turbo boost question

aakash27

hi guys, im curious bout tis one thing...if lets say a turbocharged car comes on boost around 3000rpm, so while cruising on the highways at a legal speed, and i can safely say tat the engine is always on boost, rite?

its a bit fuel consuming if the engine is on boost rite? anyways to rectify tis? maybe an ecu tweak or sumthing...

Even though EOM set-up boost started as low as 3000rpm, it's didn't mean that you need to boost during idling hway speed (say your 3000rpm = 115kmh). otherwise, the turbine system will stood on vacuum or standby position (from my uderstanding). In order ot unboost during that speed, my suggestion us that just control your pedal aka right foot lor.

For me, boost only needed during overtaking or sudden increase of speed., not for normal hway cruising. If always boosting, i suppose the turbine lifespan shoud be shorter and of course your FC will be very2 high!.

boost only comes in when there's load... a turbocharged car can still cruise at 200km/h with 0 bar pressure

Like blackie said, when the load increases then the boost would come in to maintain the speed.. its the same when u see the dyno that can apply loading.. when no load to maintain certain speed we dun require boost at all..

The Boost meter will tell u the answer...
Turbine fin keep on turning will shorten the life spam on the turbine bearing...