TD04 owner, pls fall in

Hi normality,

i'm finding info for TD04 and coincidently found your thread :biggrin: TD04HL is available for mitsu rvr 4G63T. and its plug and play for GSR unit.

Indeed, i dig out this thread because i have a few question which i wish to ask the sifu here:adore:
Q1. i am using waja BOT and my turbo housing cracked seriously. Is there any way to repair the housing and what is the costing like? i heard from my foreman that housing crack is a common problem for all the mitsu turbo when your exhaust temperature goes beyond 1K celcius:burnout:

Q2. since my engine is 4G18 which is only 1.6. if i looking for responsive turbo, is the TD04L is a better choise compared to TD04HL? My previous turbo was TD04HL and its quite responsive.

Q3. Can TD04HL housing interchangable with TD04L?

hope sifu here can help:adore::adore:

indeed donkey years post u've dig up. whahahahha.....

Q1. bro, i think you've overboost your td04. If you can reach that optimum temp to crack ur housing, its running very hot. You boost beyond 1.1bar ?

Q2. What u can do is rojak the td04 with td05. use td04 turbine with td05 compressor. but u need to find a specialist to do that coz once turbo get "open", u need to balance it back. otherwise, its td05-14b (i tink) frm vr4/evo2 can be use also. abit bigger then td04 turbine hence shld not be feel the lag. but due to this turbo age, not sure its a wise investment or not.

greets folks.. :wavey:
i need 2 know the price for 2nd hand tdo4 turbine..
want to use at my kelisa bot engine..anyone? plz?
thankx guys..:adore:

greets folks.. :wavey:
i need 2 know the price for 2nd hand tdo4 turbine..
want to use at my kelisa bot engine..anyone? plz?
thankx guys..:adore:

Price ranges from RM400-RM500 depended on seller and condition. But if you are lucky enough to find guys that are renovating his house and wanna throw the turbo away, u might even get it for 200+

1. 1000ºC??? All the aluminum parts will melt down after 700ºC. Best valve seals will only last u up to 400ºC max.So, over temperature may caused by over lean combustion.
i am talking about exhaust temperature wo? but anyhow i jz want to ask if the mitsu turbo housing can't hold high temperature? i been finding a few TD04 in the half cut. mostly are having minor crack.
2. If you think TD04HL is responsive enough, why go back to TD04L..? Difference is TD04HL has a 0.9 bars actuator and TD04L only 0.7 bars. Turbine and turbine housing of the TD04HL is bigger than TD04L, so TD04HL will kicks in slower than TD04L. But not so big difference. At low end, TD04L tends to be more responsive and aggresive, but when it comes to high end power, the TD04HL tends to boost up better.
is not that i want to go back to TD04L but TD04HL is really rare:bawling: but finally i able to get a TD04HL with minor crack:bawling: after searching in half cut shop for 2 days:mad:
3. No for turbine housing. Like staeted, the turbine of TD04HL is slightly bigger. Btw, TD04HL not plug and play. The turbine exhaust flange has a different rotation compare with TD04L.
luckily i didnt pickup the TD04L, else i might need to mod the exhaust frange

indeed donkey years post u've dig up. whahahahha.....

Q1. bro, i think you've overboost your td04. If you can reach that optimum temp to crack ur housing, its running very hot. You boost beyond 1.1bar ?
bro, i only boost at 0.7 bar:banghead: but due to bad tuning my car having knocking for almost 1 year which i think this is the cause of the problem
Q2. What u can do is rojak the td04 with td05. use td04 turbine with td05 compressor. but u need to find a specialist to do that coz once turbo get "open", u need to balance it back.
what do u mean by balance it back:confused:
otherwise, its td05-14b (i tink) frm vr4/evo2 can be use also. abit bigger then td04 turbine hence shld not be feel the lag. but due to this turbo age, not sure its a wise investment or not.
TD04HL from rvr is much older rite? is that evo1? BTW, i dun think my waja can blow this TD05 la~ :bawling::bawling:

Price ranges from RM400-RM500 depended on seller and condition. But if you are lucky enough to find guys that are renovating his house and wanna throw the turbo away, u might even get it for 200+
i got the turbo for RM600:banghead::banghead::bawling::bawling:

lastly, thanks for all sifu response to my post:adore::adore:

thanks bro..i've survey b4 n the range is around there oso..
thanks guys :wavey:

Q2. what do u mean by balance it back:confused:

Q3. TD04HL from rvr is much older rite? is that evo1? BTW, i dun think my waja can blow this TD05 la~ :bawling::bawling:

Q2. Once the turbo has been dismantle, the shaft need to be re-balance.

