Tuning my Airtrek

aww man.... well, i bought 1 just now. its a prestone brand octane booster. but not really has significant improvement. i saw one in tesco if im not mistaken, its a NOS brand. dont know does it really good.

My opinion is that for daily usage, u don't need octane booster. It's only at dono where u wanna see the best result u use it. Or when ur at the racing track.

hmm.. 1 day of prestone octane booster, found out that my idle is smoother and more quite.. revving also abit smoother. but no significant power improvement.. we cant really determine 1~2 hp increament rite.. but dont really sure is it good or bad for the engine.

Improvement of 10whp is not obvious to be felt. That's like around 13hp in the crank. ALso you need to consider the heavy chassis killing the power further.

Bro, you install the cam already?

not yet la bos.. maybe tomorrow if im free.. minor smoke start coming out from exhaust already.. damn...

---------- Post added at 04:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:53 PM ----------

wow can do that eh.ok thank you very much bro!

actually re-flashing stock ecu is better than piggy back in-term of accuracy and monitorization...

but it is much more complex and quite complicated and also time consuming during tuning..

Nice mod u got there, but should not tune the engine with octane booster, if u not using it every tank, should have use ron95 alone to be safer side.

Thanks bro and I know what you mean. I plan to use 97 if the fc improves. Let's see how, I'm monitorng now.

I've had my trek for 5 months now and only use 98 Ron BP, have noticed fuel economy seems like its increased by just over 10%. I once used Gull 98 with 10% bio ethanol and it ran like a three legged dog, just horrible. You should be real careful with tuning using octane boost like Dayline888 said, normally guys I know will tune using 95 Ron but then run 98 Ron every day to be even safer (or tune with 91 and then run 95 depends on what is available).

I've driven really hard on 95 the past few days. I didn't notice any pinging n even hot days. I'll monitor closely. I think the mapping hag changed my fan activation point. It still runs even the temp is low. Need to set that again.

There r 2 set of map in mit ECU, High octane n a low octane, maybe it switch to low octane so u dun notice pinging, reduce power confirm. If tuner din't touch the fan setting will not change it self, or tuner use other ecu map n not your own then work from there.

isn't it a good thing?

It is a good thing to activate the fan at lower temperature but I noticed, even morning start up, the fan is already spinning. It's not right.

---------- Post added at 09:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:12 AM ----------

There r 2 set of map in mit ECU, High octane n a low octane, maybe it switch to low octane so u dun notice pinging, reduce power confirm. If tuner din't touch the fan setting will not change it self, or tuner use other ecu map n not your own then work from there.

Power reduction, not really noticeable for me on higher rev but lower rev power, confirm lesser with 95. Car isn't that responsive. By the way, I've switched to Petron but will refueled Petronas next tank since quite a few said Petronas is good. I'm using Petronas 97 in my RX8, a change from Shell. Can feel slight difference in terms of throttle response.

I think the tuner has copied a different set of mapping and worked on, that's why the fan setting is changed. I'll need to correct that else my fan motor will die pre-maturely.