how to drive a auto tranny

Keep it in D if it's just for a short stop, continuous shifting from N to D for every stop is VERY damaging to the auto tranny. According to my mechanic friend, everytime N is shifted to D and vice versa the wear and tear involved is almost like a manual car shifting without pressing on the cluth! Ouch! I'm sure u all can imagine the wear n tear involved. Auto car is designed to leave it in auto so dun try to play manual style on it unless it's a really long stop.

hehe.. use manual tranny malas.. now use auto tranny oso malas to press the brake pedal..

liddat better hire a driver leh :lol:

ahaks.. juz jokin.. tryin to create a smile or two ;)

Originally posted by tajulsans+Apr 7 2005, 22:21 -->
QUOTE(tajulsans @ Apr 7 2005, 22:21 )
Originally posted by cyclonite@Apr 7 2005, 22:15
Originally posted by AccordRacing@Apr 6 2005, 21:50
--QuoteBegin-anvies
@Apr 6 2005, 21:47
it is turn to D and step on the brake when you stop the car, such as jam and waiting traffic lights, its better for the automatic transmission gearbox, wont die faster. But if you stopping for a quite sometimes like waiting people in the car of course you will turn to P or N and pull the handbrake up =P. I watched taiwan's automobile documentary it said so.
[snapback]874754[/snapback]​

if continuos changing gear D to N when traffic jam,got harmful to gearbox or not?
[snapback]874761[/snapback]​

When you shift from D to N there are many things which happen in your gearbox, remember your auto box is made up of 3 gears, a planet gear, sun gear and moon gear, the mechanism to engage and disengage these gears will wear out more if you keep shifting from D to N.

Leaving your car in D will drain more petrol and wear your pads but that's much cheaper than having to replace your auto box in a few years time... no?

tajulsans:

In an auto gear box there's no clutch, what is used is a torque converter. There's no friction when it 'slips'. Basically a torque converter is just 2 turbines and oil. 1 turbine will be turned by your engine and it will cause the oil to spin in the same direction which will be caught by the 2nd turbine and it spins too. When you step on the brake and leave it in D, one of the turbine keeps spinning but the other doesnt and the result is the oil gets 'stirred' up continuously and that's all because there's no friction. It's just like if you go to a hydroelectric power plant, if you jam the turbines at the waterfall the water will just keep falling over them but there's no 'friction' coz it rubbing liquid against metal.
[snapback]877568[/snapback]​

well, there is clutch in the auto tranny.. i might be wrong on the technical of the way it work but there are clutches inside.. its not located between engine to gbox connection but inside the gearbox it self..
[snapback]877583[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

friend, itz called torque converter as what cyclonite mentioned. Do some research. ;-)

i am a lazy kinda fella..ha ha ha even though i am really into manual cars for spirited driving but i do prefer auto cars for daily drive. and even though cannot avoid frustration due to poorer acceleration, but my left leg wont get tired after long hours in traffic jams nor they become bigger than the right one as an effect of extra worked muscle. u cannot get everything u want in life, unless u are very rich than u can have almost everything... hmm...example a 360 Modena with a thinking manual gearbox.

ok, this kind of problems we discussed has long term effect and very minimal as far as i am concerned. whateva cyclonite, tajulsans and boggysv said are correct in their point of views.

when u drive an auto, u juz get used to it whether to shift to N or apply ur footbrake during interval stops. ur mind will be programmed automatically too, as pressing the brake too long is quite tiring actually. so, the logic solution is to shift to N and apply parking brake.

the real problem comes when the driver is slow to respond once the car in front had started to move. becoz of this kind of driving attitude, instead of 15 cars can pass the green light, only 9 or 10 managed to do so.

now how can we overcome this? i never stop thinking about this. nak horn nanti kena marah pulak. ha ha ha! :lol:

Originally posted by ZephyRed+Apr 8 2005, 17:49 -->
QUOTE(ZephyRed @ Apr 8 2005, 17:49 )
Originally posted by tajulsans@Apr 7 2005, 22:21
Originally posted by cyclonite@Apr 7 2005, 22:15
Originally posted by AccordRacing@Apr 6 2005, 21:50
--QuoteBegin-anvies
@Apr 6 2005, 21:47
it is turn to D and step on the brake when you stop the car, such as jam and waiting traffic lights, its better for the automatic transmission gearbox, wont die faster. But if you stopping for a quite sometimes like waiting people in the car of course you will turn to P or N and pull the handbrake up =P. I watched taiwan's automobile documentary it said so.
[snapback]874754[/snapback]​

if continuos changing gear D to N when traffic jam,got harmful to gearbox or not?
[snapback]874761[/snapback]​

When you shift from D to N there are many things which happen in your gearbox, remember your auto box is made up of 3 gears, a planet gear, sun gear and moon gear, the mechanism to engage and disengage these gears will wear out more if you keep shifting from D to N.

