Shell V-Power on Vtec engines

SimonsayZ

Hi all,

Just wanna ask if you can feel any differences when using V-power fuel on your engines. Performance better or just the same? Is it true that V-power is better at higher rpm?

Please do share your experiences.:regular_smile: I tried it on my B16a but don't feel any differences. Maybe it's just ad gimmicks or I'm not sensitive enough to feel it? :Not_Impressed:

V-Power is Ron98. Definately there is difference if compare to normal Ron97. The difference might not too visible in more powerful engine. If u use it on less power engine like auto or older car normally u can feel it. My fren tried it on his stock Saga, last time max speed is 170kmh like that after used V-power is 180+ already.

Try ProJet, as powerful as the V power. The only difference is V Power have more mileage

better pick-ups for myself n iam a regular v-power now for my vtec city.
definetely theres a difference.

there's a slight difference in my vtec but hardly can notice it but as for a normal auto tranny car you can feel it more obvious.just like what sasuke said its Ron98 compare normal petrol Ron97.

V-power is same RON 97 laa.... refer to the FAQ's on Shell's website below... it just has better formula and stuff...

http://www.shell.com/home/Framework?siteId=my-en&FC2=/my-en/html/iwgen/shell_for_motorists/fuels/zzz_lhn.html&FC3=/my-en/html/iwgen/shell_for_motorists/fuels/vpower_faqs_0220.html

when V-power was launched i learned from article that it can actually 'clean' or appropraitely, de-carbonize ur engine parts it comes contact with.....thus giving u better overall engine performance/mileage

whether its myth or not i dunno. But defintely feel the difference of power, low-end till the vtec crossover point

b16a stock std small v here, on a 4 dr EF with 1 passenger easily cruise up genting on 3rd gear

feels jz like u switch to lower viscosity engine oil (eg. 15w40 ->10w40)

The existing price for V-power is kinda pinchy... 2.15/litre. I thought the new Caltex techron also cleans the engine? Anyone tried that one?

Yup..now i'm consistantly using caltex techron after no more teppet sound from my car compare to Shell coz Shell is only very good in advertising..

when i was driving eg with b16a also can feel difference. now driving dc2 with b18c also feel the difference. it feels a bit lighter when vtec is engaged. same as the older projet. the new regener8. nothing la.

some said that v-power is good for long distance travelling...
give u more mileage...for me I still use esso f1..

i agree...shell only good in advertising...did they had any prove to claim they had better mileage????? they try to catch ppl need for more mileage by simply quote??? i tried it, no difference in mileage compare to other petrol....v-power also not much difference but price got a lot difference..so i dun bother to pump shell d....bonuslink points also very less...i support caltex n projet, their petrol can feel the car slightly more powerful without extra cost...

it does marginally improve the pick-up on auto cars...but nothing much to harp about when considering the high selling price

yeah... i guess thats the question that should be asked...

Does the increase in power / performance justify the price your paying for it?

Saw the news that Petronas came out with a new petrol PRIMAX 3. They claim that it can clean your engine and give better performance. Sounds like V-power but price is only 1.92/litre. So anyone has tried it yet?

did esso and mobil have the same fuel?
I saw a tanker carrying goods for esso and mobil....

murcielago said:
i agree...shell only good in advertising...did they had any prove to claim they had better mileage????? they try to catch ppl need for more mileage by simply quote??? i tried it, no difference in mileage compare to other petrol....v-power also not much difference but price got a lot difference..so i dun bother to pump shell d....bonuslink points also very less...i support caltex n projet, their petrol can feel the car slightly more powerful without extra cost...

this i totally agreed...:_:

Don't u guys think.. regarding Sylkron.. Primax3.. Techron.. Esso F1.. all just a rebranding.. enticing the market exercise.. probably some guys from O&G can enlighten us a bit.. V-Power must be la since price already different..