Choice of Project Car

It's still partly manufacture problems, kancil wasn't designed to go beyond 80km/h
Proton, perodua in pre-2002 model are very old chassis, old design, poor materials used to build.

This is undeniable facts why 80% of high speed killed are local made car. Our shit government didn't, and doesn't take it seriously.
They high duties force manufacture to cut cost.

How many well made car kill driver and passengers under 60km/h vs how driver & passenger got killed in local brand car under 60km/h,
Then u see the different

In conclusion, proton (other than satria) and k car should stay out of this topic.
I don't see any valid point discussing their soft chassis

Why other than Satria? Perdana and Putra is that bad also?

why your wanna take a long wheelbase, heavy car to start with? then spending thousand to shed xxKG? doesnt make sense to start with. Plus, Long wheelbase with front wheel drive?

Putra? to be honest, i doubt the chassis is good, plus aint cheap

you are welcome to defend with any valid facts.

---------- Post added at 11:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:14 PM ----------

Got, a cheaper platform to afford modification and as project cars. Like K3VET in Myvi, Kelisa, kenari and Kancil L2 and etcs.

as i stated, No k car.

MYVI is suppose not bad, but COG (center of gravity) is too high to start with. i'm almost driving everyday, although it isnt my car

---------- Post added at 11:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:16 PM ----------

i suggest everyone goes to learn why certain cars are perform so well, what's the black magic inside, and for most importantly learn it from design perspective

- suspension design, geometry
- center of gravity
- weight distribution
- power delivery

chassis is something hard to learn, because manufacture never release the stiffness of it. but ideally, we want a stiff chassis to consider a good car. never flex, never twist after continuously hard cornering

Where is everyone?

im here...reading though, haven't thought of any comments to add though. been running through mudah to find a suitable car. particularly looking for jap older performance cars since their resale value seems to hold v well even though of the car's age.

I'm actually still wondering why these car can't just get any cheaper?
A lot of them stay in 50k range? Why?

1. Can't take loan, cash deal, how many can afford?
2. Old car = some good maintenance needed
3. They was wracking the road with speed for ages.

I have notice a lot of them can't sell as well, been advertise for month.
Since the supply couldn't meet demand, why can't the price go down?

MR2, 180sx are kinda expensive for what they are.

a lot of project@track car sell at mudah..
Nissan Skyline R32 (M) RB30DET -91 32k
Toyota Celica (M) - GT Four WD -98 45k
Nissan Skyline (M) R32 GTR ORIGINAL track only -89 rm24500
Honda Integra (M) dc5 type r track -02 RM45k
Mazda RX-7 (M) -88 fc RM 22 000
BMW E39 535i (M) -04 RM 60 000
Toyota AE86 Coupe 1jz track -86 22k

a lot of project@track car sell at mudah..
Nissan Skyline R32 (M) RB30DET -91 32k
Toyota Celica (M) - GT Four WD -98 45k
Nissan Skyline (M) R32 GTR ORIGINAL track only -89 rm24500
Honda Integra (M) dc5 type r track -02 RM45k
Mazda RX-7 (M) -88 fc RM 22 000
BMW E39 535i (M) -04 RM 60 000
Toyota AE86 Coupe 1jz track -86 22k

i think track spec Integra Type R can get cheap than 45k
cuz those car not valid to register

of coz is not valid on the road..
if buy track car,all performance part is their.no need to upgrade.
i f want buy road legal,that price is double.80k above.

I'm actually still wondering why these car can't just get any cheaper?
A lot of them stay in 50k range? Why?

1. Can't take loan, cash deal, how many can afford?
2. Old car = some good maintenance needed
3. They was wracking the road with speed for ages.

I have notice a lot of them can't sell as well, been advertise for month.
Since the supply couldn't meet demand, why can't the price go down?

MR2, 180sx are kinda expensive for what they are.

Yea.. 50k is not a small amount for most people to fork out and for most people that can afford, they would rather go for a newer car instead. Buying these old japanese classics will need some more money for maintenance as well.. I am located in jb and getting a car from other states is troublesome?

Don't think so u just gonna drive to back or tow it.

This is so weird, suppose 50k is big amount for anyone living with salary
But it seem nothing can get done with it

50k for an old car + the maintenance to get it working normally will probably total up to a price of a new Honda City or Toyota Vios. But this is arguable because one cannot be sure about what sort of maintenance or repair is needed.

Just remember that these are performance oriented cars not like our normal cars. Their price might cost around the same but the maintenance and service price is definitely not cheap compared to normal cars. That is the trade-off for getting a car that offers a much more fun and unique driving experience compared to normal cars.

Putra chassis no good? It's the c99 chassis. The best amongst all the Wira and Satrias. If not mistaken there's a rally 1.8 Wira that has a reinforced c99 chassis that makes is impenetrable. But it'll be a miracle to find one of those limited edition Wiras.

Anyway, the Putra C99 chassis is good up to 300 whp. I've seen a torn chassis with a crazy modified NA 4G93 that had more WHP than that.

Drove a Putra with 4G93 NA rebore to 1.9 before and power delivery is much linear. Not to mentioned higher redline(compare to turbo) and boxer like exhaust setup.
We can always spot welding the chassis for more durability. And there are aftermarket strut bars to play with. Too bad JPJ may had their way on visible spot welded chassis.

Putra chassis no good? It's the c99 chassis. The best amongst all the Wira and Satrias. If not mistaken there's a rally 1.8 Wira that has a reinforced c99 chassis that makes is impenetrable. But it'll be a miracle to find one of those limited edition Wiras.

Anyway, the Putra C99 chassis is good up to 300 whp. I've seen a torn chassis with a crazy modified NA 4G93 that had more WHP than that.

I've heard Satrias going until like 400-500hp. Can putra do the same? Or at least tell me what will happen if the chassis can't stand the power

for FF car, any figure beyond 350 is beyond reliability (this is what i believe)
front end exhibits high stress

if you have money to crank the engine to 400-500hp, you rather strip out every thing, make it track purpose /single purpose car. Trolling on the road with 400-500hp FF? very very unwise, i dare to say, the stupidest thing ever done.

Don't think so u just gonna drive to back or tow it.

This is so weird, suppose 50k is big amount for anyone living with salary
But it seem nothing can get done with it

Well... I mean the viewing and stuff. It is troublesome to go all the way and find the car is not what you wanted