Safe boost pressure for stock e8 turbo

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

mizunori77

hi guys,

wat is the safe boost pressure for a stock e8 turbo for highway "runs"? is 1.5 too much? appreciate your feedback. tks :)

Mizu, i think the topic has been discussed b4 somewhere in MLOC forum. If recall for stock E8your 'safe high boost' shud be around 1.4 (+/- 0.5 bar). U can do a search ...

tks bro, i'm actually browsing through the tech sections to look for more info while i post my question here. sorry i so greedy... lol

ok, i've managed to dig up some info that the stock e8 turbo can boost up to a max of 1.5 bar (22 psi). i guess i'm on dangerous grounds here. anyway, i have 1 more question, as i hav upgraded the intake and also the intercooler, boost seems to climb pretty fast and when in 6th gear on highways, i have to ease of the accelerator as the boost warning keeps blinking. will i be killing my turbo anytime soon? :confused::confused::confused:

tks bro, i'm actually browsing through the tech sections to look for more info while i post my question here. sorry i so greedy... lol

ok, i've managed to dig up some info that the stock e8 turbo can boost up to a max of 1.5 bar (22 psi). i guess i'm on dangerous grounds here. anyway, i have 1 more question, as i hav upgraded the intake and also the intercooler, boost seems to climb pretty fast and when in 6th gear on highways, i have to ease of the accelerator as the boost warning keeps blinking. will i be killing my turbo anytime soon? :confused::confused::confused:

Do u have a boost controller fitted?

dewa : oic... tks bro :D

pablo : yes i have. there are 2 settings currently. 1.3bar for normal driving and 1.5bar for some fun driving. as i'm a bit paranoid, i think i'll just stick to 1.3bar. :laugh:

btw, when is the next tt session? there are still a lot of questions that i wanna ask u guys. i didn't get a "briefing" from the previous owner about the car as he isn't really a techie and also he seldom drives it so i'm still very blur about a lot of stuff.

Jun, mind to share ur experience...so far what i know we can't simply higher the boost...:listen:

jun, tks for the warning. i hav a few more questions, hope u can help :)

1. since i cant simply lower the boost, wat is the minimum boost that i should run?
2. is there a way to calculate the minimum boost for a turbo?
3. wat happens if my boost is lower than the recommended minimum boost?

tks ya... i'm not familiar with tech stuff, hope u can help to clarify :)

No such thing as minimum boost. Stock ECU or if ur ECU is tuned for hi boost even if u switch off ur boost controller car will run alright...slightly rich, dat's all. With our weather 1.5-1.55 boost with the supporting mods on stock turbo shud be ok. Best thing to do is pay 100, dyno the car & the wshop will tell u if the car is running fine with ur present setup...peace of mind.

tks kob. my car was dyno-ed b4 by the previous owner and the current boost settings were pre-set by the tuner, hence got 2 settings (1.3 and 1.5 bar). i just wanted to know if i was on highway and in 6th gear, if the warning lights comes on when i hit 1.5 bar, i should ease off the accelerator to preserve the turbo right? or can i just hold that speed at that boost? sorry ya... i'm really noob on these stuffs.

if u tuned your car alr u cant simply lower the boost ..cause i try to lower then i go dyno the a/f is lean

If the car is tuned for 1.5 bar peak/held boost & on d dyno chart the AFR is 12 or below then its ok to maintain that setting..the turbo can handle the boost-no problem...at any gear u don't hv to lift off. All u hv to do is to change the boost controller warning settings to get rid of the nuinsance warnings...set the warning levels to 1.55 bar. Get somebody who knows to do it. If u still get the warnings when set at 1.55, it means u r overboosting beyond 1.5.

PS: When the car is tuned for hi boost & the controller is switched off there is less air avail for combustion therefore it will be in a rich state.

hi guys, i have 1 more question. since i'm running a stock turbo but boosting at 1.3 and sometimes 1.5 bar, will i need a wastegate to ensure that my turbo lives longer?

As long as u r maintaining steady boost u don't need it...it won't lengthen the longevity of ur turbo. Save d money & buy a 6.5RS/9 [TD05HRA-16G6-10.5T] titanium turbo if u can get it
Side by side comparison E8 v E9 turbos (E9 is on the left and E8 on the right)

• e9vse8turbocomparo0hq.jpg
    e9vse8turbocomparo0hq.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 146
wa... escape from wastegate poison but kena turbo poison plak. lucky i got very good anti-virus (bank n wallet no money) :rofl::rofl::rofl: anyway, i need some time get used to my car as i haven't owned a turbo car before and would like to get to know my car much more before i do any other upgrades. just learning how to take care of it oso pening liao... :rofl::rofl::rofl:

tks kob for sharing so much. i really appreciate it :wavey:

hope can yamcha with u guys soon. there are so many questions to ask. hehe...

"anyway, i need some time get used to my car as i haven't owned a turbo car before and would like to get to know my car much more before i do any other upgrades..."

:top: Good attitude...u r on d right trk. Best mod is yr driving skill. 1.5 bar is plenty enuff power. With properly set up suspension ur car will b just as fast as any seriously modded evo ard Ulu Yam or any winding roads. Gd luck...

that's why i wanna go for the advanced driving course and learn how to properly control a car :driver:

mizunori77

ur from PJ? I believe we're driving the same car :driver: I'm from Kelana Jaya. Maybe we cn yamcha sometime when I get back to PJ. there're lots of things to talk about :biggrin: