TD04 owner, pls fall in

Turbine? U mind giving some example. I was thinking along the lines of modding the actuator..

if u suspect the actuator is jammed, change it bro. how many psi does ur boost spikes up?

actually u can use a plyers, try to pull the actuator see does it move or not.

Not actually jammed, it spools up quickly to 0.5 bar but takes it own sweet time to reach 1.2. tried it with the actuator vacuum hose detached & spools so quick tat i almost overboost. therefore suspect boost creep. In a competition race where a electronic boost controller is not allowed, so looking around for ideas on how to overcome this. Hope u guys can help.

okie, understood.. so the thing dats farked up is ur actuator then, it cant hold the pressure and lettng go boost at a lower pressure den intended. get a higher rate unit and everything is gonna be okie, u'll reach 1.2bar faster rather den creep up slowly wit the weaken actuator.

get those HKS actuator and a cheaper unit from a TD05H wud do just fine.

Thnax bro.. was thinking along the same lines but needed abit of confirmation 1st bfore procceding.

Got a question for the TD04 sifoos. I'm running a stock Evo 3.

What's the difference between running a stock TD0516G7 at stock boost, compared to a TD04 (L/HL) running at high boost. What kind of boost on a TD04 will I need to run to have the equivalent of a TD05 at 1 bar? My reason for this is that I want to bring the boost threshold below 2500rpm or below.

P.S. I'm more interested in high torque (~350Nm++ at wheel) from low rpms, rather than horsepower (target 240-250whp)

need advice from sifoos here..
previously my boost drop for no reason, i'll try check any leak but cannot detect la,so i suspect my actuator or my exhaus manifold bocor.so i thought just want to save some money to change for banana extarctor and put wastegate.
so i planning to get this stuff next month(need to save money abit la),than what happened now is my engine got this weird GRINDING sound.but it seems the sound is not from the engine,but somewhere inside the engine bay.
is there anyone can highlighted me any clues where this sound comes from?tha sound abit loud la and damn irritating la.
help guys!need some advice here.

raja_empreror,
the dropping boost could be alos a leak inside your actuator flap housing.

my prob solved already.my vacuum hose from engine to intake manifold crack!thats why my boost is dropping.i change to silicone hose already,now everything seems to be runs like normal again.problem solved!

now im plannig to change my turbine la,currently using td05hl.im looking for ball bearing turbine,maybe garret,can u guys suggest me any model that will suite to my engine?
my current setup for my gsr is:
-510cc injectors.
-metal gasket
-1.2 bar using boost controller
-std boost0.9 bar
-rechipped c/box,no rev cut no boost cut no speed cut and tuned for 510cc injectors.
-vr4 intercooler.
-evo 3 rallyart downpipe.

pls gimme any opinion guys!i want to minimized my turbo lag!so im looking for ball bearing type,any recommendation?now my boost kicks in 3000rpm.

so, it was leakage then? hoho.. glad to hear u r running great now :)

boosting in at 3000rpm is quite okie bro, so, for ur issue, since what u want is hard G response rather den high end power, i advice u go get urself a TD04L / TD04HL and mod dat up. of course, i'd advice u get a GT3540R instead, if moolah isnt a biggy.

oh, and using a good EBC helps in reducing lagg. iam using a turbosmart boost tee MBC, and it helps to reduce lagg up to 200~400rpm earlier. usually my engine starts kicking at around 2200rpm wit the comparatively small CT9, but wit the MBC fitted in, boost kicks in around 1800~2000rpm. an EBC wud give better response as it will cut the boost signal to the actuator until wanted boost is reached :)

eemm?better using td04?actually what i want is more G's and top end bro.GT3540r ok ah bro?damn big rite?
is it same big as td05?
does anyone here know what highcam are ngam for gsr?pls suggest me brand ya?
can we use r3 or satria cam?
thanks for any advice.

prozac said:
Got a question for the TD04 sifoos. I'm runing a stock Evo 3.

What's the difference between running a stock TD0516G7 at stock boost, compared to a TD04 (L/HL) running at high boost. What kind of boost on a TD04 will I need to run to have the equivalent of a TD05 at 1 bar? My reason for this is that I want to bring the boost threshold below 2500rpm or below.

P.S. I'm more interested in high torque (~350Nm++ at boosteel) from low rpms, rather than horsepower (target 240-250whp)

Prozac, nice to see that you are aiming at responce rather that all out power. With a E3 you would want to go to a TD04 as there's no point pushing it to go high boost. The 04 will start loosing efficiency at around 5 - 5.5k rpm and there will be creep issue since you run the larger displacement E3. Mitsu turbos tend to creep with boost above 1.1bar. If it doesnt, you either have a xternal gate, the usual cracks at the wastegate or have ported the wastegate outlet. More creep issues if you have upgraded to bigger downpipes and or ported the exhaust housing .......

