what to mod on RX8

Is it possible to get Ama-san to come down here to tune a car if it's a big project?like an engine rebuild,ECU tuning,and all the others....like a big project by souping the whole car up...the looks,the power,the handling and everything...
Some fella here is negotiating with RE..... They will come for RX8 remaps and a RX7 totally rebuild by them, if the price is right........ But i dunno when will they be here, if not i'll stick with them....

Sounds like you wanna make a project car, if you interested call Lee from Wangan for more details....

I thought of the Greddy bolt-on turbo kit. But afraid the temperature will become too high. Anyone can confirm there will not be a problem ar?
You'll not just afraid about oil and water temp, but beware of E-Manage as well....... That thing cost me my engine..... Just make sure you add oil cooler and bigger aluminium radiator.....

Some fella here is negotiating with RE..... They will come for RX8 remaps and a RX7 totally rebuild by them, if the price is right........ But i dunno when will they be here, if not i'll stick with them....

Sounds like you wanna make a project car, if you interested call Lee from Wangan for more details....

Yes, it's true i want to do a project car...but I'm only 18...and next month on the 2nd, I'm going to England to work for 2 years just to save enough money to come back after that and try to import a Stock FD from Japan...and after that try to get Ama-San to re-do the whole car like changing all parts to new and as well as tuning it and add parts if the price is right...I hope at that time there's a chance he will come..I don't want my car to have not so good tuning and suddenly burst engine..that's annoying....why not just spend more and get the best?..and 2 years later as well...hope u are still here to help me..thx for the info anyway...appreciate it...btw...what car do u drive?

You'll not just afraid about oil and water temp, but beware of E-Manage as well....... That thing cost me my engine..... Just make sure you add oil cooler and bigger aluminium radiator.....

I think it's safer off to just get Apexi power FC as it is proven to be good for Rotary engines...last time Apexi team D1 RX7 FD3S..D1 GP 2003 winners...:regular_smile:

Yes, it's true i want to do a project car...but I'm only 18...and next month on the 2nd, I'm going to England to work for 2 years just to save enough money to come back after that and try to import a Stock FD from Japan...and after that try to get Ama-San to re-do the whole car like changing all parts to new and as well as tuning it and add parts if the price is right...I hope at that time there's a chance he will come..I don't want my car to have not so good tuning and suddenly burst engine..that's annoying....why not just spend more and get the best?..and 2 years later as well...hope u are still here to help me..thx for the info anyway...appreciate it...btw...what car do u drive?
Bro, since you can afford to get Ama-san to build up your dream car, why not get the new RX7 and be pioneer in this country, benefit all kind....... If you can't really afford to blow a rotary, better think twice..... High power = higher chances of blowing, applies to all kind of engine, not even Ama-san can give you a year warranty......

I drive RenesisT....

I think it's safer off to just get Apexi power FC as it is proven to be good for Rotary engines...last time Apexi team D1 RX7 FD3S..D1 GP 2003 winners...:regular_smile:
Apexi Power FC no longer compatible to new generation ecu....... Cars such as 350Z, RX8 and EVO9 can only use V-Pro, Motec, Ecutek, Unichip & etc...... Unless they introduce a 32 bit ECU, Power FC is considered doomed...... (Phat, pls don't shout me...... hehe)

I would prefer NA if can par with Evo in 400 meters. But modifying NA is far too expensive compare to the Turbo kit. I love the high RPM sound. If simply just add coolers devices, light weight flywheel, non piggy back ecu can let me immune to get over take by those wajalution or wilalution, I don't really need the turbo kit.

Another question, if NOS can kill the cat, will the car performance drop?

csl...ask elsm80 about the DC5 Integra with minimal mods done which smoked his friends RX8. Seriously....i doubt an RX8 will par with any Evo.

Honda car very popular to change their final drive gear. The pickup will significantly improved. That's why I asked about the final drive (but thread disappear).
I think I need to find a good place to install the Greddy BOT kit, as well as the light flywheel and coolers/radiator.

Hahah..... RX8 got heavier weight, bigger rim and lower torque engine, cannot fight with Type R one.... EVO can easily get 320hp on wheel, RX8 MT oni 180-190hp, NA vs Turbo is wrong.......

Honda car very popular to change their final drive gear. The pickup will significantly improved. That's why I asked about the final drive (but thread disappear).
I think I need to find a good place to install the Greddy BOT kit, as well as the light flywheel and coolers/radiator.
Don't buy Greddy BOT kit, get RE-Amemiya's kit if you want reliability....... Different is RE's kit got bigger injectors, Ultimate piggyback and Redom Mini (original ecu remap)..... price differents would be 5k......