Q3. Im not sure about from RVR but as far as i know, its from volvo oem turbo. basically u need to look into the turbine spec to know can your engine "blow" or not. td05-14b turbine spec very close to td04

ahren,

Not only the exhaust temperature. Even inside the combustion chamber itself, the temperature shouldn't be more than 750ºC. The engine head was die-casted under the temperature of 750ºC. Which the aluminum is already in molten form.

Unless, there are knocking cases where the explosion particles went beyond the 750ºC temperature and cause melted surfaces. Knocking mark...

So, talking about turbine housing, which is cast iron. Which is being casted beyond 1000ºC. The exhaust temperature should have cause any deformation on the cast iron housing. What makes the cast iron to crack is the expansion and contraction when the temperature of the turbine housing goes under high and low temperature fluctuation. Environmental effects.

However, 9/10 turbo should be having minor crack lines if you observe properly.

i think the td04 is a pretty tiny turbo .had it as a stock turbo on my ride donkey years ago .boost kicks in around 2k rpm and hits full boost around 3.5k .after 4.5k rpm the power plunges and there goes the orgasm.
imho on small cc cars like sub 1.6L engine maybe go for the td05 16G or somewhat.might be a tad better which gives good spool + reasonable mid to top end power.

i think the td04 is a pretty tiny turbo .had it as a stock turbo on my ride donkey years ago .boost kicks in around 2k rpm and hits full boost around 3.5k .after 4.5k rpm the power plunges and there goes the orgasm.
imho on small cc cars like sub 1.6L engine maybe go for the td05 16G or somewhat.might be a tad better which gives good spool + reasonable mid to top end power.
Bro, bigger is not always better.. For a sub 1.6L engine.. anything bigger than TD04HL is overkill.. My car (1.6L la) with TD04HL also spools up at 3k rpm oledi.. If TD05-16G, prepare to rev over 8k RPM la, i can guarantee u it will spools up onli after 4.5k above.. Seen it with my very own eyes oledi, and that car was bored up to 1.7L.

ahren,

Not only the exhaust temperature. Even inside the combustion chamber itself, the temperature shouldn't be more than 750ºC. The engine head was die-casted under the temperature of 750ºC. Which the aluminum is already in molten form.

Unless, there are knocking cases where the explosion particles went beyond the 750ºC temperature and cause melted surfaces. Knocking mark...

So, talking about turbine housing, which is cast iron. Which is being casted beyond 1000ºC. The exhaust temperature should have cause any deformation on the cast iron housing. What makes the cast iron to crack is the expansion and contraction when the temperature of the turbine housing goes under high and low temperature fluctuation. Environmental effects.

However, 9/10 turbo should be having minor crack lines if you observe properly.
Talking about casted turbine housing, if u observe closely, most turbine that crack will have a crack line that is almost identical. It usually cracks at the joint line where material is joined up while casting. The joint line is a weak point point thus will usually crack over temperature fluctuation, as mentioned above.

Bro, bigger is not always better.. For a sub 1.6L engine.. anything bigger than TD04HL is overkill.. My car (1.6L la) with TD04HL also spools up at 3k rpm oledi.. If TD05-16G, prepare to rev over 8k RPM la, i can guarantee u it will spools up onli after 4.5k above.. Seen it with my very own eyes oledi, and that car was bored up to 1.7L.

The TD04HL you're reffering to is from volvo right?

Bro, dun lie lar.... My friend having TD05-20g. where got lag... kekeke....

The TD04HL you're reffering to is from volvo right?

Mitsubishi RVR

sigh... bad news... i should have got myself with TD04L instead of TD04HL.

my tuner said too big for 4G18 (1.6)to blow it. respond quite lag and power peak at RPM 4K++

thn sell to me lo....

Thought u previously also using TD04HL..? Then now why cannot edy..?

normality, u stay JB how to sell u oh:rolleyes:

speed2horizon, my previous foreman doesnt tell me TD04HL is quite laggy. and i never own a turbo car b4.. therefore i didnt know how is categorize as lag :confused::rofl:

i taking 2 days to source it at all the kedai potong in klang :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

i will let go once i found TD04L :smokin:

ahren, 1st come 1st server hor. as for in JB, no problem. I got runner in KL one... whahahahaha also Zthian....

Write your reply...