Lowering boost to prevent knocking...

ron97 is rm3 per liter really can't imagine the monthly cost of petrol for treks.

Well, I was running 97 since I got the car almost 4 years ago and only refueled 95 from last weekend after lowering the boost. The highest price I paid was RM3.40 per liter.

Yes.. not much diff ron95 ron97, just ron97 is better at suppressing knock, so u can run more boost n timing. In a normal N/A engine, u can only feel little better acceleration only.

I think the difference will be more apparent during hot weather + high boost comparing 95 vs. 97

hi guy, am pretty new to turbo car. I have a question, how u all know your engine is knocking? Do u have a gauge to show the knock count? or can u feel or hear the knocking sound?

Currently, am using RON97, boosting 1.3, very nice to drive as it is very powerful for me. Hence every time if I am the first car at traffic light and every time coming out from toll booth, I like to boost to feel the pulling power :-D

I know nothing abt turbo car, so hope any sifu here can enlighten me. Tq

P/S: I don't own an Airtrek Turbo, but I get to drive an Airtrek Turbo which belong to my cousin, who really seldom drive. Hence, he ask me to use it a long as I want :-)

engine knocking is cause by predetonation of fuel mixture.ignite of the a/f create a force to push the piston up n down.normally when piston 1 n 3 is down,2 n 4 is up.suddenly fuel mixture n 2 n 4 ignite,it was pushed down.this create a force that will break the crankshaft.in another word condemned engine.

I think the difference will be more apparent during hot weather + high boost comparing 95 vs. 97

Yes.. That is what high octane fuel for.. suppressing knock...

---------- Post added at 07:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:18 PM ----------

hi guy, am pretty new to turbo car. I have a question, how u all know your engine is knocking? Do u have a gauge to show the knock count? or can u feel or hear the knocking sound?

Currently, am using RON97, boosting 1.3, very nice to drive as it is very powerful for me. Hence every time if I am the first car at traffic light and every time coming out from toll booth, I like to boost to feel the pulling power :-D

I know nothing abt turbo car, so hope any sifu here can enlighten me. Tq

P/S: I don't own an Airtrek Turbo, but I get to drive an Airtrek Turbo which belong to my cousin, who really seldom drive. Hence, he ask me to use it a long as I want :-)

U can monitor knock using ODBII cable n software(evoscan for MIT) or after market knock detection system like what they use in dyno tuning. If u hear loud knock(like metal hit metal) from the engine, advice not to drive it until resolve problem if not... anytime engine boom...

engine knocking is cause by predetonation of fuel mixture.ignite of the a/f create a force to push the piston up n down.normally when piston 1 n 3 is down,2 n 4 is up.suddenly fuel mixture n 2 n 4 ignite,it was pushed down.this create a force that will break the crankshaft.in another word condemned engine.
hi, thanks for the explanation, it sound scary man, even the crankshaft will break.

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:45 PM ----------

Yes.. That is what high octane fuel for.. suppressing knock...

---------- Post added at 07:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:18 PM ----------

U can monitor knock using ODBII cable n software(evoscan for MIT) or after market knock detection system like what they use in dyno tuning. If u hear loud knock(like metal hit metal) from the engine, advice not to drive it until resolve problem if not... anytime engine boom...
When u say it can be hear like metal hit metal sound, do u mean it can be here in the cabin? or u will only hear it outside the cabin near the engine bay?

Thank you

Roll down your window n u can hear it... If knock that serious, your ECU will be in limp mode, no power at all...

I've been using 95 for almost 5 days now.. no problem at all. Glad that I can save a money from it, hehehe..

ya man... and also, can compensate some cost to run my RX8 as compared to my Sentra. Hehehe...

Roll down your window n u can hear it... If knock that serious, your ECU will be in limp mode, no power at all...

thanks man,

---------- Post added at 12:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:26 AM ----------

I've been using 95 for almost 5 days now.. no problem at all. Glad that I can save a money from it, hehehe..

hi studzedward, so u switch from RON97 to RON95, without re-tuning your ECU?

Just lower your boost to 0.9bar?

no knocking so far and power drop not much?

FC dropped a bit. It was around 7km/L after I installed the Evo6 cams. It has came down to around 6.5km/L now.

remove spare tyre,moon roof and convert 2wd...200kg+- weight reduction.

UPDATE: Refueling Ron95

I've been using 95 for 2 weeks now. Boost is around 1.1 bar now (yeah, I've increased it). FC has dropped slightly from 7.1km/L to 6.2km/L. That is fine considering RM1.10/liter cheaper. ANd tell you something weird, I am feeling that 95 runs better in my car! Overall, the car is slightly more powerful and I don't feel too bad on hot afternoons too. Really dunno why....

And I know I am also benefiting after the Evo 6 cams upgrade. The increase of throttle response goes well with Ron95. Overall, I am happy and I should have done this long ago.

UPDATE: Refueling Ron95

I've been using 95 for 2 weeks now. Boost is around 1.1 bar now (yeah, I've increased it). FC has dropped slightly from 7.1km/L to 6.2km/L. That is fine considering RM1.10/liter cheaper. ANd tell you something weird, I am feeling that 95 runs better in my car! Overall, the car is slightly more powerful and I don't feel too bad on hot afternoons too. Really dunno why....

And I know I am also benefiting after the Evo 6 cams upgrade. The increase of throttle response goes well with Ron95. Overall, I am happy and I should have done this long ago.

so 91 for next week then?
just kidding bro :rofl:

haahaa... no la.. in Msia, only 95 and 97. Dun have anything lower lo