Can get the RE kit in Malaysia ? RM5k different means about RM20k. Is that including workmanship and tuning? How is it looks like? If the output is better, it is worth for me to consider another few K.

Bro, since you can afford to get Ama-san to build up your dream car, why not get the new RX7 and be pioneer in this country, benefit all kind....... If you can't really afford to blow a rotary, better think twice..... High power = higher chances of blowing, applies to all kind of engine, not even Ama-san can give you a year warranty......

I drive RenesisT....

What u mean by 'get the new RX7 and be pioneer in this country,benefit all kind'?Pioneer of what?Sry...a bit blur....

Apexi Power FC no longer compatible to new generation ecu....... Cars such as 350Z, RX8 and EVO9 can only use V-Pro, Motec, Ecutek, Unichip & etc...... Unless they introduce a 32 bit ECU, Power FC is considered doomed...... (Phat, pls don't shout me...... hehe)

How bout the AFC Neo?

ahahahha not just phat7 will shout :) i also one of powerFC user :)
i witness how great is the powerFC working on our cars :)

i got poisoned by Phat7.. so me and phat7 think same way...
we bite :P ahahahahah

just joking...

AFCs are basically tune plus and minus the air fuel at the particular RPM...
you can't change any timing or turbo etc...also it allow 2 type which is by throttle difference.... at 0 to 50 %, one map, 50 to 100 another map.. that's the AFC...

Emanage gives 20x20 map...better.. but somehow phat7 says someone blow their engine on emanage.

PowerFC gives you... wahhhhhh 2 dimension... Y axis is boost pressure, and X axis is RPM.... 3rd dimension will be the temperature settings :)

aiseh lennon i wont shout wan lah!! ;)

For fd3s users with older engines 1992-1996 the pfc was an excellent add on as it replaced 8bit ecus to 16bit. One thing i've learned is that the increase from 16 to 32 is not necessarily for performance but rather more accessories that come from the factory which require ecu interface. In saying this it basically means that our 16bit ecu's would still calculate at pretty close speed given 32bit ecus have extra calculation per/milisecond for added input.

In the case of a single TC'd turbo i only use 6 sensors compared to the stock close to 30. But does this mean i have faster calculation? Yes!! If you can program the ecu to bypass sensors and 0.5v inputs. But how much difference- not much really.

You can actually test this when you interface and calculate program "strings" downloaded by accessing baud speed settings on your com port.

I hope this helps when it comes to ecus. My only advise is to go with one where you have a good tuner. Microtech/Haltech/Motec are great when compared to their japanese counterparts like fcon v pro/ powerfc. But luckily for me i have the interface that allows me to tune in english. In fact i've tuned alchemis car as well but we'll only be able to do more once we've got his wideband sensor.

Fcon v Pro - only certified HKS guys can tune via their software which is in Japanese. You can pay them to come here, which incidentally i did but it costs much more and it doesn't allow you to learn how to tune and understand the engine yourself. This is a no no for me as i wanted to get my hands dirty and understand how the ecu bloody works.

So my advice once again, get a ecu where there is lots of local support as the rotary is very different. We have 3 timing values (leading and Trailing & Split) which many tuners do not understand. When the engine blows they blame the rotary. To add to this you have coil dwelling in m/s. Fuelling is not tuning in a rotary. For more power it is a balance between fuelling and timing!!

hope this helps.

Can get the RE kit in Malaysia ? RM5k different means about RM20k. Is that including workmanship and tuning? How is it looks like? If the output is better, it is worth for me to consider another few K.
If you got money, what oso can get....... There's a RE kit brought in by Links last year...... 18k oni for the kits, installation and tuning maybe have to add 1k-2k depends where you do it..... RE kit and Greddy kit are similiar, but RE got 3 additonal items...... RE kit is not just about better output, it's about keeping your settings permanent..... Ask those fellas who used Greddy kit what problems they're having, then you'll know why RE kit is more complete kit...... I don wanna see another fella falls into this trap again.....

You donno there's New RX7 coming out in year 2008??

Really that a new RX-7 is coming out?i didn't know that,.....i just found a pivture of it...but i have to say it doesn't really look that good....

here it is...
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j307/e2fdlj/mazda_RX7.jpg