VTEC turbo

Honda turbocharged in M'sia

I 've been to Drager Racing in KL with my friend [one of his Vtec customer] and notice that they mods quite a number of Vtec turbo [Mostly EG/EK] from a 1.5L. to 2.2L. street uses 170hp to the extreme 480 power.

I just want to bring this thread up...

Anyone one to share the experience with vtec turbos?? being smoked by....u ve smoked them...noticed any...so on n so forth..come on..I know theres a lot outta..

Im having constant problem with my engine mounting..especially the one at timing blet side gearbox and firewall...this year alone i ve changed 3 - 4 x...damn!

Any suggestion that can eliminate such hassle?? I m only using the standard ORI mounting.. I ve also tried to pump in the glass seal rubber to make it last. It only last me extra 1 or 2 months more than the standard one.

Any vtec turbo owners out there having the same prob?? advice please..

EG6SiRT? said:
Im having constant problem with my engine mounting..especially the one at timing blet side gearbox and firewall...this year alone i ve changed 3 - 4 x...damn!

Any suggestion that can eliminate such hassle?? I m only using the standard ORI mounting.. I ve also tried to pump in the glass seal rubber to make it last. It only last me extra 1 or 2 months more than the standard one.

Any vtec turbo owners out there having the same prob?? advice please..

Guess the additional torque must have over stressed the mounts.
Have not faced any of this problem yet..:regular_smile:
Only way to prelong the life of your mounts....Dun full throttle all the time laaaa

Ha ha ha,

its hard to do that when there lotsa Evos/SR/RBs around!!!!really hard...maybe u can teach me how to....

hmm... none of that problem for me.. been running my same mounts for 1 year plus now..

Have you tried harder mounts? Torque dampers actually do help if google for U.S. reviews.. :)

Blur,
Torque damper sounds good. but dunt know whether it helps..but worth a try. thanks anyway.

I also herd of the hard silicon mounting, dnt know whether it ll be good coz i herd it ll make you car shake n rattle ...how far its true..i dunt know

EG6SiRT...

What clutch set-up are you running now? Sprung or Unsprung disc? Normally the mounting at firewall break due to hard gear engagement.. or maybe you full throttle shift always... :)

sprung unit...it actually it does break "BREAK" if u know wut i mean. The rubber mounting always koyak!!ha ha. so i can feel the engine shaking...

Full throttle?not always la...oney when time really needed..ha ha.
lotsa temptation out there especially when u drive during midnite..LOL
I sayang my engine also...so depends on the rivals..!*wink!!*

Ha ha...

Act as blur_civic said.. how much comfort r u willing to give up. Hard silicon insert FTW bro....

Looking forward to our Vtec Turbo TT session... Heh heh

Yup , but im try to gather as much as we can first!! well keep u posted dude!

hey bros,

does da torque damper work n its only on da timing belt side rite??? I jus changed 4 out of da 5 mountings which made my wallet koyak... really 1 2 take care of da new mountings...

I think it ll minimised your engine movement when you accelarate and deccelarate. Overall i think itll make your mounting last longer. I have not use it but it think that will be the whole concept of the torque damper.
correct me if im wrong!

but can torque damper 4 b16a fit d16a engine???

other than that i want 2 make my engine bay cooler, thinkin of thermal wrapping n makin a cold air intake...

CAI will be a great idea, and try to look for vented hood. It really help. Especially for EG. It will definitely reduce the engine bay temperature for sure!!

but i rather chnge my IC to bar n plate, get better results... no budget la bro 2 find vented hood...

Guys,
Need some help, anyone knows anywhere else is selling silicon reducers from 1.7" to 2" other than N1??

jep3003 said:
but i rather chnge my IC to bar n plate, get better results... no budget la bro 2 find vented hood...

Jep,
U got PMed!!