how to drive a auto tranny

I dont know, ur answer could be true.. as i mentioned before i might be wrong on the technical side, coz i read somewhere that the torque convertor will transfer the power directly to GB when in D even when on iddling.. at least for the other forremer dont blindly flame people and spread wrong info that there is no clutch in the autos..

Brake pads will not wear when stationary, at least not much to be care about.. wear is dynamic maa.. if stationary also wear then ur rear disc / drum will wear faster than ur front brake lor.. then i never pull hand brake when paking lo.. save pad.. haha

Originally posted by tajulsans@Apr 11 2005, 20:44
I dont know, ur answer could be true.. as i mentioned before i might be wrong on the technical side, coz i read somewhere that the torque convertor will transfer the power directly to GB when in D even when on iddling..

Yes you are right, the torque converter still transfers the power to the engine even when idling but there's no 'slippage' in the torque converter because like I said it doesn't work based on friction just like your normal clutch. so there's no wear and tear.

About the brake pads, I think what I meant was your brake pads wear more when you try to stop your car if it's in 'D' rather than when it's in 'N' coz there's more force to overcome. So if you creep through traffic jam in 'D' you wear off your pads more. Rather than if your car is coming to a stop then you puch to 'N' before you start braking.

if ur car still new u wont fell the motion of changing gear,coz its fit,after several year,when u change ur gear D to N n N to D, u wil fell choking,continuos changing geaar really harmful to ur gearbox,just consider which 1 is more expensive,gear box or brake pad,those slow motion braking i think use 10 year the brake also not yet kong

Originally posted by cyclonite+Apr 10 2005, 22:25 -->
QUOTE(cyclonite @ Apr 10 2005, 22:25 )
--QuoteBegin-tajulsans
@Apr 8 2005, 22:03
Clutches in auto clutch from howstuffworks

please refer to the link for clutches inside the auto tranny.. u guys do some research before hand, dont shooting blindly.. i've done my research before i post and i 'm fuckin sure there are cluthes inside the auto tranny.. every body know about the torque convertor but not every body know about the clutches inside auto tranny..

the reason for high cost of rebuilding the auto tranny is changing its clutches.. not the torque convertor..
[snapback]880465[/snapback]​

Yes tajulsans you are right, there are organic clutch plates in an auto-box as well. They are used to engage and disengage the sun, moon and planet gears depending on the given ratio which is required. These 'clutches' only slip while the gears are being engaged and disengaged. Once the gear had been engaged these plates no longer slip but instead the torque converter starts to spin to keep the engine running. Since there's no friction in the torque converter(liquid) and none on the clutch plates while your gear is in D, there's no wear and tear. Except on your brake pads lor.
[snapback]885052[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

those are wet plate clutches used in motorcyles, be it honda EX-5 or Yamaha RX-Z. manual cars use dry clutch plate instead.

Originally posted by zan+Apr 12 2005, 16:55 -->
QUOTE(zan @ Apr 12 2005, 16:55 )
Originally posted by cyclonite@Apr 10 2005, 22:25
--QuoteBegin-tajulsans
@Apr 8 2005, 22:03
Clutches in auto clutch from howstuffworks

please refer to the link for clutches inside the auto tranny.. u guys do some research before hand, dont shooting blindly.. i've done my research before i post and i 'm fuckin sure there are cluthes inside the auto tranny.. every body know about the torque convertor but not every body know about the clutches inside auto tranny..

the reason for high cost of rebuilding the auto tranny is changing its clutches.. not the torque convertor..
[snapback]880465[/snapback]​

Yes tajulsans you are right, there are organic clutch plates in an auto-box as well. They are used to engage and disengage the sun, moon and planet gears depending on the given ratio which is required. These 'clutches' only slip while the gears are being engaged and disengaged. Once the gear had been engaged these plates no longer slip but instead the torque converter starts to spin to keep the engine running. Since there's no friction in the torque converter(liquid) and none on the clutch plates while your gear is in D, there's no wear and tear. Except on your brake pads lor.
[snapback]885052[/snapback]​

those are wet plate clutches used in motorcyles, be it honda EX-5 or Yamaha RX-Z. manual cars use dry clutch plate instead.
[snapback]890532[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

yup, thats just it.. a clutch is a clutch no matter its wet or dry..

Originally posted by AccordRacing@Apr 6 2005, 20:59
this topic just for automatic car,sorry for manual car^^
when we stuck at traffic jam,wat gear trammision should we put.i mean the gear P,N,R,N,L1,L2...letz say i c a guy driving in frt of me,from the dashbox meter which locate at center such like new kancil n toyota vios,i saw many ppl like to push to N(which mean free gear)when jam and push D for moving,keep this motion continuos several time,i think wat he did is protect gear box,if manual i think yes,but for automatic,is it really protect or harm to gearbox?so far i hear so many ppl have so many explanation,need some expert to tell
[snapback]874606[/snapback]​

if you are stopping for long time (like waiting at traffic lite) then switch to N & pull the handbrake , but if moving slowly in a traffice jam better leave to in D....if the traffic is not moving then sure you can shift to N & pull the handbrake . Shifting of gears in an auto must be done when the car comes to a complete stop.....don't shift while moving....unless of course from D to L2 or L1...thats ok lah...automatic transmissions were designed for to minimise gear changing so whats the point if we buy a auto & always change from D to N & vice versa while moving....it doesn't serve the purpose !!!!!!!!!!

Write your reply...