Radiator

nic_kl

Hey bro,
I need help. Can i know what is radiator? I got no ideal for this things.

My question is...
1) Inside automatic gear box is it there got this radiator things? Or this radiator is no connection with the automatic gear box?

as engines become more advanced and efficient, they create higher tempratures of heat. almost all cars nowadays use water as a medium to transfer heat and avoid engine from seizing. water is circulate to radiator or tangki air where they flow downwards in small tubes with fins. as car moves faster and with aid of fan (belt driven or thermostatically controlled electric) water temperatures are kept low.

the cooling system are made of additional components to maintain optimum operating temperature at all time. they are
1) radiator cap
2) water pump
3) thermostat
4) cooling fan system
5) fan motor (for electric)
6) fan clutch (for belt driven)
7) radiator expansion tank
8) water temperature sensor

it is not recommended to use plain water in the system. u must add coolant to prevent rusts which may clogged water flow.

old cars like saga/iswara have a radiator assembly which u may need to replace upon piercing or leak. small punctures are repairable but risky as they may leak again..

more modern cars like wira have this plastic casing on top and bottom of the radiator. it may crack after years but easily replaced and cheap too. the centre portion (or tubes) can also be recored upon damage like accident.

hope this helps.

it is not recommended to use plain water in the system. u must add coolant to prevent rusts which may clogged water flow.

bro,

i heard some says dont use coolant, as they make more easier to rust and some says use mineral water than tap water..

help me here bro

tq :D

hai betacam.

no doubt, plain water is the cheapest kind of coolant. ha ha ha
but remember, plain water when mixed with air can convert metal into rust. when u mix coolant, the chances are reduced almost completely.

from what i heard (becoz not proven yet), it is not necessary to buy coolant with anti freeze and anti rust mixture. especially anti rust as they are corrosive and may caused water pump leak under long term use.

u may use radiator flush to clean water jackets (inside engine block) for temporary which is good enuff to remove unwanted residues. then juz get a normal coolant from ur accesory shop and add into radiator. for kancil, a can may do good. for saga, one and a half, while bigger cars advisable to mix 2 cans.

DO NOT add too much coolant also, there are no additional benefits. 1 can coolant may be adequate but over filling it (5 or 6 cans) may result the coolant becoming corrosive.

its a good thing to have coolant as the colour (green or blue) will tell u when there is leak. for example, when u wake up in the morning and before u start ur car u noticed there is green water on the garage floor. straight away u know something is not rite, cooling system may need to be inspected and it is advisable not to drive the car for long disatnce where damage can occur to the engine.

one good coolant i can recommend to all of us is Toyota Long Life Coolant. it is red in colour but turns black (not blackie) when the time comes to replenish. normally at 40,000km. or average 2 years normal driving. coolant also acts as a lubricant for the water pump.

hope all this will help.

Originally posted by nic_kl@Apr 4 2005, 14:51
Hey bro,
I need help. Can i know what is radiator? I got no ideal for this things.

My question is...
1) Inside automatic gear box is it there got this radiator things? Or this radiator is no connection with the automatic gear box?
[snapback]866790[/snapback]​

some cars in particular, has a radiator which has 2 functions. one side as a radiator to cool your engine, the other side is a transmission oil (ATF) cooler. This case if only for automatic tranny cars.

where can buy the toyota coolant and how much?

radiator just like ur avatar....:)
just jooking...

Originally posted by muncee@Apr 7 2005, 21:20
where can buy the toyota coolant and how much?
[snapback]877424[/snapback]​
try spare part shops but they are available at any Toyota Service centre. ask for parts department and purchase directly.
in Klang Valley, there are 7 Toyota Service centre...

1. Jalan 217 PJ(or also known as Federal Highway)
2. Section 14 PJ. near to Next Car Ferrari dealer
3. Segambut (at Segambut Industrial Area)
4. Cheras (Taman Shamelin Perkasa)
5. Klang (Sg.Rasah, near Puspakom)
6. Puchong Jaya (near Naza Kia showroom at the flyover)
7. Subang Jaya ( at Kesas flyover from Taipan to bdr Sunway)

u can feel the coolant like oily one. well, actually that is a feature to lubricate water pump.