I think the difference will be more apparent during hot weather + high boost comparing 95 vs. 97
hi guy, am pretty new to turbo car. I have a question, how u all know your engine is knocking? Do u have a gauge to show the knock count? or can u feel or hear the knocking sound?
Currently, am using RON97, boosting 1.3, very nice to drive as it is very powerful for me. Hence every time if I am the first car at traffic light and every time coming out from toll booth, I like to boost to feel the pulling power :-D
I know nothing abt turbo car, so hope any sifu here can enlighten me. Tq
P/S: I don't own an Airtrek Turbo, but I get to drive an Airtrek Turbo which belong to my cousin, who really seldom drive. Hence, he ask me to use it a long as I want :-)
hi, thanks for the explanation, it sound scary man, even the crankshaft will break.engine knocking is cause by predetonation of fuel mixture.ignite of the a/f create a force to push the piston up n down.normally when piston 1 n 3 is down,2 n 4 is up.suddenly fuel mixture n 2 n 4 ignite,it was pushed down.this create a force that will break the crankshaft.in another word condemned engine.
When u say it can be hear like metal hit metal sound, do u mean it can be here in the cabin? or u will only hear it outside the cabin near the engine bay?Yes.. That is what high octane fuel for.. suppressing knock...
---------- Post added at 07:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:18 PM ----------
U can monitor knock using ODBII cable n software(evoscan for MIT) or after market knock detection system like what they use in dyno tuning. If u hear loud knock(like metal hit metal) from the engine, advice not to drive it until resolve problem if not... anytime engine boom...
Roll down your window n u can hear it... If knock that serious, your ECU will be in limp mode, no power at all...
I've been using 95 for almost 5 days now.. no problem at all. Glad that I can save a money from it, hehehe..
cool, bro, that is abt 36% saving on fuel price, assuming the mileage not much different as well.yup bro maxcheong. that is right!
UPDATE: Refueling Ron95
I've been using 95 for 2 weeks now. Boost is around 1.1 bar now (yeah, I've increased it). FC has dropped slightly from 7.1km/L to 6.2km/L. That is fine considering RM1.10/liter cheaper. ANd tell you something weird, I am feeling that 95 runs better in my car! Overall, the car is slightly more powerful and I don't feel too bad on hot afternoons too. Really dunno why....
And I know I am also benefiting after the Evo 6 cams upgrade. The increase of throttle response goes well with Ron95. Overall, I am happy and I should have done this long ago.