Why upgrade to high performance camshafts??

Ah Ok...nevermind. Didn't think HKS or Ralliart had anything for Waras...hehe

tq bro for the info. me still looking for camshaft that suits our 4g92p.. can u use air cond since your cam's degree is quite high, over 272 is consider highcam rite.... if can sure mechanic is familar with performance cam..

can i test drive u ride ? hehehe... nak jugak merasa piprercam tu..
mine switch on aircond still ok ahh... idle at 1k rpm.. no vibrate also... can idle at 800 rpm geh, but dun wan lah... irritated by the vibration oledi....

my pipercams not significant lah... not like matspeed cams, can feel the sudden push when it enters the powerband.... mine jz rev up abit smoother only...

Got HKS and Ralliart for Iswara meh ? Are they adjustables ? :burnout:

I'm using 14" tyres with Yokos Advan Neova at the moment wor. Looking at getting the car as low as it can go with 14". My GAB SA absorbers & springs is pretty OK for street use. They are a world of difference compared to stock suspension but I think still not aggressive as I would like...still a lot of 'wiggle room' during hard-cornering, if you know what I mean.

Sorry if I'm going off-topic from the thread title but if it's all the same to all you petrol-heads, we are still talking about car mods :proud:

Skywalker,

Kayaba RS adjustable ?
kayaba RS is not adjustable, its jz short stroke absorber... kayaba RS2 is adjustable... but kayaba RS2 is only for satria/wira/putra....

btw, my head ain't no petrol on it....so, i'm not petrol head. my sifu Sky is 100% petrol Head & Shoulder....hilang kan kelemumur...hahahaha..:burnout:
petrol head and shoulder??... petrol expensive lah, cannot use it to take bath...

Ah Ok...nevermind. Didn't think HKS or Ralliart had anything for Waras...hehe
err... HKS/Ralliart gearknob can consider??...

skywalker,
actually i'm looking for cam rite now, to give more power to my ride.. i need some opinion, should i get powerzone, matspeed or pipercam?

Thanks for the info on the Kayabas bro.

err... HKS/Ralliart gearknob can consider??...

A Ralliart gearknob won't help me go faster leh...just bling :burnout: On an un-related matter, you know what I always find funny are those Ah Beng cars with the big stickers 'Tuned by Razo'. Razo makes car interior accessories. Since when did they tune engines LOL

skywalker,
actually i'm looking for cam rite now, to give more power to my ride.. i need some opinion, should i get powerzone, matspeed or pipercam?

There was a recent discussion thread on performance cam on this forum where Sifu Skywalker and Sifu (I-forgot-his-name....he's got an Evo and a monter of an Iswara) talked about the various brands you mentioned. You might want to go back a couple pages of threads and look for that discussion. The title is easy to find.

If I remember correctly, they said pipercam is not really a factor in performance. Powerzone is good if you want some zing in your ride but still want some streetability. Matspeed has very good power but can sacrifice some streetability. Hey I could be wrong about what they said. My memory not good lah. Best you find that thread and read it yourself. BTW, I'm going to install Powerzone's.

There was a recent discussion thread on performance cam on this forum where Sifu Skywalker and Sifu (I-forgot-his-name....he's got an Evo and a monter of an Iswara) talked about the various brands you mentioned. You might want to go back a couple pages of threads and look for that discussion. The title is easy to find.

If I remember correctly, they said pipercam is not really a factor in performance. Powerzone is good if you want some zing in your ride but still want some streetability. Matspeed has very good power but can sacrifice some streetability. Hey I could be wrong about what they said. My memory not good lah. Best you find that thread and read it yourself. BTW, I'm going to install Powerzone's.

wow, u r going to install POwerzone's.. when? u r going to install at shah alam ke?
if u want to install powerzone's, u have to give them your original cam, in other words u exchange with them.

not expensive enuf if u not driving Volvo 2.5L Turbo...:adore:
why volvo 2.5L turbo leh??... i not unker leh, i dun drive unker car...:thefinger:

skywalker,
pipercams - less significant.. thats why cheap... but if ur mech is good in tuning, u can fully make use of the powerband....
powerzone cam - do have performance gain, more streetability... vr pricey..
matspeed - significant gain in performance... reasonably priced...

A Ralliart gearknob won't help me go faster leh...just bling :burnout: On an un-related matter, you know what I always find funny are those Ah Beng cars with the big stickers 'Tuned by Razo'. Razo makes car interior accessories. Since when did they tune engines LOL
hahaa... modding ur interior also requires certain level of tuning... such as which gearknob looks nice... does it matches ur steering and pedals.... bla bla bla...:rofl:

yea... sifoo FVel said is correct....

but i heard lately matspeed R&D team succeeded in improving their cam's streetability.... its cheaper than powerzone too... so, i recommend matspeed more...:biggrin:

wow, u r going to install POwerzone's.. when? u r going to install at shah alam ke?
if u want to install powerzone's, u have to give them your original cam, in other words u exchange with them.
have to go glenmarie to get ur powerzone cams lor... but if u oledi got the cams from someone and jz wanna install n tune it, any workshop capable of tuning highcams also can do geh... no need purposely go back to powerzone workshop...

Fvel dude, hows d progress? car out soon?

aril 2303, u want more power but still decent streetability u can opt for matspeed 272 cams, powerzone's ones are good as well, milder spec, very streetable,

272 degree pipercams are not bad, very good price, good streetability, but power-wise is not comparable with matspeed 272 cams...i compared the cam lobes side by side and it is very noticeable that the lobes on the 272 matspeed cams are fatter than the pipercam ones, meaning that pipercam specs are overstated...

yea.. thats the problem with pipercams... the mechanic installed n tuned my cams also said the cams is out of spec....

Fvel dude, hows d progress? car out soon?

Not yet lah. You wouldn't believe it. I didn't believe it either. Everything was all set. On the very day of the trip to Glenmarie, my buddy was in the lead car going through Simpang Pulai Toll. When I stopped to pay the toll the engine died. Immediately suspect timing belt because it sounded like it when we tried to start, battery was checked OK the day before. Pushed to the side, open up the timing belt cover...sure enough...timing belt broke.... fark me ! ....what lousy timing for the timing belt....luckily car was stationary when broke and also not far from Ipoh. Trip practically ended before it started LOL

Felt like bloody Lewis Hamilton...can already smell the Championship Title but engine koyak at last race Interlagos.

4 bent valves. Considering the circumstances, the damage not too bad. Could have been worse had the car been moving at speed.

So now I fix another date with Powerzone to bring the car in. Soon. The 4G15 already blueprinted and ready for transplant.

I already made a deal with them to do a complete makeover for the car. Yes, I have to send the car to Glenmarie which is their nearest outlet from Ipoh. You interested, you can talk to them leh. Their boss is a nice guy.

Fvel, ure pretty lucky to have gotten away with just bent valves..heh

must go dyno ar! ur car become benchmark for my mods haha

Fvel, ure pretty lucky to have gotten away with just bent valves..heh

must go dyno ar! ur car become benchmark for my mods haha

heh...happened to one of my collegues once. Unfortunately for him his car was going at speed at the time. He had to kiss goodbye to all his valves.

Actually, I do plan to dyno the car. I want Powerzone to send the car for a dyno run after they are done with it. heh I also plan to have a closer look at their new supercharger when I get down to Glenmarie.

tofu_manic,
i went to matspeed for few times, but always closed, want to ask them about their cams.. need to go there in two weeks times.. just want to get some info of cam matpeed, powerzone n pipercam..

fvel,
i already met their boss fow few times, and their product really suit our proton, since they are really expert with proton.. their supercharger really tempting, but the price expensive lah..

fvel,
i already met their boss fow few times, and their product really suit our proton, since they are really expert with proton.. their supercharger really tempting, but the price expensive lah..

I haven't seen the supercharger physically. Just read about it in Hypertune and also discussed it a little with Nazri (Powerzone's boss) when I talked to him over the phone.

To be frank, I think it all depends on your budget and what you are willing to pay for their service and attention to detail. Ideally, if you are a do-it-yourself kind of guy, with the competency to install your own stuff, then you can always save a load of money by getting the stuff yourself and doing most of the wrench work yourself. I'm not that kind of guy and also I don't have the time/patience to hunt around forever. Sadly, in Ipoh, there's a lack of qualified people to do this sort of thing. You ask Ipoh people about 'blueprinting' and likely you get a different answer from everyone of them. The alternative is to let the qualified tuner do everything for you under one roof. I pay a little more so I can be assured it will be a good job and I don't have to worry. It's probably money I won't bother to save. In any case, I didn't think it was too expensive considering what I get back in return .....a brand new car with decent performance and upgraded safety (I also do a complete upgrade of the suspension, cooling and braking). All these mods I throw in the project will add up to the cost of course but I won't be satisfied with anything less.

maybe pz cam expensive bcoz the cam was regrounded at australia...268 degree if retard 4 degree equal to 272 degree performance...correct or not?

heyhei,anybdy knws hw much PZ sells der camshafts 4 4G91??? izit trade in wit our old ones o can jst buy it frm dem?? or does anybdy hav camshaft 4 4G91 4 sell?? hehehe...

tot PZ cams r reprofile.... take ori n reprofile it???

Write your reply...