Yes, probably with a 04 you will spool early but i reckon that your E3 on normal boost will flow equal amount of air, just that it comes later. The 04 will be good if you intend to drive without going above 5k rpm :X-: also it will be more difficult for smaller turbo to feed a larger engines.

If you want high torque you can either go for
1) bigger displacement
2) More efficient turbo i.e. Garret , HKS 2538

raja emperor : i suggested dat because u said u want response rather den outright power, and its a cheaper choice den any b/b turbine. if u think GT3540R is too big for ur application, den go slightly smaller ie what alucard suggested, the GT2538.

i cant help about the cam as i usually set my frens' GSRs for street purpose, so high end power isnt one of the thing i focused on. how fast r u gonna try going anyway? fyi, GSR std is powerful enuff to bring u past the 220mark. even my 4efte goes beyond dat, hoho..

alucard : nice pointers :)

xtremeleo: thank bro for your opinion.i will let u all know if i already change my turbine as you suggested.see how the turbine responds.
actually what im looking is top speed and higher torque.let say rolling start in 5th gear,when i whack the throttle i want still feel the g's.ahahaha!! so next time can kacau la other big tubo cars!can kacau only ok la,not to beat them.ehehehe!!
my top speed now can reached 240kmh, but i think my meter is not accurate la,im using 1.6 satria meter.now looking for rsm.any body want to sell cheap2 pls let me know.

rolling start 5th and u wanna feel the Gs, not only big but a very responsive turbo as well. Dual ball Bearing definietly the one u need to. Hm.. Aggressive cam do help also in this case

to normality78: thanks bro for your opinion.hmmm..still waiting for my bonus!ahahaha!!!then everything will come true.

sorry to bring back this dead thread.

1 question. Td04HL is only available on Volvo right? The exhaust flange and the downpipe flange seems to be different from the Td04-13G GSR unit

Hi normality,

i'm finding info for TD04 and coincidently found your thread :biggrin: TD04HL is available for mitsu rvr 4G63T. and its plug and play for GSR unit.

Indeed, i dig out this thread because i have a few question which i wish to ask the sifu here:adore:
Q1. i am using waja BOT and my turbo housing cracked seriously. Is there any way to repair the housing and what is the costing like? i heard from my foreman that housing crack is a common problem for all the mitsu turbo when your exhaust temperature goes beyond 1K celcius:burnout:

Q2. since my engine is 4G18 which is only 1.6. if i looking for responsive turbo, is the TD04L is a better choise compared to TD04HL? My previous turbo was TD04HL and its quite responsive.

Q3. Can TD04HL housing interchangable with TD04L?

hope sifu here can help:adore::adore:

Hi normality,

i'm finding info for TD04 and coincidently found your thread :biggrin: TD04HL is available for mitsu rvr 4G63T. and its plug and play for GSR unit.

Indeed, i dig out this thread because i have a few question which i wish to ask the sifu here:adore:
Q1. i am using waja BOT and my turbo housing cracked seriously. Is there any way to repair the housing and what is the costing like? i heard from my foreman that housing crack is a common problem for all the mitsu turbo when your exhaust temperature goes beyond 1K celcius:burnout:

Q2. since my engine is 4G18 which is only 1.6. if i looking for responsive turbo, is the TD04L is a better choise compared to TD04HL? My previous turbo was TD04HL and its quite responsive.

Q3. Can TD04HL housing interchangable with TD04L?

hope sifu here can help:adore::adore:

1. 1000ºC??? All the aluminum parts will melt down after 700ºC. Best valve seals will only last u up to 400ºC max.So, over temperature may caused by over lean combustion.

2. If you think TD04HL is responsive enough, why go back to TD04L..? Difference is TD04HL has a 0.9 bars actuator and TD04L only 0.7 bars. Turbine and turbine housing of the TD04HL is bigger than TD04L, so TD04HL will kicks in slower than TD04L. But not so big difference. At low end, TD04L tends to be more responsive and aggresive, but when it comes to high end power, the TD04HL tends to boost up better.

3. No for turbine housing. Like staeted, the turbine of TD04HL is slightly bigger.

Btw, TD04HL not plug and play. The turbine exhaust flange has a different rotation compare with TD04L.

Write your reply...