when is the best rpm for b16a vtec to open?? isn"t depends on road condition or drivers demand?? which rpm setting is the best for power n consumption?? is spoon vtec controller good enough for the setting?? pls help...
which rpm setting is the best for power n consumption?? is spoon vtec controller good enough for the setting?? pls help...
frankenstein motor?
let's wait for shiro to chime in and pour his thoughts.
No need Acura v6 engine better.. ha ha ha..
Depends la. with halfcut prices being what they are, and parts for b series also, most people that want to convert vtec most cabut lari after hear quotation.. lagi lagilah for EK halfcut.
but to explain the VTEC function, simply put.
VTEC is there for high rpm breathing.
When making small cc engines, the only way to do it is with high rpm, and with proper gear ratio to suit. However, this doesn't equate to low engine torque and drivability (high cam don't like low engine speeds), so having two cams helps(this is the core idea of vtec in it's simplest form)
If you compare wira 1.6 engines, can observe how the honda engine has lower torque, yet with the extra rpm, can use that lower torque efficiently by having proper gear ratio and 8K rpm.
But in truth, honda is not known only for their engine performance, but it's ability to stand to abuse.. imagine how many pre92 and 92+ B16/B18A/B/C still running around at 8-8.5K rpm, and you have the answer to that.
I myself have a 92 B16A, and my ring gaps at 81mm are still 0.16" with meter at more than 200,000kms on the odometer, at the standard bore size, no less.
Performance wise, yes, can be improved, but I'm not the type to throw away a perfectly working shortblock just to go 2L, not esp. when it has served as my daily driver for so long.
Anyway, you'd be hard pressed to find a new car that can outrun an OLD stock b16A equipped civic, unless it costs more than 100K. (a lot more), which is why halfcuts can sell at 10K+, and there's still people who would buy it, although at smaller volumes.
Anyway, for all intents and purposes (daily driving), the b16a is good enough, a tune adjustment for it's well known lack of low end torque, a slight bump up in compression when you service head gasket/valve grind, it makes a car that is drivable enough, yet with the extra grunt at top end when you want to overtake lorries on hills by just dropping a gear (or two)
If there is a need for power, then a B20B block is just another few thousand![]()
few thousands..???
i think u meant by MANY THOUSANDS :rolleyes:
but for sure you will ask for more..
without any purpose,just fro the adreline
depends on the B20B spec la..
for beginer, B20B block + CF 4 pistons + light tune = a few thousand.
depending on budget, power output is sure different.
But the only complaint for b16a usually is the lack of low end torque. for most purposes, the top end is good enough.
aikkssss,... my local sifu, vtec king, is using something like this,... he beginner? :hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:
make it open always..... from rpm 1.....like loo's car...