Power Drive testing on New Civic 1.8 sohc V-tec

sPoOn3838

Nov 14, 2005
Guys any of you drive this civic?
just want to share my opinion! i test drive this car 2 days ago... dont felt Vtec power at all?
its like no Vtec , cause i drove over 6500rpm but still no vtec felt and sound!!!
testing on every gear.!!
is it because of the car haven done over 10,000km ?
the V-tec is lock tempolary? ??

The car is light.... and smooth but felt no POWER!!!

D_clothes

Mar 13, 2005
I dont think you can feel anything from SOHC ... just my 2 cent opinion ...

Spoonz

Nov 16, 2005
I also think because of sohc.....but how come 2.0 i-VTEC Dohc in new civic have power output (hp) less than b16a? anyone....?

sPoOn3838

Nov 14, 2005
erm....maybe sohc realy no V-tec feel!!!

2.0 i-VTEC Dohc i think they make it for fuel saving!!! so dont care about the hp!!
B16 <--- when design last time, fuel cheap like hell ma!!!
lol

Spoonz

Nov 16, 2005
what is the engine code for civic 2.0?
izit k-series engine....?
if its a k-series, it should as competetive as b-series...
b-series also save fuel....in case vtec does not engage regularly..
but of kos cannot compare with i-dsi...hehe..

^^TAKATA^^

Dec 21, 2005
the acceleration for R18a civic feels like city vtec IMO... got oomph sound but dun really go fast.... -_-" sohc got higher torque in low rpms... and less consuming fuel... dats y no power gua...

fletcheru

Dec 10, 2004
Miri
because, the K20 found on the civic is not the type-R K series 2.0 DOHC iVTEC that is found on the integra.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
not very sure.. I could be wrong on this one, but from what I understand, the new i-vtec system is fully variable, where it advances and increases the valve overlap without increasing lift for power, unlike the old VTEC system which consists of a high cam and low cam system which increase overlap and lift which has a two-stage feel.

I could be wrong though.. just adding my thought into the discussion.

sr215

Jun 11, 2005
Labuan
I'm driving a City SOHC Vtec. Yes, I can feel the VTEC at 5,000 rpm.

nashrey

Apr 14, 2004
K20A's used in Civic 2.0 & Acura RSX in the States/Canada have different cam profile compared to the Integra DC5 & Civic Ep3. Both uses i-Vtec tho :)

sPoOn3838

Nov 14, 2005
as i know Civic 2.0 able to janerated 156hp, if i am not wrong!

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
155hp, as least that's what is say in the brochure.. and that number's usually flywheel horsepower, not on wheel. My cousin owns one.. and he says it's a crippled K-series.. K20A3, if I'm not mistaken, which is specific to Asian markets.. unlike the K20A2(US) and K20A1(DC5R) which generates 190-210hp.

The prior civic2.0 from pre-2006 shares quite a bit of parts from the DC5... so if you want a DC5 performance with a four door car.. you know what parts you can get from for a conversion.

darkemperor

Jan 4, 2006
dunno from where i read forgotten....the local civic k20a ivtec system is on the intake only and no vtec on the exhaust....while the k20ar is having ivtec on the intake n vtec on the exhaust.....but the response off local k20a ivtec is quite responsive but not as wild as dohc vtec.....

^^TAKATA^^

Dec 21, 2005
darkemperor said:
the local civic k20a ivtec system is on the intake only and no vtec on the exhaust....while the k20ar is having ivtec on the intake n vtec on the exhaust.....
so is it something like the Dual VVTI we see on altezzas? just curious..:angel_smile:

murcielago

Jan 19, 2005
bro, i think u never tested honda car b4..these normal passanger car vtec or vvti u can't feel one cos the difference is very minimal....i was like u last time til i bought a honda.. only type-r or b series engine u can feel the vtec engage...
the new civic 1.8 light?the car is huge...i dun think it can be tat light....it's actually pumping 140hp same as satria gti 1.8 but the power got big difference maybe cos of the auto gearbox(roughtly bout 30% hp loss) or weight(1115kg compare to 1240kg)

sPoOn3838

Nov 14, 2005
erm....you maybe right but in my case u are wrong!
this is the first time i drove sohc Vtec, before that i own B18 and gpx... so its felt totaly power! and the new civic 1.8 is light when accelerating! that s my feeling!

by the way i am driving sohc 1.6 manual now~~~! hehehe~~!!

The rally continues between Mitsubishi Evolution X and Subaru Impreza WRX STi...

At ROADAndTRACK magazine, the debut comparison of these 2 giant monster woes.

The new Subaru Impreza WRX STi will likely bow later this year and go on sale in early 2008. The design ethos for the STi is one of muscularity, and we have to say...