in terms of handling but using same suspension and stock springs. Lesser chassis flex I would call it or less body roll even though is not an anti-roll bar.

So seriously, can we just maintain using stock absorbers and springs but just improve handling merely depending on the bars alone? That way comfort won't be compromise too much? Just came into my mind after noticing the difference.

Sometimes is kinda in dilemma in terms of improve handling. Previously only using stock springs and SACHS which is also just normal absorber + stiff rings, handling improve due to stiff rings actually. Then got the Sports Springs which I have yet to use yet.

But then it amaze me that even side lower bars makes a difference in terms of handling but using same suspension and stock springs. Lesser chassis flex I would call it or less body roll even though is not an anti-roll bar.

So seriously, can we just maintain using stock absorbers and springs but just improve handling merely depending on the bars alone? That way comfort won't be compromise too much? Just came into my mind after noticing the difference.

I do think i mention on my exp with bars somewhere in ZTH rite?

Allow me to share it again on my BLM 08.
Everything else is stock, bars installed;
1.front upper strut
2.front lower arm bar
3.rear anti roll bar

The result is almost amazing. I mean it wont tapau everything on the road but it makes the driving experience improved by a mile. Anything it cant tapau, it can put scare on the opponent's face and makes them gave you 'the look' .
Only if i had a bigger engine.....

There was this one time at abt 5 am. The BLM was from Gemencheh heading to Shah Alam for a meeting.
Upon reaching a junction at Geduhum a Vios was going ballistic and high beam be frantically not letting the BLM into the junction as he as supposedly going too fast...heh..
Even without the bar, BLM handling is better than Vios.
The bar makes it sweeter...even sweeter to see the challenger backs off every time a corner present it self.From Selaru-Kuala Pilah-Bukit Putus, the other driver gave it his best but just wont shake the BLM.

To me, bars is better than sport spring if u want to retain some of the comfort level.The ride is a bit harder so u can imagine whats it like with sports spring installed.

BTW, UR had increased their price. my rear ARB which i got for RM 250 last time is now priced at RM300.

I do think i mention on my exp with bars somewhere in ZTH rite?

Allow me to share it again on my BLM 08.
Everything else is stock, bars installed;
1.front upper strut
2.front lower arm bar
3.rear anti roll bar

The result is almost amazing. I mean it wont tapau everything on the road but it makes the driving experience improved by a mile. Anything it cant tapau, it can put scare on the opponent's face and makes them gave you 'the look' .
Only if i had a bigger engine.....

There was this one time at abt 5 am. The BLM was from Gemencheh heading to Shah Alam for a meeting.
Upon reaching a junction at Geduhum a Vios was going ballistic and high beam be frantically not letting the BLM into the junction as he as supposedly going too fast...heh..
Even without the bar, BLM handling is better than Vios.
The bar makes it sweeter...even sweeter to see the challenger backs off every time a corner present it self.From Selaru-Kuala Pilah-Bukit Putus, the other driver gave it his best but just wont shake the BLM.

To me, bars is better than sport spring if u want to retain some of the comfort level.The ride is a bit harder so u can imagine whats it like with sports spring installed.

BTW, UR had increased their price. my rear ARB which i got for RM 250 last time is now priced at RM300.

Ya I don't think I see your thread anywhere with bars.

That I have to agree. My stock BLM handling is much better than the Toyota, even Almera dare not whack the LDP corners...road bully but no balls to whack corners. :biggrin:

Ya, that is what I was thinking, if bars can improve the handling and I do not need to sacrifice too much comfort, then maybe just go with sports absorbers and bars.

Depends on what springs, they do lower but depends on what springs.
Can check out here....
H&R Springs | Products || H&R Special Springs, LP