Up VR4 performance

Ah well, my days of using 61t is soon to be over. Wanna switch to vr4 instead then uz gonna leave it standard so that my wife can drive it.

Originally posted by lancer_ajai2@Mar 2 2005, 01:19
Ah well, my days of using 61t is soon to be over. Wanna switch to vr4 instead then uz gonna leave it standard so that my wife can drive it.
Don wan Vr4 la......go for GSR better or EVO lagik bagus..... easier to drive..... Auto also can.... i'm in the process of thinking to dumping a Auto GSR into my car.... :lol:

aiyo you all change back standard engine lagi bagus mah , you all not boring meh play cars , wasting money gila gila one la :lol: .

k not...... once a turbo kaki will be alway a turbo kaki.... hehehehe..one of my frend say wan to cuci tangan liaw...sell his Galant Vr4 and buy a Proton Wira AB...now only 2 months plus...tangan gatal already....now looking for engine...hehehehe

hehehe , my turbo days might be an end sooner or later la dude , i seriously boring already la , maybe cause everytime i drive the car , i drive it like a normal standard car , hardly boost , hardly drive hard . so if like that might as well play standard right ? :lol:

Originally posted by vestax@Mar 2 2005, 11:12
hehehe , my turbo days might be an end sooner or later la dude , i seriously boring already la , maybe cause everytime i drive the car , i drive it like a normal standard car , hardly boost , hardly drive hard . so if like that might as well play standard right ? :lol:
ehhh...how come u drive like me.....seldom boost, seldom drive fast....:(

me old ppl liaw :P so reflex is not that good ne more :D

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Mar 1 2005, 20:31
wat happened to all da VR4 tech questions ? :blink:

B)
taken over by 4G61 gang :lol:

btw anyone tried using 510cc injector on VR4? my fren say idle black smoke. just want to know...

khoyos..

unless u running the VR4-RS ECU..which oredi is usin the 510cc...

if not the other ecu's are meant to handle 450cc...so putting something not related to wat they can handle...hence u have un-balanced fuelling along the entire rpm range..

B)

hi guys.. i'm having a problem with my transmission. it's vr4 with 1.8 4wd locked gb in a satria. this has been going on for few months and i don't have the time to fix it until now. so need advice here!

1. it's very hard to engage gears (especially gear1 to 2, and 4 to 5). if egaged, there'll be that sound like when u accidentally engage gear without pressing the clutch.

2. after releasing the clutch, can feel there's a shake in the gb. not sure if it's the flywheel, clutch or gb.

3. after engaging a gear, while releasing the clutch, power is not transferred properly.

guys, according to my mech, he said that it's because of the warped flywheel and the clucth is dying. other than that, it may be misplacement of clutch etc.

therefore, how should i solve this issue? although it's a vr4, i feel like i'm driving a 1.3 car and can't feel the power while gear changing.. should i get a gb or fix the existing gb, skim the flywheel and get a triniti clutch ? thanks!@

khoyos..

:P u cheated... :lol: u using aftermarket tunable chip..something similar to a piggy back...therefore it's not fair to compare someone who juz throw in a set of 510cc injectors...surely u'd have black smoke... :lol:

;)

humm..

1. You have symchros-mesh problems inside the g/box..
- change g/box or..
- change synchros and service the g/box

2. warped flywheels are normal for VR4's...since u will open the g/box..check out the fly..

3. loss of power ? hehe...of course la..u might be using a smaller clutch..if i'm not wrong you would probably be using an 8" or 8.5" clutch...whereas a VR4 uses 9"...so imagine...having less gripping area on the flywheel..how can u maximise the power ? ;)

ic.. thanks for the advice.. i think i'm using the 8" clutch..
about fixing the syncros, any mech will know how to do it or is there any recommended workshop for it? the workshop i go to is just a normal workshop which they do not fix performance cars or do any transplants..

ok sifu,
its a rojak question :)
i am using evo head + vr4 block
fitted with 1.5mm MMC metal gasket
my fuel pump gonna kong according to mechanic
if i am gonna boost 1.2bar-1.4bar what do i need
my current setting is

- stock vr4 block , stock evo head
- 3" piping full
- rest is all stock except KNN filter

what should i do

- steel piping ?
- larger injector ?
- piggybacking ?
- wastegate ?
- what lph fuel pump ?

thank you :P

jin..

all of the above ! ;)
alot oso depends on ur budget...since u said that ur tight now due to so many broken engines.. :(

if ur mech says fuel pump gonna kong...surely fix this one first la.. ;) my personal favourite wud be to go for the WALBRO 255/lph..and then slot in a FSE regulator to control flow rates...

yoh jin bai.....put a new external fuel pump...bosch fuel pump ka?.....add sard fuel regulator.......intercooler piping will cost u around 700......safc blue screen n tune......if got more budget....put laaa MICROWAVE LTX 8s..........hikhikhikhikhikhikhik....hope your new setup will have no prob.......

is the 4G61t engine as reliable as the 4G63t (VR4) engine? btw can the standard 2wd 1.3 wira gb fit the 4G61t engine ka? what is the maximum boost the stock engine can pump out using lets say using a TD05 with VR4 I/C, upgrade fuel pump, change to 510cc injector with SAFC???