what car does waja design come from...

hahaha... thats why la... protong.. cannot make decision on their own.. in the end they have to asked the PM... haiya.. our PM doesnt have any design background la... no offence...

ha ha ha Dr.M knew nothing about modern cars but he used to be very powerful then...

if he say, we Malaysian must use left hand drive cars, then everybody have to change to LHD lohh...

me? i drive with both hands...

actually , the fact is there is no original design in this world . somekind of inspiration or somekind of pioneer in making design a style . just like MG Rover which has the almost same grill as the Audi . the Sonata has the absolutely rear end design like honda accord . as for real, it is certianly not a good investment for proton or whatever hyundai or even a kia to make their own design as trademark becasue they do not have a strong market jst like BMW , Mercedes , Audi ... those big players usually do have more guts to 'invent' a new design .

For proton waja , it is actually a car project started years around 1995-1996 , and it slowed down with the tanjung malim plant developement around 1997 on economy crisis . the fact of the design is it is styled by EDAG , an automotive design company in europe . and the over all design is by Malaysian . EDAG styled the car while Malaysian Designed it . it is based on the same platform as mitsubishi karisma which is also used by volvo on their small model , S40 . because it is designed to suit the european market which is proton first and biggest market , also becasue of EDAG , so they need to design something that is 'EUROPEAN' . same song for hyundai , their car first market is to USA , that is why the design is quite americian for some models ... you can see some ford design blood and the Carnival is quite the size for the chrysler voyage , they design the car to suit the market .

Originally posted by bridgestoneRE711@Apr 9 2005, 00:23

actually , the fact is there is no original design in this world . somekind of inspiration or somekind of pioneer in making design a style . just like MG Rover which has the almost same grill as the Audi . the Sonata has the absolutely rear end design like honda accord . as for real, it is certianly not a good investment for proton or whatever hyundai or even a kia to make their own design as trademark becasue they do not have a strong market jst like BMW , Mercedes , Audi ... those big players usually do have more guts to 'invent' a new design .

For proton waja , it is actually a car project started years around 1995-1996 , and it slowed down with the tanjung malim plant developement around 1997 on economy crisis . the fact of the design is it is styled by EDAG , an automotive design company in europe . and the over all design is by Malaysian . EDAG styled the car while Malaysian Designed it . it is based on the same platform as mitsubishi karisma which is also used by volvo on their small model , S40 . because it is designed to suit the european market which is proton first and biggest market , also becasue of EDAG , so they need to design something that is 'EUROPEAN' . same song for hyundai , their car first market is to USA , that is why the design is quite americian for some models ... you can see some ford design blood and the Carnival is quite the size for the chrysler voyage , they design the car to suit the market .
[snapback]880733[/snapback]​

ooo... i see.... nice info by the way man... so it means that our waja is wholly designed by malaysian la.... but got some small design cues from the european... now i understand lorr.... but still... proton designers are overshadowed by the politician and the money makers in malaysia automotive industry... the designers cannot design the car on their own... still have to follow all the tan sri's and datuk2 mind set... and that is= to used a lil bit of money but alot of income... so the material have to used low standard one... cannot desgn cangih2 coz later it gonna coz more money... and they want proton to mass produce their cars so that can sell easily.. the end product.. low quality workmanship... and easy to breakdown cars.... hish.. protong.. protong... :unsure:

show.jpg

*DING DONG*

Originally posted by AXXeLL@Apr 9 2005, 01:55
show.jpg

*DING DONG*
[snapback]880938[/snapback]​

like very familiar... what car is that on da right side?

Originally posted by bridgestoneRE711@Apr 9 2005, 00:23

[snapback]880733[/snapback]​

i think so too, cos ideas runs out anyway......

sonata is pretty similiar to jaguar tho........:)

my complaint is, it would b atleast reasonable is the waja n gen2 is price at sub rm50k

gen 2 no campro engine? then wat the heck is inside? i know waja is using mitsubishi engine but gen 2?

A fren of mine who came back from overseas told me that when he saw the WAJA, it reminded him of the Volkswagen Passat

Originally posted by lostdesigner@Mar 8 2005, 19:12
as u all know our proton wira design come from mitsubishi lancer.. and satria come from mirage version... so what does waja design come from.. or is it proton design throughly... and indepently... does the design have some cues from other cars.. so if any of u can help... i just want to know.. thats all.. thanx...
[snapback]799807[/snapback]​

i have seen a mitsubishi in seremban....i am not sure which model...but waja's rear almost resemble the mitsubishi car which i saw...the car was on the move & i could not read out the model name....the front was different...more sharper something like the mitsubishi galant 2.0....so eventhough waja is designed fully by proton R & R but they still have copied some cars....campur sini sana sikit lah.....the waja do looks garang with big rims & lowered but the ride is somewhat boring....everything's have a bulky feeling....from the gear lever to handbrake...&..right to the clutch pedal....more europeanlah....but not my taste....this is my opinion....

Originally posted by lostdesigner@Mar 8 2005, 19:12
as u all know our proton wira design come from mitsubishi lancer.. and satria come from mirage version... so what does waja design come from.. or is it proton design throughly... and indepently... does the design have some cues from other cars.. so if any of u can help... i just want to know.. thats all.. thanx...

i have seen a mitsubishi in seremban....i am not sure which model...but waja's rear almost resemble the mitsubishi car which i saw...the car was on the move & i could not read out the model name....the front was different...more sharper something like the mitsubishi galant 2.0....so eventhough waja is designed fully by proton R & R but they still have copied some cars....campur sini sana sikit lah.....the waja do looks garang with big rims & lowered but the ride is somewhat boring....everything's have a bulky feeling....from the gear lever to handbrake...&..right to the clutch pedal....more europeanlah....but not my taste....this is my opinion....

Originally posted by simon+Apr 15 2005, 15:54 -->
QUOTE(simon @ Apr 15 2005, 15:54 )
--QuoteBegin-lostdesigner
@Mar 8 2005, 19:12

[snapback]900572[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

There is no doubt that the current Lancer looks similiar to the Waja from behind, you only need to look as far as the Waja Evo 7 converts who seal their number plate areas and actually look like Evo7's from afar to know this :P. But I'm going to say that this is just a coincidence, for the most part they both came around the same time anyway. Kind of baseless since the Waja sits on the previous Lancer's chassis and not the current Lancer's. I quite like the driving characteristics of the Waja (even if the seat is still way too high and the steering wheel needs a reach adjustment) though maybe my height plays into this, feels great while the Gen2 feels too small or too tight to work with, and yes Waja's do look great lowered + large rims + subtle bodykit; what I drive for example:

http://img221.echo.cx/my.php?image=015cj.jpg

the Passat is the Jetta (Passat being the European name), and yes as someone mentioned, the Passat is 5 years younger than the Waja :P. (someone mentioned above)

the guys who are showing the Gen2's pic and the kompakt Merc C pic are dickwads, how about putting the new Sonata against the Accord? Oh wait, how about the Mitsubishi Colt vs the EF's, EG's and EK's? Miata vs Lotus Elan? miata prototype vs S2000? RX7 Efini vs Viper? RX7 FC vs Porsche? Why stop there, those copied QQ cars from China vs the original Chevy's/Daewoo's? The difference? only the QQ is an absolute rip off, the rest are not. Styling ques have always been there, and in my eyes the Waja does not _really_ rip off anything of note, other than the grill MAYBE. While the interior was driver centric as to BMW's older design pricnciples, does that mean anyone else who did the same guilty of "copying" BMW as well? If by your definition of copying means taking design cues and following them, then I entirely emplore proton to continue to do so with interiors since the Gen2 has got the most Unworkable interior I have ever used in my entire life.

Also the 6 series came out after the Gen2. Coincidence if anything, and you'd have to have quite a wild imagination to compare the two in the first place :P.

Agreed with u moe6, if we know that protong car is crap, why we still buying it?? just my 1.5 cent... be proud of what ur driving otherwise go for others... :P

I dont imagine proton will be so crappy for much longer, if all goes well with VW they could very well go with what they said to their suppliers, once VW comes in they'll have access to VW's suppliers and the local suppliers will have to compete.

At the very least there'll be less of the malaysian business get-rich-quick-mentality of making parts cheapest as possible and then charge damn alot for it.

honestly the only reason I'm even commenting about Proton anymore is because of their R3 division, if the company could be more like them they'd be well ahead.

If i am not wrong, the Jetta since 80's is the booted version of Golf. it is also known as Bora in some markets.
Ford of Europe used to practise same thing when the booted version of thier Escort is known as Ford Orion.

On the other hand Passat is in bigger league. see sample...

Golf = Focus = Audi A3 (similar in size)
Passat = Mondeo = Audi A6 (simillar in size).

Originally posted by zan@Apr 24 2005, 00:19
If i am not wrong, the Jetta since 80's is the booted version of Golf. it is also known as Bora in some markets.
Ford of Europe used to practise same thing when the booted version of thier Escort is known as Ford Orion.

On the other hand Passat is in bigger league. see sample...

Golf = Focus = Audi A3 (similar in size)
Passat = Mondeo = Audi A6 (simillar in size).
[snapback]922119[/snapback]​

haha yeah you're right :P. I'm not much of a VW person, i always get confused :C.

how well is proton design i dun know la..but wat i notice is they always change their logo.from saga to wira/satria/putra to waja/gen2. <_<

what is proton's logo btw?

the kite? (saga)
the wau? (iswara)
the rounded wau ?(wira/satria)
the tundercats singa? (waja/gentu)