Leaving your car in D will drain more petrol and wear your pads but that's much cheaper than having to replace your auto box in a few years time... no?

tajulsans:

In an auto gear box there's no clutch, what is used is a torque converter. There's no friction when it 'slips'. Basically a torque converter is just 2 turbines and oil. 1 turbine will be turned by your engine and it will cause the oil to spin in the same direction which will be caught by the 2nd turbine and it spins too. When you step on the brake and leave it in D, one of the turbine keeps spinning but the other doesnt and the result is the oil gets 'stirred' up continuously and that's all because there's no friction. It's just like if you go to a hydroelectric power plant, if you jam the turbines at the waterfall the water will just keep falling over them but there's no 'friction' coz it rubbing liquid against metal.
[snapback]877568[/snapback]​

well, there is clutch in the auto tranny.. i might be wrong on the technical of the way it work but there are clutches inside.. its not located between engine to gbox connection but inside the gearbox it self..
[snapback]877583[/snapback]​

friend, itz called torque converter as what cyclonite mentioned. Do some research. ;-)
[snapback]879922[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Dude, i might need to do some research but u have to read the thread properly.. read the bold mate, maybe u also need some research qua.. Chearss.. i know torque convertor lah.. ive been using auto fo so many years b4 convert to manual now..

its torque converter alright and its in the book. :)

lets move on.

Just wondering; will the brakes actually wear when they're locked? There's little or no friction when things are static; don't they wear only when they are slipping?

Clutches in auto clutch from howstuffworks

please refer to the link for clutches inside the auto tranny.. u guys do some research before hand, dont shooting blindly.. i've done my research before i post and i 'm fuckin sure there are cluthes inside the auto tranny.. every body know about the torque convertor but not every body know about the clutches inside auto tranny..

the reason for high cost of rebuilding the auto tranny is changing its clutches.. not the torque convertor..

there are wear due to very high tempreature .. and little friction. even for cornering i do seldom use brakes, engine braking is more suitable to take corners rather than pressing the brake pedal ;) i think most drivers use their brakes for cornering arent they?

i havent try shifting to N or P while waiting for green light ... yes sometime it's tiresome ... but i dont like to go slow when light turn green :P (which means i just let go brake and launch away ... not release h/brake, shift to D bla bla bla .. light already turn yellow ... haha)

but yes sometime its tiresome to keep pressure on the brake pedal ... but luckily i havent been bump into a very long traffic light.

Ok.. I noticed someone saying something about putting their gear into P when stopping temporarily.. that is a VERY BAD PRACTISE. P locks all 4 wheels and is very slow to recover when pushed back into D. Anyway, I personally used the D--> N--> D method together with handbrake.

To all the seefu's who've replied here.. correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe there are several different classes of auto trannies. The Good, the Ok.. and the just-plain UGLY. Most Protons and Perodua's are fitted with the UGLIES and vibrate like hell if put in D and brake is on. I think that sort of vibration is your autogearbox screaming to be let off the hook.. so I think there's much more wear and tear to the gearbox.

Brake pads are cheap to replace. Very true! I agree with that.

And cars like Unser, Altis, Vios.. these have OK gearboxes.. they don't vibrate at all when D is in with brakes. But I've experienced "lurches" with these cars especially when you let up the brake a little.. kinda like the "UGLY" gearboxes stressing out its internal components.

And finally cars like Lexus, Camry, Altezza have GOOD gearboxes. The driver practically feels nothing when they stop with D in gear and brakes. They only need to lightly press the brake and the car comes to a stop without vibration, without any lurching, nothing.

So it all depends on the car you drive.. if you drive a proton, put the gear into N if you come to a complete stop and pull the handbrake. If it's slow moving, brake a little and keep it in D.

If you drive a good car, then forget the N and handbrake. Your car can take it.

