Used car below RM45k

To all: I won't be the one deciding, since my dad will still say no if it doesn't meet up to his extra requirements. it's not really the LYN-titude issue here. it's communication issues with my dad. he asked me to choose but he kept saying no to my suggestions. so the best way is to give him a shortlist and cross out those with known issues. that way, the end choice will be something we are both happy on. please wait patiently until my dad returns from his trip and has decided. tq.

I don't think that's a good way to buy a second hand car. Find one that's in immaculate condition (preferably through a friend and not a used car salesman) and then bring your dad to go view the car and talk to the owner. Then only ask him if he's ok with the choice or not.

Shortlisting probably will work if all the short listed cars in tip top shape. Unless you're talking about a generic shortlist then only finding the proper car after shortlisted? That would probably drag the decision even longer.

Too bad, I had a immaculate condition Wira A/B for sale earlier that was literally a buy and drive.

Btw, be really firm, find all sorts or excuses.
This is from an experienced regretful chap.
Can show your dad this list. :rofl:
10 Cars That is Common Among Young Malaysians | FunnyMalaysia.NET

Show that list to his dad, he will probably end up in a myvi since majority young malaysians drive that :rofl:

Eh, few days I am not around ZTH and this thread becomes so long already. I lost track. :banghead:

Sonata III? The 3rd generation one? That was quite old. Or is it this one?

Why he din't appear now.

He retired liao. Not so active.

Not that Sonata. This one.

280px-SONATA_1st_Front.JPG

haha rally obviously lhh.. race all the way to the top of Cameron Highland or Bukit Tinggi. I have to say, Bukit Tinggi is one of the best curvy road, as far as i know. Thts why they did few times downhill or uphill challenge.
Ehh, is the Bukit Putus open for free run, if im not mistaken, tht road close right? because they build the new highway.

Bukit putus need to pay if not mistaken. Close or not need to ask TitanRev.

---------- Post added at 09:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:01 AM ----------

I don't think that's a good way to buy a second hand car. Find one that's in immaculate condition (preferably through a friend and not a used car salesman) and then bring your dad to go view the car and talk to the owner. Then only ask him if he's ok with the choice or not.

Shortlisting probably will work if all the short listed cars in tip top shape. Unless you're talking about a generic shortlist then only finding the proper car after shortlisted? That would probably drag the decision even longer.

Too bad, I had a immaculate condition Wira A/B for sale earlier that was literally a buy and drive.

Really too bad as well. I had an excellent condition Proton Saga BLM 1.3L for sale earlier that was definitely a buy and drive...

That was actually my first suggestion: the sentra for me and he can get a new car. but dunno why he didn't want to do so. baffles me until this day.

Probably thinks the Sentra still too big for you....

Your car sold off already for how much? All stock except for forged pistons right?

Show that list to his dad, he will probably end up in a myvi since majority young malaysians drive that :rofl:

He retired liao. Not so active.

Not that Sonata. This one.

280px-SONATA_1st_Front.JPG

Bukit putus need to pay if not mistaken. Close or not need to ask TitanRev.

---------- Post added at 09:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:01 AM ----------

Really too bad as well. I had an excellent condition Proton Saga BLM 1.3L for sale earlier that was definitely a buy and drive...

Myvi using torsion beam only, no handling for him. Don't know why now most new cars use torsion beam. Cheaper manufacturing cost?

His car really that ancient?

Your Saga also sold?

Probably thinks the Sentra still too big for you....

If he is a speed demon, sentra pick up will make him :banghead: :listen:

---------- Post added at 09:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------

Your car sold off already for how much? All stock except for forged pistons right?

Myvi using torsion beam only, no handling for him. Don't know why now most new cars use torsion beam. Cheaper manufacturing cost?

His car really that ancient?

Your Saga also sold?

Ya, that's what they said. Cheaper.
Ya, is that ancient. There is a reason why ppl address him as uncle la.
Ya, sold to a China Lady that owns a Chinese Tea Business shop.

If he is a speed demon, sentra pick up will make him :banghead: :listen:

---------- Post added at 09:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:08 AM ----------

Ya, that's what they said. Cheaper.
Ya, is that ancient. There is a reason why ppl address him as uncle la.
Ya, sold to a China Lady that owns a Chinese Tea Business shop.

Cheaper using torsion beam? Last time Wira also 40k plus but still can put in multi link instead of torsion beam.

I thought he is using one or two generation older Sonata than the current one. :biggrin:

Later that aunty upgrade the car into Impreza. :rofl:

This one, and yes pretty old already, coming 18 years.....:driver:

Wa, this one I also haven't seen before. Meaning you bought the Hyundai before it gets popular around here? :adore:

BTW, next time can show pictures of VR?