My 0.02 cents :lol:

Originally posted by prozac@Apr 8 2005, 21:54
Just wondering; will the brakes actually wear when they're locked? There's little or no friction when things are static; don't they wear only when they are slipping?
[snapback]880449[/snapback]​
the brake will not wear when its locked.. there is friction becoz friction is what locked the brake but there is no slipping, no slip = no wear.. its like sanding a metal.. u will not scrub anything without moving the sand paper..

Most traffic light waits are under 60seconds.

There are two skools of thoughts about this.

1. Leave it at D don't pull handbrake. Petrol keep running but gearbox movements minimized. But brake pad wear as your car wants to move forward but you're pressing brake.

2. Either N or P and pull handbrake. Save abit of petrol for both options. Reduce brake pad wear. More gearbox movements.

To rationalize this. If you're going to be waiting long and you know it choose [2] if not just [1], more of the traffic lights nowadays have timers do you know how long you're going to wait.

guys…
what about the CVT system of those CITY & JAZZ/FIT ?….
coz the system quite different from the conventional auto....

my ten year old wira vibrates when stop if it is on the D gear. so i have to switch to N everytime stuck in traffic...

Originally posted by vincent@Apr 9 2005, 10:45
my ten year old wira vibrates when stop if it is on the D gear. so i have to switch to N everytime stuck in traffic...
[snapback]881497[/snapback]​
same prolem as me!! i drive kelisa.. damn vibrating like hell!! seems like the dashboad wanted to fell off!! :blink:

Izso,

Dont think there are such "classes" in gearboxes, but more expensive cars, their g/b probably smarter? Some of the more luxury and new cars have the gearbox controlled by the ecu. though i dunno for what use. :P

For those proton/perodua with serious vibrating problem, u might wanna check on the mounting of your engine/tranny. Usually a worn out mounting will cause the vibration to channel to the interior. And to reduce shift shock, service ur gearbox by oil flush.

my 2 cents

Originally posted by SiGNAL@Apr 9 2005, 20:31
Izso,

Dont think there are such "classes" in gearboxes, but more expensive cars, their g/b probably smarter? Some of the more luxury and new cars have the gearbox controlled by the ecu. though i dunno for what use.

For those proton/perodua with serious vibrating problem, u might wanna check on the mounting of your engine/tranny. Usually a worn out mounting will cause the vibration to channel to the interior. And to reduce shift shock, service ur gearbox by oil flush.

my 2 cents

Heh! "Smarter" is the better word. Thanks. B) Like the Honda CVT thingybob, I think its fine to leave it in D and press brake. But good practise to release to N and handbrake if long wait.

Mounting? My car is new!! How can mounting be the problem already? Hmm.. time to go screw up Proton Edar... again... sigh... I want a Maserati.

Originally posted by anvies@Apr 7 2005, 01:14
yea calvin is right... you have to careful lah... dont careless suddenly wan to bow down your body and pick up something that you dropped and end up forgot and released your brake and the car go front hit the front car... these incident i watched many times already... my cousin sis and my friend experience before... haizz... but sometimes i also tired stepping and waiting for a long queue or long traffic lights... so i put to N at last and rest my leg... cannot tahan if every stop like that.
[snapback]875339[/snapback]​

i'm a victim of such case today :(
Was in a jam in front of Assunta Hospital.
that KNNCCB kid (no license, age 15+ and driving gf's dad's Merc) bang me from the rear.
Apparently the food which he tapau-ed fell off, so he lean backwards to get them... :angry:
now wanna claim oso susah...

Originally posted by tajulsans@Apr 8 2005, 22:03
Clutches in auto clutch from howstuffworks

please refer to the link for clutches inside the auto tranny.. u guys do some research before hand, dont shooting blindly.. i've done my research before i post and i 'm fuckin sure there are cluthes inside the auto tranny.. every body know about the torque convertor but not every body know about the clutches inside auto tranny..

the reason for high cost of rebuilding the auto tranny is changing its clutches.. not the torque convertor..
[snapback]880465[/snapback]​

Yes tajulsans you are right, there are organic clutch plates in an auto-box as well. They are used to engage and disengage the sun, moon and planet gears depending on the given ratio which is required. These 'clutches' only slip while the gears are being engaged and disengaged. Once the gear had been engaged these plates no longer slip but instead the torque converter starts to spin to keep the engine running. Since there's no friction in the torque converter(liquid) and none on the clutch plates while your gear is in D, there's no wear and tear. Except on your brake pads lor.

Write your reply...