Cheaper using torsion beam? Last time Wira also 40k plus but still can put in multi link instead of torsion beam.

I thought he is using one or two generation older Sonata than the current one. :biggrin:

Later that aunty upgrade the car into Impreza. :rofl:

Wa, this one I also haven't seen before. Meaning you bought the Hyundai before it gets popular around here? :adore:

Proton gets multilink dunno why Toyota giving only Torsion Beam. :banghead:

His Hyundai rare model. Hardly can see actually. Only seen one same color as his before once.

VR cant share photo. Can only see when you come KL haha!

GTA Game got his car haha!

http://cs1.gamemodding.net/posts/2013-03/11640900_1362140115_gta_sa_2013-02-08_12-09-34-05.jpg

Yup, Sonata III, CBU. This was bought in 2003 at RM30k only.
Those you see a lot on the road since year 2002 (I think) are the Sonata 4 face lift model which is CKD or called the EF model.
The picture your posted is Sonata 5 or NF model.
And the latest Sonata is the 6 or YF model....:driver:

---------- Post added at 12:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:57 AM ----------

His Hyundai rare model. Hardly can see actually. Only seen one same color as his before once.

Yup, rare because CBU very few cars only. Even have are the 2.0 auto model. Go Sg. Buloh half cut they have Sonata 4 and 5 only. 3 they say Korea also no more.....:bawling::bawling:

Can lah! Let me search see got what pictures can show.....hahhahaha:driver:

http://cs1.gamemodding.net/posts/2013-03/11640900_1362140115_gta_sa_2013-02-08_12-09-34-05.jpg

Probably because older Protons are based on Lancer, Mirage and Galant. All of them are the base car for performance cars like Evo, Cyborg R, VR-4/Eterna. The original design already got multi-link, too lazy to modify the whole thing into torsion beam. :biggrin: Eh, but now Inspira also multi-link.

Fuh yoh, CJ at GTA also driving E39A VR-4.

Yup, Sonata III, CBU. This was bought in 2003 at RM30k only.
Those you see a lot on the road since year 2002 (I think) are the Sonata 4 face lift model which is CKD or called the EF model.
The picture your posted is Sonata 5 or NF model.
And the latest Sonata is the 6 or YF model....:driver:

---------- Post added at 12:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:57 AM ----------

Yup, rare because CBU very few cars only. Even have are the 2.0 auto model. Go Sg. Buloh half cut they have Sonata 4 and 5 only. 3 they say Korea also no more.....:bawling::bawling:

Can lah! Let me search see got what pictures can show.....hahhahaha:driver:

The old ones that is common are the ones with that front lamp that slightly resembles Mercedes. EF like what you said.

That Sonata 5 looked a lot like Accord from behind. That one was quite uncommon.

Eh, I checked wiki and they write Sonata III 2.0 is using 4G63. Yours also using Mitsubishi engine? Is that the reason you bought it? :biggrin:

If can't show here also nevermind, maybe at fb. :biggrin:

Probably because older Protons are based on Lancer, Mirage and Galant. All of them are the base car for performance cars like Evo, Cyborg R, VR-4/Eterna. The original design already got multi-link, too lazy to modify the whole thing into torsion beam. :biggrin: Eh, but now Inspira also multi-link.

Fuh yoh, CJ at GTA also driving E39A VR-4.

The old ones that is common are the ones with that front lamp that slightly resembles Mercedes. EF like what you said.

That Sonata 5 looked a lot like Accord from behind. That one was quite uncommon.

Eh, I checked wiki and they write Sonata III 2.0 is using 4G63. Yours also using Mitsubishi engine? Is that the reason you bought it? :biggrin:

IINM is Mitsubishi engine in his sonata. Anyway sad thing is PS GTA can't download sports car. PC GTA only can download nice cars like evo x and etcs

I had some that offered me a newer '10 Suzuki Swift and a '09 Spectra, both below RM40k. Those will be at the top of the list, and will convince him to take a look at those first :listen:
As for friends, not a single friend close to me or their relatives is selling anything around that price, i'm afraid.
Will only bring in the shortlist if he still dun want those two. But he's a somewhat cincai person when i give him a shortlist of lower priced cars compared to his budget, so i guess i can convince him to get either the first two.

This one, and yes pretty old already, coming 18 years.....:driver:

:o wow, that is definitely rare. by the way, what's with the raised hood? DIY or wear-and-tear?

:beerglass: cheers to that car. If there's a low mileage (below 150k km?) EC5A/EC5W VR-4, I will gladly take it (if got money in future) :burnout:

I had some that offered me a newer '10 Suzuki Swift and a '09 Spectra, both below RM40k. Those will be at the top of the list, and will convince him to take a look at those first :listen:
As for friends, not a single friend close to me or their relatives is selling anything around that price, i'm afraid.
Will only bring in the shortlist if he still dun want those two. But he's a somewhat cincai person when i give him a shortlist of lower priced cars compared to his budget, so i guess i can convince him to get either the first two.
:

Spectra? Old Kias or Hyundais hard to find parts la.

thanks for info. noted :pepsi: but since it's of moderate importance, will bring up that issue to him while he decides on the two first. that way, he may decide on Swift if he doesn't say no, then i confirm get '10 Swift. :proud:

Yup, is with Mitsu engine but H emblem, like Proton at the beginning.....:biggrin:
The air filter is same as VR, Plug cable and distributor is same as Saga 8 valves......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:07 AM ----------

:o wow, that is definitely rare. by the way, what's with the raised hood? DIY or wear-and-tear?

That is not a raise hood, but more of a dropped bumper......hahhahaha
As you can see the side fender still in line with the hood lining, only slightly bigger gap from bottom. Also you can see the whole grill and bumper assembly is the bumper, so could be due to wear and tear it has sunk a little showing more gap in between....:driver:

Sports car mod also is for fun only. :biggrin:
Yala at least makes u feel nice like driving in the game haha! And yet u can drive slow or anything with the car, unlike racing games, u cant get down to the fast food outlet by parking your car beside the road and etcs LOL!

:beerglass: cheers to that car. If there's a low mileage (below 150k km?) EC5A/EC5W VR-4, I will gladly take it (if got money in future) :burnout:

You put that spectra on the list, u r going to cry. Old hyundais and Kia is a no no. You will be paying petrol more than your drinks in a month. In other words it drinks petrol haha!

Just get the Swift la. Consider good enough. The 1st gen Swift right?

VR by the time u can afford to maintain and mod, the car age will be older already. Want then get dad to get VR haha!

get alza. habis cerita...your whole family can drive it :driver:

Yup, is with Mitsu engine but H emblem, like Proton at the beginning.....:biggrin:
The air filter is same as VR, Plug cable and distributor is same as Saga 8 valves......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:07 AM ----------

That is not a raise hood, but more of a dropped bumper......hahhahaha
As you can see the side fender still in line with the hood lining, only slightly bigger gap from bottom. Also you can see the whole grill and bumper assembly is the bumper, so could be due to wear and tear it has sunk a little showing more gap in between....:driver:

No wonder you bought it because you know the technical bits are from Japanese. 30k for this during 2003 is quite ok.

Saga 8 valve is too rare already. Don't know still can find or not. Most I've seen are those megavalve versions with 12 valve. But the idea of 2 valves per cylinder is funny to me. :rofl:

And I thought you pop open your hood at first glance of the picture.

Yala at least makes u feel nice like driving in the game haha! And yet u can drive slow or anything with the car, unlike racing games, u cant get down to the fast food outlet by parking your car beside the road and etcs LOL!

You put that spectra on the list, u r going to cry. Old hyundais and Kia is a no no. You will be paying petrol more than your drinks in a month. In other words it drinks petrol haha!

Just get the Swift la. Consider good enough. The 1st gen Swift right?

VR by the time u can afford to maintain and mod, the car age will be older already. Want then get dad to get VR haha!

You play open world racing games can drive slow la if you are using Playstation or some other game console controller. That push analog joystick can control the throttle. PC keyboard cannot, every click also full throttle.

VR got 3 models. Depends on which one he get. Either the old 4G63T or the perdana type 6A12TT or the VRG type 6A13TT.

get alza. habis cerita...your whole family can drive it :driver:

If like that, must get advice from Unker Fred. :adore:

No wonder you bought it because you know the technical bits are from Japanese. 30k for this during 2003 is quite ok.

Saga 8 valve is too rare already. Don't know still can find or not. Most I've seen are those megavalve versions with 12 valve. But the idea of 2 valves per cylinder is funny to me. :rofl:

And I thought you pop open your hood at first glance of the picture.

Not really. Bought because it was large and comfy...hahaha:biggrin: But seller who is used car already inform can use many Mitsu parts. In fact the timing belt set seems cheaper then Wira even....:driver:
The thing expensive was the engine mountings, even more then MMC ones...:banghead: Then absorbers.....:banghead::banghead: That is why after I change VR ones out, I ask my mechanic to try fitting them to Hyundai and it fits. If I knew earlier, I would have fitted after market which was much cheaper then the Hyundai originals....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 10:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:33 AM ----------

VR got 3 models. Depends on which one he get. Either the old 4G63T or the perdana type 6A12TT or the VRG type 6A13TT.

VR is still the classic Super Saloon shape. Perdana is Perdana and the VRG was not that popular....:biggrin: